We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and Drink Menu”
Review of Bitter Suite

Bitter Suite
Ranked #210 of 4,325 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bitter Suite is a Restaurant and Bar situated on a corner block in the leafy suburb of New Farm. Five minute walk to The Brisbane River and Powerhouse Theatre. With a north/north westerly aspect you can enjoy sunny days under our expansive verandah from dawn to dusk! Ample heating inside and out for those winter nights! Serving high quality 'comfort' food with a twist, our experienced team of chef's prepare almost everything from scratch on site! Washed down with an awesome selection of 'Australian owned' craft beers, wines and spirits to make you proud! Table service is offered with fun, friendly and laid back staff to guide you through your experience with us! We hope you enjoy!!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Drink Menu”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are in the New Farm/Tenneriffe Area. Definately check this place out. It is a small walk from the Powerhouse. Is very expensive but the service is great, and their food and drink menu is extensive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    58
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great little local!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I've eaten here many times, for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and all have been excellent. The food is imaginative and well-cooked, the beers and wines diverse and delicious, and the service is wonderful. As a vegetarian, I've become accustomed to only having one item to choose from on menus, but Bitter Suite offers some really tasty and healthy meat-free options (although meat-eaters are very well catered for too). I love the location on the street corner and the atmosphere is great, with people of all age groups seeming to enjoy themselves here. This place really captures the spirit of the good old British local and really fills a gap in the market. I hope it continues to trade successfully for years to come, as Brisbane really needs a place like this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingStar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come for the breakfast and beer”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Love the atmosphere of this place, the beer selection, the friendly owners & staff, and the breakfasts and coffees are the best in this neighborhood (maybe even all of Brisbane). Great for a beer in the evenings, but wish they had a more laid-back, affordable menu to go with the beers.
Breakfasts are a highlight thanks to the little touches - nice honey with the banana bread, lovely tomato chutney and chorizo sausages in the big breakfasts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks with frends”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I went to Bitter Suite because we thought it would be a fun place for us to meet with our friends ( 4 couples in total). The food was different but nice. I agree with the other reviews the duck pancakes were great but I am a lover of duck. The beer drinkers loved the different selections of beers and tried various types. If you are not a beer drinker the wine selection is good and the fruit punch refreshing. The surroundings and staff made the afternoon a very enjoyable one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must try!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I came here for dinner after it was recommended by a friend who used to live in the area. We took the CityCat to the New Farm stop and were under the impression that it would be a quick walk. It was actually closer to 20 minutes, and was a little hard to find as it is away from a main street- but it was so worth it (just make sure you have a map!). Our waitress was super friendly and knowledgable about the menu. We tried the duck pancakes, as our friend suggested and they. were. amazing. You MUST try these. We weren't quite sure what else to order, and at the suggestion of our waitress, we tried several small plates and shared. This was perfect, and her suggestions were all wonderful. I was also very impressed with the beer selection AND the knowlege that the staff had of each beer. I will definitely return here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bitter Suite also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Bitter Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing