We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lure Restaurant - CLOSED

Lure Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary on Saturday night at Lure.
EVERYTHING was amazing, the oysters, the mud crab , the wine and the staff - loved it and would go back in a hearts flutter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Degustation menu was fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Eating here was absolutely fabulous. Service was exceptional. We had the degustation menu and it was fantastic. We got a sour dough bread to add to it half way through as we weren't sure it would fill us enough as the portions are small but by the time we got to the petit fours at the end we were all pleasantly full, not overfull. Every meal we had was nice. The pork belly was my favorite and the white chocolate cheesecake. I would go back just to have the meal size portions of these meals. I definitely recommend dining here.
The toilets gave me a bit of a fright as its all glass doors and when you lock the door it turns frosted. I thought I was about to go to the bathroom in front of people haha

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We dined here with another couple on a quiet Wednesday night to celebrate birthdays. Service from Cameron is top notch, he really knows how to look after diners. Freshly baked bread was served, and we started with fresh and cooked coffin bay oysters, freshly peeled prawns and tempura prawns. All food was beautifully prepared. We then had bugs, salmon and line caught barra from the gulf...once again the detail and prep of these dishes was beautiful, and tasted excellent. We thought the serving size of the Barra was on the small size. Pannacotta and Rhubarb & Apple crumble were equally delicious. A new menu had just been launched on the day with a number of dishes that you really want to come back and try.

It was very quiet the night we were there, no one in the adjoining bar either, so did lack some atmosphere buzz...a very nice feel to the restaurant though. The prices are high, but the food is delicious so you don't really mind paying, especially for a special occasion.

The only problem I did have, is that when you are paying over $600 for 4 people (2 bottles of wine included) it is a bit rude that you are charged for a little extra butter that was requested for the bread, and a chopped chilli in soy sauce in a tiny bowl.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Dined here with my wife on a quite Tuesday night in winter on the recommendation of the concierge at the Sofitel hotel. On arriving we where immediately impressed with the waiter Cameron who was friendly, knowledgeable and a waiter in the true sense
I started with an entree of carpaccio, well presented and tasty but I thought very little for the price.

I followed that with a main of tempura prawns and this is the first non Japanese restaurant I have been to that actually knows what a tempura batter is, six beautiful fresh prawns. Delightful.
My wife chose the Barramundi that Cameron assured us were fresh and not farmed and he was right. Lovely taste and well presented.
This is a restaurant that I will definitely visit again.
.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“As good as I had hoped.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Ate here with friends on a Friday night. The food, service and prices were just as I had expected, excellent.

The only issues I had were the noise from the bar outside was slightly off-putting and not what I would have expected from such a place.

As a non-seafood eater, I would have liked to have seen 1 more non-seafood option on the entree menu. Only having 1 non-seafood option was a let down and I probably would have ordered an entree if there had have been more choice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lure Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing