We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #37 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located next door to the Roma Street Train Station where the Airtrain from the airport stops (about a 25 minutes ride from the airport for about $16 - well worth it.)
The staff were very polite, pleasant & professional. The room was spacious and clean with a city building view. The onsite restaurant was lovely. The shower only ever got luke warm - no matter what time of the day or night. Noise carries a little from the hallways. I have an issue with Australian hotels putting 'tipping' on their bills whether it is for in-room dining or accommodation - not impressed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for selecting Traders Hotel for your stay while in Brisbane, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I am delighted to receive positive and well deserved comments regarding our wonderful colleagues at the hotel. Your feedback assists us in ensuring we can continue to improve and meet the high expectations of our guests.

Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Traders Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Traders ( or when Holiday Inn) many times prior to travel as the Airport Train is very handy. However struggling with the amount of suitcases needed for International travel was very hard so next time we will get a taxi and stay at a better value hotel. Also I do NOT recommend room service as the meal which arrived seem to be dripping in trans fats!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for selecting Traders Hotel for your stay while in Brisbane, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I would like to extend my apologies for any disappointments you may have experienced with room service, and your comments have been shared with the team.

Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Traders Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a very comfortable and well appointed hotel. Walking distance to Queens St Mall; North Quay and next to Roma St Station.
The entrance without steps could be better indicated.
The only negative is the presence of an overstocked/priced mini bar in the room. This simply establishes a situation which often leads to incorrect billing with its associated frustration.

Room Tip: The souht side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Traders Hotel is a very nice place, I stayed here when it was the Holiday Inn and it is a great upgrade.
Staff are friendly and very helpful, the room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The location near Roma street is good if not a touch noisy, I was on the 15th floor and could still hear the trains.
The biggest disappointment was in the morning when the sun came up. OMG!! Only having very sheer curtains up, the sun came streaming thru and blinded us. Now, having had a late night before and the mind slightly slow, being hit by 21 gigawatts of sunlight at 6am is not what you want!
The 11am checkout was a joy too!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaFuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Traders Hotel Brisbane We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, as it is our mission to delight our guests every time.
We do like to pride ourselves with providing black out curtains in all the rooms which makes Traders Hotel a market leader in this service, however as they hang behind the Sheer curtains, sometimes they can be missed, and we thank you for your feedback and have passed it onto the Executive Housekeeping Manager.

Kind regards

Bruno Cristol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very convenient location- right above roma st station. The staff were attentive and presented well. The rooms were clean and tidy and housekeeping provided a good service. The beds were comfy and i loved the gym on the roof. Parking was pricey, but to be expected in Brisbane i suppose. Was unsure how the change from Holiday Inn to Traders would affect the hotel, but i was happy with my stay, and would stay again. Although, didn't get a late check out which was disappointing, but i understand they're relative to what's available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just held our wedding reception here and stayed for a couple of nights prior to the event. During our stay, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The lead up to our wedding, and the night of the event, the events/function staff were again extremely friendly and helpful, all guests were well looked after. The food was pretty good. We'd definitely recommend anyone looking for a wedding venue to consider this as an option!

Room Tip: King rooms are pretty big compared to the double rooms, but the double is still a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is really great value for money.
Pay a 2 star price and get 5 star value! Rooms are spacious and neat, staff is friendly and service good. As for its location opinions differ. It is right above Brisbane's central railway station thus if you travel by train its perfect, however be aware that it is about 10-20min walk from the action like restaurants and bars to each area. There is a big parking in the building thus travelling by car is not a problem at all. Fitness room and swimming pool could be better, however it is not really needed if you stay 2 days in Brisbane exploring the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,602 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $95 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing