We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #226 of 4,297 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: What was once a rowdy sailor's drinking den has been transformed into a civilised Gastro Pub complete with a separate and impressive function and convention facility catering for up to 200 guests. This iconic South Bank Hotel, constructed in 1864, has developed a reputation as a lamblover's paradise and boasts a classic pub style menu sitting beside our more accomplished dishes. The Ship Inn is proud to have a strong commitment to sustainability. Drop by some time and see for yourself what it is we do.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our second visit in 2 months. Sat outdoors again. Had the Lamb Pie - fantastic - all the others had the calamari rated as excellent. 2 bottles of outstanding Stanthorpe Robert Channon Vedelho.
Lovely staff. Well done guys. see you next time. Food and wine well priced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    63
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Real buzz to the place. People drinking and others eating. Not many staff but ordered at the bar and food brought to the table. Excellent lamb on salad, and lamb burger. Informal and friendly. Just off the South Bank so not as pricy and touristy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 47helenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
229 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“My favourite place to eat in Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have eaten in the Ship Inn on most of my 5 visits to Brisbane, and the quality of the food and beer remain excellent as always, or even better. The staff are friendly and helpful, too. One day in late November I had nachos with added chilli beef. Actually, the nachos would have been a filling meal on their own. Another time I had lamb salad, which was also excellent. The beers included the tasty 'Fat Yak.'

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeelKippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Nice Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I had an anniversary lunch on a Saturday in this delightful "pub" dating from the 1860's. Once a haunt of sailors and dockside workers, this refurbished hotel (no accommodation) is a great place for good food and drink at the eastern end of the beautiful and vibrant Southbank precinct. The Ship Inn is directly opposite the Queensland Maritime Museum and in working distance (though parks, water features and playgrounds), along the Brisbane River, to many picnic spots, markets (Weekends) and the Brisbane theatre complex hosting many international shows. Whilst the building is owned by the nearby Griffith University, the Inn is run by a family who give good, friendly service whilst providing a varied and mouth-watering menu along with local wines and beers in a pub atmosphere (it is popular later in the afternoon so get in early!). Dishes range from traditional English "bangers and mash" to more lavish steak, chicken, pork and other fare. The food is well prepared and served with some style from the Brazilian-Australian hosts. The Inn prides itself in being eco-friendly, sourcing only local and fresh produce, wines and beers. Prices are very good, too! So for a quick meal (as in our case) or entertaining a large group in their function room upstairs, the Ship Inn is an ideal venue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good pub food with great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose the Ship Inn for a late lunch prior to an assault on South Bank. The bouganvillea arbor was in full bloom which made up for any lack of a river view and the outside tables caught a welcome breeze. The service was in the Aussie style - friendly and open and obliging. Wherelse in the world of tourist pubs could you set up a bar and food tab without handing over your credit card for an imprint? Amazing - or maybe we just looked trustworthy! Lamb is the speciality, but my good serving of cutlets was overly done and deserved more respect. The other meals - a burger, fish and a steak - were ok, the standard pub fare. The chips were great. Overall, the food we had was nothing out of the box, but entirely acceptable and reasonable value for money. Absent a big lunch crowd, it was a good place to relax and gather for the long walk down South Bank. When one of us misplaced a back-pack and we contacted the pub several hours later, they could not have been more helpful. Considering how many people must just pass through the place, the concern and helpfulness were remarkable - just the kind of treatment to add to the reputation of the Ship Inn and Brisbane as a tourist friendly place. Well done them!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoingRoundAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing