We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food if you need to eat conveniently at the hotel”
Review of Motion Bar & Grill

Motion Bar & Grill
Reserve with
Motion Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 4,314 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As part of Brisbane Marriott’s multi-million dollar refurbishment project, Motion Bar & Grill is a new city destination restaurant in Uptown Precinct, The City. The restaurant features multiple dining locations including: luxurious booths, Chef’s Grill Table, high set tables in the stylish M Bar, a street side coffee bar and the soon to be opened M Deck with alfresco dining and river views. Head Chef Peter Iwanczyk has crafted a menu that centres around The Grill, focusing on regional produce. The restaurant will be open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and will be the home of Brisbane Marriott’s renowned High Tea.
Edgerton, Kansas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food if you need to eat conveniently at the hotel”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I don't think I would make this a destination restaurant, but we did eat there for breakfast every day and one evening meal. A little pricey, but a lot of things are in Brisbane. There is no tipping, so the prices are higher to pay staff higher wages. The breakfast buffet is very complete, but $35 each. Their menu has some very good items around the $20 range. The food was always excellent. We had a seafood tower for 2 one night that was very good. Just about everything you could want was there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    72
    25
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious Brekky!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

plenty to choose from and plenty of it! They even cater for overseas visitors from Asia. I loved the whole experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tantesaan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We purchased a voucher & tried the 1kg Angus Sirloin with Veggies for four people plus a bottle of wine deal. The restaurant was empty when we arrived so had very good service. Being sat at our table had the chef come over to our waitress as she was sitting us to be having a gentle go at your about an order she had placed prior to seating us. We overheard him telling her well I'm not a mind reader etc then left in his own little mood. Really? as customers we don't need to be hearing your behind the scenes issues we want to enjoy our dining experience. Apart from that the lunch was plentiful with enough meat, though being cooked medium to well & more on the medium side was a tad tough though in saying that it was still edible. Sufficient veggies to tantalize your tastebuds & we definitely did not go away feeling hungry. The service did start to diminish once we had been served & the restaurant started to fill up with us having to ask for more water & just the general everyday table service that one would expect of a hotel & restaurant of this level. Overall we were still happy with our dining experience & noticed a lot of High Tea's being served around the room & happy to come back & try that in the coming future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Restaurant let it down”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The concierge, check in, room and overall service all good :)

The motion Bar and Grill should be renamed the "Slow Motion" Bar and Grill
We had a drink after dinner it was very slow coming and the tables had not been cleared.(the restaurant was nearly empty and very quiet)
Breakfast was worse, coffee took forever to come, when it did, it was cold.
We ordered omelettes, the sign said "order with your waiter".....we asked a waiter if she could take our order, she smiled and replied "not really" and walked off?
After finally finding a waiter who would take our order, they took around 40mins (the restaurant was not busy) to arrive and tasted as if they had been cooked for the whole 40 mins that we waited!!
We thought we might add some bacon or hash browns from the buffet...they had run out and were not refilled by the time we finished our meal (this is at 8.30am) We saw a number of patrons complain, one left without eating breakfast.

We are locals and proud of Brisbane and hate to think what overseas or interstate visitors would make of this. I have stayed in Marriot Hotels around Australia and overseas and the Motion Bar and Grill is way below Marriot standards.........we finished up checking out early and having a coffee at one of the many "fantastic" restaurants that Brissie has to offer...you need to pick up your restaurant's standard Brisbane Marriot

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pptuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible all round”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Based on the photos on the website and fine dining prices, we expected good food. Every single item we got was well below average, tasted like store bought dips and sauces, incorrect information from the waiter about dishes and then a large bill at the end. Would never go back and would not recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greeny3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Motion Bar & Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Kim T
First and foremost, my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced. We normally receive such wonderful feedback on our food and customer service and I am so sorry that this was not the case in this instance. We appreciate all feedback and, while it’s never pleasant to hear of our shortcomings, it does allow us to refocus our energies on providing the high standards of service and product that we are known for. Your feedback has been shared with the kitchen and restaurant teams. However, please feel free to contact me direct should you wish to review your experience further as I would certainly appreciate the opportunity to ensure you enjoy a wholly positive experience, more in keeping with the wonderful service and standards the team here at Motion Bar & Grill take pride in delivering.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motion Bar & Grill also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Motion Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing