We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing night!”
Review of Esquire

Esquire
Ranked #240 of 4,369 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mission Beach
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What an amazing night!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I are total foodies and we just adored the personalised menus, the incredible ability of our attendant to match wine to the 13 or so courses, and also the knowledge that she had about the wines and the regions that they came from was impressive.

The food was exciting and definately in the forefront of innovation not only in the Brisbane area but on a national basis.

The restaurant itself if modern but warm, and the food at times cheeky and at others completely comforting.

Thank you everyone at Esquire... we will be back! PS the little gift of a chocolate bar when we were leaving was sooooo lovely!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissionBeachLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    71
    32
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fine Dining - Delectable detestation”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The 4 of us dined at Esquire to celebrate a birthday.
This was our second time at Esquire. Esquire is not the usual entrée, main and desert restaurant.
Because it was a birthday celebration, we decided on the full degustation menu.

The menu items were:-
Kettle chips & ketchup - a lot better than it sounds
Jerusalem artichoke & parsley -
Kim Chi & Air dried beef - The beef was as thin as paper, and amazing
Truffle & Ham - Superb
Scallop Nigiri - Delicate
Ike Jime Coral Trout - Amazing .....
Bonito & Baby Gem - Nice combination
Blue Swimmer Crab & Macadamia - WOW !!
Squid, English Peas and Lemon - Yummmm
Murray Cod & Miso - Everyone loved it, except me.
Spatchcock & Barley - Beautiful
Bone Marrow & Bread - The dish of the night
Corned Beef - Cavalo Nero & Quark - Corned beef like no other
Popcorn - Nothing like movie popcorn
Calotte - Onion & Juniper - Medium rare beef that melted in your mouth
Pear - Walnut & Licorice - Unusual combo, but it works
Campari - Orange Curds & Whey

An amazing taste of many superb things. Like Jess D said in her review, The staff are knowledgeable and approachable.

The menu changes daily, and they keep coming up with combinations that work.

If you go, you will be stunned, amazed, and be shaking your head, it is that good.

I didn't rate it 5 stars, only because I am not sure if it is value. I will post some photos later.

Enjoy Esquire.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We came to this beautifully situated restaurant overlooking the Story Bridge and Brisbane River expecting great food and service and that's exactly what we got. The 9 courses menu we chose encapsulates the philosophy of all that is fresh on the day. The Ike jime coral trout was mouth watering and the Murray cod absolutely brilliant. The service was spot on and Esquire made the evening, just perfect!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corperate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Book Now”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

After having another degustation dinner earlier in the same week - I was a bit worried that Esquire would not be comparable - how wrong I was. Their service could not be faulted - the staff were both knowledgeable and had personality. The 9 courses plus "surprises" were interesting, clever and very tasty. The best value and quality in Brisbane. Book in now - before the word spreads.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST OF THE BEST”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

After having tried the best around the world, it was amazing to find the best, freshest, and most imaginative here in Brisbane, Australia. We all marveled at last night's offering, a 15 course degustation menu for so reasonable a price. In other parts of Australia and overseas it would fetch twice the price at an inferior standard.

Thanks you Ryan - not only for the Marrow (truly a masterful addition) but for the confusion produced in our party when we were deciding which of the courses was the best. Our problem was finding one that did not merit praise. What a winner.

The service from start to finish was exemplary. We all voted Esquire the leading restaurant in Australia. What next - the world?

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alston U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquire also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Esquire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing