We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. So close to the everything.”
Review of South Central

South Central
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Central
Ranked #73 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Gladstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value. So close to the everything.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is about our fourth time staying here and keep coming back. We find the location to be perfect for a quick walk to the mall, Southbank, qpac, museum and west end. It's central in Brisbane and easy to get anywhere. The train station is only two blocks away. Essentially everything at your fingertips. Lots of great restaurants at Southbank and west end, but there is also the self contained kitchen. There is secure parking which is included for free. The price is very good for self contained apartments central to the city. For those worried about noise, having stayed at other accommodation on the other side of the river, it is no worse, in fact the kids love seeing the trains. Construction is finished in the area so no noise there and it has brought a few more cafés within 100m of South Central. The staff have been very helpful to try and address issues and the apartment was nice and clean. Can't wait to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
18
4
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved our stay here! Spacious, 2 bedrooms, a bathroom each, washing machine, all the mod cons, and a pleasant 10-minute walk to the Convention Centre. We appreciated the helpful staff. Yes, a bit of street noise, but not bad from the 7th floor. We were very happy with this place.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less the street noise, I would imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A warm welcome awaited our arrival where the receptionist did her utmost to see that our 2 bed apt was ready asap. The flat had all the mod cons, 2 bathrooms and a lovely view of Brisbane CDB plus free parking.. Close to the river and lovely walks it only took 15 minutes to walk into the city centre. The only adverse criticism was the worn nature of the sofas and the noise at night and in the early morning. Located on a hill at a busy crossroads the early morning noise of traffic was intense. This, together with the noise of the trains just a few metres away and what sounded like a shunting yard, was not conducive to a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abercraverfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol2013, Manager at South Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you and we appreciate your comments. Regarding your issue about the condition of the sofas; South Central Apartments are undergoing some soft refurbishments in the months to come. We hope that when you stay with us again, they will be more comfortable and more fresh for you.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here and went to the craft show and Life Line Book Fair, walked there and found it an easy walk.
Also went to West End for a meal, bit further , but plenty of places to eat.
Closer went to Era bistro, very good
Only concern was the balcony, need to lock door if there are young children. Four year old wanted to stand on bench seat to watch the trains, leaning over balcony!!! That was stopped quickly and door kept locked.
The apartment had everything we needed and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A lovely clean appartments with lots of mod cons. Big downside is the builders working next door who start very early every morning and are a few feet away from you as you sit on the balcony. When the building is finished, there will be no more city views but only of a big building. Quite a long walk into the city or south bank but any for the museums and galleries. If I stayed again, would probably look or something closer to the south bank.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail-and-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol2013, Manager at South Central, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I'd like to start by saying that any construction interruptions you experienced during your visit was due to another building being built next door, this has now been completed. Some apartments' views may be compromised however if any guest wishes a balcony with a certain view, we encourage them to request such things upon booking. We like to accommodate any needs of our guests.

Please stay with us at South Central again,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms were great - spacious and clean. The location was perfect - just down the road from the convention centre where my conference was being held. The balcony was a great place to have an evening drink, and the staff were helpful and polite. The construction workers digging the massive hole in the ground on one side of the building, however, were not as polite, and didn't think anything of starting their jackhammers very early each morning.

Room Tip: Definitely consider staying at this apartment building, especially if you want to find somewhere clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodJohnButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recently stayed at South Central Apartments and was very impressed with the facilities, location and staff. The pictures look exactly like the real thing which is amazing for 4 years old. The reception girl was lovely and helpful. Always smiling. And the apartment had everything you could want which made it very comfortable and liveable. The price was quite reasonable for what you got and I can't wait to stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms are self-contained so it wouldn't matter which apartment you were in - just depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamLee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
The Capitol Apartments
The Capitol Apartments
#21 of 128 in Brisbane
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morgan Suites
Morgan Suites
#15 of 128 in Brisbane
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleet Lane Apartments
Fleet Lane Apartments
#31 of 128 in Brisbane
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#27 of 128 in Brisbane
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Apartments
Parkview Apartments
#35 of 128 in Brisbane
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vine Serviced Apartments
Vine Serviced Apartments
#6 of 128 in Brisbane
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Central

Property: South Central
Address: 43 Peel St | Cnr Merivale and Peel St, South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Central 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments are available for short term stays.Located within one kilometre south of the CBD, the inner south’s proximity has made the area ideal for young professionals attracted to the vibrance of inner city living. South Brisbane is fast becoming a cultural pulse in this thriving city and South Central Apartments & Accommodation is a modern environment appropriately designed to live, work and play in this unique part of South East Queensland.Southbank provides a diverse range of activities including Brisbane’s best cycling tracks and walkways, IMAX movie theatre and a diverse range of dining venues which all provide an enviable lifestyle. Reception Hours 9am-5pm Monday to Friday. Altered Reception Hours on Public Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing