We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kudos! New kid in Brisbane, Traders Hotel Brisbane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Kudos! New kid in Brisbane, Traders Hotel Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

- Perfectly located just minutes from the train station, cheaper and fastest way to reach the hotel from the airport
- When we arrive it was Holiday Inn and the next day it's Traders Hotel, wow!!!
- When we arrive the lobby looks dead but the following day, voila...nice flowers arrangement and also the new Management also re-dress the dead plants at the entrance of the hotel, good job guys
- In short, it's more lively now and enjoy my stay and nice room
- Also to mention, the shampoo in the toilet they change also to a better one than the Holiday Inn one, my hair smells GOOD.....I like it....
- Great assistance from the front office staff, when I ask my way around Brisbane
- They also tell me to buy the train ticket to airport from the hotel, it's cheaper than buying it from the train station itself, thank guys

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafid18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    414
    117
    30
    29
See reviews for
156
341
88
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The above says it all

This place is dirty, bed smelt of urine and was still wet. Not sure if it was a cleaning agent or body fluid

No hot water, poor water pressure, not worth the money that I paid

Tried to speak to anybody to have my room changed but had no luck as nobly cared

Manager Paul didn't bother to get back to me either about my concerns

I would not go back as its a dirty dump

Room Tip: Avoid it really try another hotel or for that fact try a bacpackers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kiwiholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have previously just stayed at the Traders Hotel, Brisbane on a business trip. For a hotel that has just re-opened i have to say it was spectacular. The staff were so friendly and helpful and they catered to my every need. I especially want to thank the staff at the MJ Restaurant and Bar who offered beautiful modern Australian contemporary style meals and the best cocktails i have ever had. The food was so incredibly fresh and every bite sent me on a flavour journey.
I also have to say i have never slept so well at a hotel. The beds were luscious and soft...I was so relaxed. Thanks again Traders for the magnifcant stay, I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times when it was the holiday inn. I really quite like it. It's clean rooms are really good size. This time I was in a double and also had great views of the city. The spas were relaxing on the top floor. Cardio equipment was good, although could use some weights to complement the gym. Hotel staff were very helpful and nice. I will def stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I just completed a stay at was once the Holiday Inn Brisbane AUS and is now Traders. Horrible hotel. The hotel literally changed ownership on my checkout day. Rooms were dirty, no hot water, terrible service and horrible food. It should be dropped to a 1 Star and earn its way back. I am a VERY seasoned traveler and do not need to be spoiled so I am not prone to complain. This place is not even close to the money you pay. Moreover, I was ripped off by the Conference Center for 2 days of a Conference Room. But that is a whole separate story. Despite being close to the AirLink Train Station there is no redeeming reason to spend money here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear BigJTraveler, it is heartwarming to know that you witnessed the historic moment at Traders Hotel, Brisbane on 7 August! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am also very concerned about your overall experience at the hotel. May I please request that you contact me at bruno.cristol@tradershotels.com or telephone: (617) 3238 2209 so that I look into the issues personally? I hope to hear from you soon. With best regards, Bruno Cristol, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#28 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane

Property: Hotel Jen Brisbane
Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing