We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells goddamn awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Brisbane Embassy
Ranked #107 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Smells goddamn awful”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at base in sydney which I loved, and I was expecting a similar hostel here.

Nope.

For starters there is no smoking area, you have to venture downstairs and go onto the street, which isnt pleasant. Also the whole place smells very damp and sweaty, especially the movie room and the rooms connecting to the movie room.

The TV in the movie room was good, but didn't really work. I tried to play a DVD and it refused to, and batteries were missing from a couple of remotes.

The location is good, quiet but near busy bars. Also the reception were a really lovely bunch.

I was also happy with the air con in the rooms and they were a decent size.

Bathrooms weren't great though. Not very clean, and a few of the flushes were broken.

Overall it was decent, but I won't go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MeganInAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
1
34
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I thought this would be a upgrade after staying in base central. Wrong! Paid extra and wasn't happy.
First night slept in a sauna as aircon wasn't working - no windows either. Got moved into 6 share ( not refunded difference) with drunken long termer thirty something guy. Then got moved into 4 bed with windows but no curtains! Flimsy aircon. Different floors smelt bad and cleaners come in every morning wake you up cleaning even when it was just me ! Fridge in kitchen smelt bad and not cold. People smoked where they shouldnt Not going back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaAussietraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Was nice enough room, had little balcony. Extended stay however reception and cleaners struggled to understand this and therefore disturbed us every day. But very apologetic and gave us a night foc to say sorry! Would stay again if stayed in Brisbane again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chelle323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little place in the heart of Brisbane lots of information at the desk to help you find something to do and price is reasonable beds were good rooms well sized probably the best hostel for me in Brisbane

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Good things first: the location is great, near the train station, the pedestrian area with supermarkets, shops and restaurants close by. With a short walk you can reach almost every interesting place of Brisbane city such as the Arbour, Roma Street Parkland etc. And, finally, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The room was small and not very well kept. As a matter of fact the entire building seemed poorly managed. The bathrooms were a bit dirty with spots of rust and mold here and there.
Probably, if you're looking for an easy and cheap accommodation it is the right place especially if you're a backpacker. We do not suggest it for couples or romantic escapes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here in a couple of years ago for a few weeks in an 8 bed dorm. It's reasonably priced and in a good location for the temp work I was doing at the time.
The city centre and man made beach is walkable from here and there are many other conveniences nearby (as you expect in the city).
It was clean and the beds were comfortable.
I would stay here again if I was on the same sort of trip, i.e. backpacking

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_LJ2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed in an eight person room so that might influence part of why I did not enjoy this hostel too much. It was a decent enough hostel but I've stayed in better. You had to pay for wifi. They had a nice TV room but it was always crowded. However, they did have a luggage room for you to put your stuff in if you arrive before your check in time which was very nice. It is also in a very nice location, in walking distance of anything you'd like. Only about a 5 min. taxi ride from the Greyhound bus station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 128 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#78 of 128 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 128 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#104 of 128 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Brisbane Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Embassy

Property: Base Brisbane Embassy
Address: 214 Elizabeth St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Embassy 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Base Brisbane Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing