We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #33 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

shares the same complex with roma street station , we booked through a website and they did not bother to tell us that the name had changed ! i spent 30 minutes looking for it whilst it was under my very nose so as to speak , this was a pain as we were knackered after our long haul flight , they did not have a baby bottle sterilizer nor did they offer to help despite my requests , perhaps not a baby friendly hotel , for my business needs it was perfect , the staff were polite , concierge service excellent and the rooms were nice , clean and spacious, the cost of making phone calls withing australia was atrocious, , I wouldnt mind returning though but wouldnt touch the phone or bring the baby along

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mustangviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    447
    131
    32
    30
See reviews for
168
380
94
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel was to serve as our base for our stay in Brisbane. We picked this hotel as it was centrally located and was practically joined to the Brisbane Transit Centre in Roma Street which houses a train station and bus terminal, both of which we were planning on using during our stay, as such, the location proved extremely useful! (Train station - we would use to get us back to Brisbane Airport and the bus terminal - we used for a couple of tours) the location proved extremely useful! As well as being our gateway to Australia, we chose Brisbane as we really wanted to visit Australia Zoo, which isnt that far from here and we used a tour that departed from the bus station next door.

This hotel was still the Holiday Inn Brisbane at the time of our visit, and our room was the usual standard type, as was the bathroom, it was quite large, clean, with a big comfortable bed and good views out over Brisbane. We checked in quite late but the reception staff were very friendly and got us sorted and to our room quickly. The breakfast was nice with lots to choose from (our first taste of vegemite) and we also ate in the hotel bar at night, that offered a decent selection of meals which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Being an "older" lone traveller and this being my first visit to Brisbane for many years I was very impressed by the help and friendliness of all staff including the check-in clerk who helped me with the use of the key card, the cleaner of my room who showed me how to use the various features, the girl in charge of the breakfast room who greeted me like an old friend although there must have been dozens of guests there at the time and the concierge who spent quite some time reconfirming my flight to Sydney. Having such a helpful staff makes all the difference to a comfortable stay.

My only disappointment was that, being a single traveller, I had to pay for a double room and would have liked to obtain a smaller less expensive one. If I had been able to get a cheaper room I could have stayed longer in Brisbane.

Room Tip: If obtaining a room on the north side make sure it is high enough to avoid the noise of trains. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights recently, the room is of average size, certainly big enough for me with 2 twin beds. the toilet is also clean and nice. the location is strategic, next to the roma st station.
only gripe is that the ironing board in my room is faulty. a straightforward choice for most travellers who want to stay in a reasonably priced hotel in a good location and full amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have checked in the Hoilday Inn Brisbane, and come out Traders Hotel Brisbane, The new management gave the hotel a refreshing look. More flowers arrangements in the public areas. The staffs seemed to be more lively. A bonus point to note, they are offering FREE internet, which is something that most Australian Hotels is not offering. I will definitely go there to stay again on my next business trip there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atticus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

[Weird - I went to review this as Holiday Inn and TripAdvisor didn't make it obvious the hotel had just changed its name. I hope people can find it who look it up via Holiday Inn.]
Nice, comfortable rooms - bright and cheerful, comfortable beds, bath and shower in bathrooms, great location to public transit, quick 10-15 minute walks to city Botanic Gardens, Queen St Mall, and QUT, as well as Queensland Police Service if your meetings take you there. Great breakfast buffet. Pretty limited menu for remainder of meals, and particularly so for vegetarians like myself. That was disappointing especially since I had to be there over a weekend and this part of the CBT is pretty quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

- Perfectly located just minutes from the train station, cheaper and fastest way to reach the hotel from the airport
- When we arrive it was Holiday Inn and the next day it's Traders Hotel, wow!!!
- When we arrive the lobby looks dead but the following day, voila...nice flowers arrangement and also the new Management also re-dress the dead plants at the entrance of the hotel, good job guys
- In short, it's more lively now and enjoy my stay and nice room
- Also to mention, the shampoo in the toilet they change also to a better one than the Holiday Inn one, my hair smells GOOD.....I like it....
- Great assistance from the front office staff, when I ask my way around Brisbane
- They also tell me to buy the train ticket to airport from the hotel, it's cheaper than buying it from the train station itself, thank guys

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafid18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 159 in Brisbane
1,546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing