We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very different menu, but excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Esquire

Esquire
Reserve with
Esquire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #236 of 4,297 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
580 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A very different menu, but excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We dined in the casual Esq side of Esquire and were quite impressed with the service. Our Scottish host was most entertaining and the table service was efficient and friendly. The food was tasty and different. We all loved the air dried wagyu , wafer thin and melt in the month. The scallops were excellent too. I must admit after reading the reviews in the weekend papers I decided to try the curds and whey ice cream and it was so refreshing loved the sweet and sour effect. On the whole a great dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    69
    32
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A forgotten table ... What a disaster!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I 'attempted' to dine at Esq on Friday 26 July while visiting Brisbane for the weekend. After having booked several weeks in advance, even for the casual eatery, and reading some good reviews, we were really looking forward to our dinner ... what a disappointment.

We arrived on time for our 7.30pm booking and were promptly seated in the middle of the restaurant - one would think they'd remember you were there! We were quickly offered water and our glasses filled, and then nothing! After 30 minutes with waiters waking past our table and never stopping or even looking in our direction, we finally caught the attention of a waiter and asked if we could at least look at a wine list. No apology, and actually he did not even seem shocked, but then proceeded to take another 5 minutes to give us the wine list and menus at which point he was extremely patronising, treating us like we have never read a wine list in our life. By this time, two tables who arrived at the same time as us had enjoyed an aperitif, received their wine and starting their entrees.

We quickly scanned the menu and ordered some wine and our meals. Despite the waiter being at our table three times we were never offed any more water and were sitting in the middle of the restaurant, clearly ignored with NOTHING to drink! After another 10-15 minutes (and almost 50 minutes after arriving), the waiter returned to advise that the wine we had ordered was not available and resumed his patronising tone insisting he select a wine for us. By this time we were extremely frustrated and insisted he give us the wine list and let us make our own choice. I also expressed our extreme frustration at sitting in a restaurant for 50 minutes and receiving no service at all - again, no apology. Frankly, the waiter did not know how to manage the situation.

After leaving the table (still with empty water glasses) my husband suggested we leave, which we did. We made a point of telling the waiter in front of other diners about how unacceptable the level of service was - again, no apology or any attempt to manage the situation.

After walking out of Esq we went to a nearby restaurant and could not have been greeted more warmly. We had an exceptional meal and thoroughly enjoyed telling them of our disastrous start to the evening thanks to Esq, as we did with all of our Brisbane based friends that weekend.

On returning to Sydney I emailed the restaurant and have received no response - clearly they don't care that customers have such a bad experience. I cannot believe that never once have we received an apology, or even an offer of a complimentary drink - it would have totally changed our view of the situation ... so simple! We have never walked out of a restaurant in our lives, but they say there is always a first for everything. I would urge everyone to reconsider dining here unless you are prepared to risk being the forgotten table!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingGirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
206 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Esq - a delightful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have always been nervous of "starred" or "hatted" restaurants, because they can be pretentious, so we have never eaten at Esquire.
However, when we read of Esq it sounded interesting - and it was great. A couple of minor hiccups with the service, but the variety and quality of the food more than compensated.
Special mention to the air-dried beef and kimchi (also dried!), but every dish was special and a tribute to the chef.
The setting and decor in the Esq section of the restaurant were excellent, and the aromas of the charcoal grill should be bottled and sold.
One point to note - you need to order sides, as the mains come ungarnished, and that is not noted on the menu, nor did our waiter mention it. But the sides are worth it!
Go, and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ortho85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Seat at the bar put us right in the action.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our seat at the bar in Esq, the "casual " side of Esquire was the best place to be on this busy Friday night. We were told to come in early as we only booked that day. We were the first diners in and the staff were undergoing the evenings briefings so service was initially lacking. Once it got going we were well attended, unlike some poor diners behind us who walked out as they had been sitting unattended to for a while, I believe. The food was amazing. The Air Dried Beef with Kimchi was a complete new experience for us. The kettle chips and iceberg lettuce made wonderful accompaniments to our main meals. The show stopper, however, was the Caramel Popcorn desert. It was an icy treat resembling popcorn which was served cascading down the inside of a large bowl! Wine by the glass was reasonably priced. Oh yes, and Mr Squires himself delivered a couple of complimentary tastings to us at the bar, an added bonus. We had a great night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spectacular food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Since having kids our fine dining has been somewhat curtailed. With a willing aunt in tweed heads, we took the night off to try out Esquires.

The food was outstanding, every dish was unique, subtle and delicious.

Our only dissapointment cor the night was that the Sommelleir was ill and thus there was not a matching wine menu for the evening.

This place exceeded my expectations (a neat trick for a 3 hatter), every dish had the wow factor.

Looking forward to our next opportunity.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquire also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Esquire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing