We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #37 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed on the train side of the hotel, they were loud, staff are aware they will be triple glasing windows in future, but the lifts next door...kept me, hubby and the kids awake all night, zero chance of rest,staff are friendly and helpful

Room Tip: bring your ear muffs if you like to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Carol K,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Traders Hotel Brisbane. As part of the many upgrade & improvement projects for the hotel, I would like to confirm that we are currently in the process of upgrading the window seals and improving acoustics in the bedrooms. We have completed a mock room for testing, and with a few further adjustments, all bedrooms on the train side will be upgraded. I would like to extend my apologies for any disappointments you may have experienced during your stay and sincerely hope you consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Traders Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room was excellent, large, comfy and clean. Parking was easy and a great location but it was the staff who make this place. The gym is the only thing letting this place down as it does not fit with the quality fo the rest of the hotel. It lets the whole place down but if this is not a big deal to you it is easily ignored. We just went up to show the kids the view.

Room Tip: We did not have any problems with the trains at night but the non train side would be a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and two children (2&6 years.) We stayed on the 13th floor. The room was comfortable and well maintained. We were overlooking the train station and heard a lot of noise from this. We weren't bothered by this, however lighter sleepers beware!
Our room had a bath tub, which is great for kids! The room was a decent size as well.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a good location. We just parked the car (the hotel over discounted parking rates in a secure park) and walked everywhere; the Roma Street Parklands are next door and are amazing! The mall is an easy 10 minute stroll away.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank djrum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, we were on the train station side, train noise wasn't an issue. Staff were super friendly and very efficient. Room service was good. Roma St parklands right next door. They have a train ride during the school holidays, kids loved it there. Walking distance to south bank and Queen St Mall. Would stay again. Parking is $27 per day.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippingQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for one night for the second state of origin. When we first walked into our room I was suprised at how roomy it was, as was the bathroom. We were on the fifteenth floor so the view was good. The location is fantastic and only a few minutes walk to suncorp stadium. We had breakfast ( included in our package) the next morning at the on site restaurant and have no complaints with that either. It was lovely. We have children and look forward to staying again for our next rugby league game because of the fantastic location. The staff that we came in contact with were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimwoods75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a well placed hotel next to Roma street station and a short walk into the heart of Brisbane or Southbank. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was bright and comfortable. The price for the location was brilliant compared to other hotels in the city. The disabled bathroom had the sink perhaps too close to the toilet which for some would prove difficult. The taps on the shower may be a little far away for smaller people or people with more disability, however I found the room good and would certainly return

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironsideMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.We had a room which was on the 16th floor which was very spacious and the king size bed very comfortable.
We could hear some noise of the trains as we overlooked the rail tracks .
We ate at the restuarant for dinner on two occasions. The food was very nice
The staff were very efficient and friendly.
The hotel is very convenient location to all of city and is adjacent to the Roma Street Railway Station .There is an AirTrain to the international and domestic termiinals which runs every half hour. The cost is $16 per person .
The mall is within walking distance.There are a number of small eateries nearby for daytime snacks.
The fire alarm went off in the adjoining building whilst were there and we were most impressed by the prompt information from the reception desk regarding this problem . The message came into the room loud and clear of the problem and then we were later advised it was a false alarm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 169 in Brisbane
1,651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $97 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing