We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tapas”
Review of Bistro Alegria - CLOSED

Bistro Alegria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistro Alegria is currently closed for relocation. Please follow our social media for further updates. We apologise for the inconvenience and hope to see you at our new venue soon.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I keep going back. The food and the friendly staff make it an essential location for me. My favourite is the garlic prawns with sourdough followed closely by the platter with balsamic, feta and pickled garlic. Finally got to breakfast there and again great food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CheesePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Lamb Shank!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to Alegria last Friday evening and as a lover of lamb shanks I naturally had to try theirs. Although only a lamb shank (singular) it was a large shank that yielded an ample quantity of beautiful tender and succulent lamb - quite superb!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Huge serves”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Good quality and fresh food. Nice amuse bouche. Varied wine list. However, I am always slightly put off when I am presented with a mountain of food. The serves of food are probably too large for two people to enjoy a variety of Tapas (the whole point of tapas is to enjoy a sample of flavours). We shared two tapas and ordered paella. It would have been helpful if the waiter had warned about the huge size. The paella although delicious could easily have fed 3-4 people.
Service was ok but slow. The waiter was rushed off his feet and two waitresses although pleasant need to lift their game! We booked on line and despite confirmation and a reminder sent, on arrival (and it wasn't just us) they didn't have our booking. By 8.30pm it was all a bit chaotic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSK085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Had the most delicious tapas feast. Huge portions full of flavour. Service was excellent too. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pageys7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, a little expensive but the tapas are great”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went here for a work lunch and booked in advance. I would recommend booking, it was quite busy even on a working day. We ordered tapas to share and they were all really good. The wine was delicious. The service was a little slow to start with. Enjoyed the lunch and would probably go back to try the dinner menu. A little pricey but the tapas were worth it. Good for large groups, the restaurant is set up well. I think that the inside tables were better than the more outside ones.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Alegria also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing