We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Alegria

Bistro Alegria
Ranked #139 of 4,297 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro Alegria is currently closed for relocation. Please follow our social media for further updates. We apologise for the inconvenience and hope to see you at our new venue soon.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
206 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great lunch tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had lunch here on the hottest day of the year - thankfully inside and air-conditioned.

Excellent all round. We shared 6 tapas dishes between 4 of us, and had to leave some because we were all full.

Great to see so many vego and gluten free options.

Good service and great value - thanks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ortho85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Dry Burnt chicken, Attentive Service, some Mistakes with Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

partner and I went for lunch for a special day (celebration). Read the reviews and hoped for a nice experience and lunch. It was OK. The food was fresh. I had the Paillard of honey scented chicken with a salad of soft herbs, apple, mango, and almond with a banana and poppy seed dressing 17.90. Very good value from the Light Lunch menu. The Chicken was overcooked and quite dry and heavily charcoal-ed, which meant I could only taste Charcoal and not honey or chicken. The salad was fresh and tasty, apple was fresh and tasty, however the Mango was missing, and it really needed the lift and moisture of the Mango. Also the banana and poppy seed dressing was a very little amount - very hard to find in the dish, the dish needed more dressing for flavour and to counteract the overcooked chicken. The menu did not specify that the chicken was Charcoal grilled, if it had I would have ordered an alternative dish. The dish was average size, but I was hungry still. Usually i like a cold Milkshake on a hot day, but it is not available on the menu, My partner indicated that the cold drinks selection was quite limited.
My partner had the Moroccan beef wrap with rocket, tomato, guacamole, fries and sour cream 17.90. It was not a big enough size to satisfy him, and we decided to get something elsewhere to satisfy his hunger as parking is an issue, and were were pressed for time with parking running out. My partner feels very unwell when he eats onion, and even though the Menu did not indicate onion on the beef wrap, he specifically asked for NO ONION and no spring onion. When his beef wrap arrived it had sliced onion in it. Very disappointing. The waiter had requested no onion and the chef had apparently overlooked. My partner will almost never complain about a meal, so he quietly removed the onion and proceeded to eat. Later the manager noticed the Onion and apologised and offered to rectify/replace the dish. My partner declined as he does not like to cause trouble. the staff were very good waiters, but our waiter must be new, as he was not able to answer any of our questions, and referred them to the manager. We felt a bit pressured and a bit rushed - the wait staff seemed to be hovering and were trying to be attentive, but it was a bit much. We didn't feel relaxed, but the wait staff were very good. The staff were accommodating for our request for a cool table, as it was very warm outside, and also helped with parking by offering to write a "note" so we could get free 45min parking at the rear of the restaurant. We would like to return sometime, and we are wiser about the menu and how the food is prepared. Would like to try the tapas. We were surprised that so many reviews indicated about the size of the meals and not being able to finish, but we were still hungry after lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD & SERVICE FROM DAY 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have dined here regularly since Alegria opened and whether for breakfast lunch or dinner, not once has the quality of the food or service failed to be excellent. Chef Lorenzo is as passionate and fanatical about quality ingredients as only an Italian can be and the same dedication to excellence is upheld among the wait staff. Decor and ambience reflects the same pride in providing a memorable dining experience. Alegria has just won the best tapas menu of the year against the best the country has to offer, so this speaks for itself. Prices are not outrageous and if you share something as delicious and filling as their Paella Alegria, you'll have a meal for two at very acceptable cost.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

the food was absolutely divine! can't wait to go back for more. Between two of us we shared the garlic prawns, meatballs, croquets and arancini, loved them all. Beautiful mushroom flavour in the arancini, delectable rich sauce with the meatballs, rich flavours in the prawns and velvety smoothnes in the croquettes. We were so full we ended up having crackers and dip for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The place is really beautiful. Waitress are so kind, the food is deliciousss. The Paella was so good, but the dessert was perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilianaZambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Alegria also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Bistro Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing