We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Brisbane Embassy
Ranked #108 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pretty good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a double room with a shared bathroom, after reading some reviews on here before my arrival, I was dreading my stay, but have really been pleasantly surprised. Rooms are very small but very clean with good bed linen which is the main thing. Aircons really good and the staff have been super friendly, chatty and helpful.

My husband said the lads toilets and showers were pretty grubby but I can vouch for the girls and they were nice and clean.

Bit annoying that if ur checking out before 7am u have to go to the sister hostel to check out & obtain ur key deposit, its not too far but far enough when u have heavy backpacks.

The location is perfect not too far from the greyhound bus station and right near all the shops bars restaurants etc etc.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
1
33
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review at 6.30 am 14/1/2013 seems there is building works going on downstairs witch have woken me up so I'm not very happy!. been told by my room mate its been going on for a while now the drilling is so bad you cant sleep through it not sure why they decide to drill at 6.30am would recommend staying else where until its finished unless you like getting up this early.other then that hostel is pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good hostel, we booked for a double ensuite room for 2 nights. The room was big and clean but quite basic - no TV or AC. Roadworks going on at night so was very noisy but otherwise no noise from guests. Wasnt too expensive. Key card entry so felt secure. Friendly staff. Close to supermarkets, shops and overall great location. A bit of a trek from the greyhound bus stop especially with heavy bags...but just about walkable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Good location but the rooms are like prison cells and the bathrooms aren't that clean. You had to pay for wifi which wasn't that cheap. You can get a breakfast up the road at base central for under 10 dollars which is good though and there is a supermarket (woolworths) close by. Would stay again for one night but nothing prolonged!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room was ok, but very noisy, very dark and dingy place which is small, the lockable drawers I was unable to gain access to, showers and toilets are adequate, key card entry only so good security. Staff are very friendly and helpful, if you need to get to the airport book the shuttle bus at the bus station which is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amiejsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is really a great Hostel. The rooms are clean and the first 4 bed dorm I stayed in here was pretty big. There are lockable drawers under the beds which are ideal to store any valuable items. The kitchen is large and there are several hobs which make cooking easy. Lots of pots, pans, plates & cutlery and the kitchen is generally quite clean. The staff are great and answer any questions you might have. The location is pretty great and the showers are clean and hot. Without a doubt I would recommend this hostel and even extended my stay here. I will just say the beds are a little noisy and if you are on the top bunk it can be difficult to get down. All in all though this gets a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here in a private double room. Room was O.K apart from the metal bed was really noisy and loud just sitting on it. The patio balcony was outside room 212 on the 4th floor and all the cigarette smell came in and it reaked disgusting. It was horrible the smell, but the bed was comfortable and we was warm in the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#14 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#7 of 127 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#68 of 127 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 127 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 127 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Brisbane Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Embassy

Property: Base Brisbane Embassy
Address: 214 Elizabeth St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Embassy 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Brisbane Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing