We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raphaels Restaurant - CLOSED

Raphaels Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Been here many times and will continue to as the owners have created a gem. Awesome menu, great attentive staff and the food is just delicious. On one occasion went to a 50th party so basically filled the place but the standard of food, service always fab.
Love the entertainment too, as have a piano so on weekends get to enjoy some very talented kids.
Small negative the wine is expensive so take your own (corkage applies but small cost).
Definitely recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Missie_Moo_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch for four”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Were having a little celebration to mark 30 years since flying into Brisbane to make Australia our new home. What better place to experience Brisbane as it was in the 80's with all the older houses in Sandgate. But alas, what have we become as far as food is concerned! A lovely venue, imaginative menue and value for money. Try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Raphaels is a great Sandgate asset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Born and bred in Sandgate I left forty-odd years ago. In my days the fish and chip shop was about it as far as dining out went. Having heard so much about Raphaels, we took the opportuntity to use three vouchers for a family birthday and added a couple of stragglers to the table. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was really delicious, the choices were many and varied, and the birthday cake I requested was a good choice. Who would have thought somewhere so nice is on the corner of the street where I once lived. Hope people continue to support the restaurant which has morphed into something new since its days at Shorncliffe. Thanks to Raphaels. We hope to return for another meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brisbanes best seafood platter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

About the kitchen... Food was divine. Flavours were beautifully balanced. Loved the seafood. Tapas was delicious and portion sizes were generous. Desserts were delicious.

After the meal I thought, 'this food is as good if not better than anything I've eaten in a Brisbane CBD restaurant run by any tv chef or any awarded restaurant'.

Service was spot on. Staff were very friendly and beautifully presented.

We enjoyed the atmosphere. Tables well presented. We felt as though we in a fancy restaurant.

We promised ourselves we would return.

Have been looking for a great seafood platters since breakfast creek closed - and found it.

This place is a diamond in Sandgate. Really worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusHBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We Shall Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We, like a few others I would imagine were used to the Raphaels of old. The antiques and the silver service, therefore we had taken a while to venture into this new environment. The seating like a few people have commented on is a little cramped but I have to say that it was lovely to have such comfortable chairs to sit on because we did sit for quite a while. We were so relaxed as we savored our 3 DELICIOUS courses and the bonus of having (Max I think his name was) playing his guitar and singing songs that were familiar and also helped cover the traffic noise.

The service was fantastic, they could not do enough for us (table of 4), all the staff were friendly and I feel most importantly, they seemed happy to be there. There is nothing worse than having a 'grumpy' person take your order... it puts you off your food. Corkage is certainly reasonable and from what I could see the cost of alcohol there was not over the top either.

All in all a wonderful night was had by everyone at the table and we would all definitely return whether for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for one of their coffee and cake specials. Nice to have a lovely little place like this in the suburbs and not having to battle the traffic and parking of the city.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltravelled5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raphaels Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing