We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty but go at the quiet times”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ole

Ole
Ranked #37 of 4,299 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very tasty but go at the quiet times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This tapas bar/restaurant is a very pleasant place for lunch; it can be a bit busy on the evenings particularly the weekends. They don't seem to take bookings, but, hey, if you turn up and there's a long queue, go to one of the many other restaurants nearby and come back another time.

The tapas dishes are very tasty; I particularly recommend the anchovies & blue cheese on toast -- delicious -- as well as their jugs of red and white sangria, which are made with good quality ingredients and well-priced. The value-for-money is somewhat variable (and probably the only reason I didn't give it 5-stars). Some dishes seem very cheap for what you get, others (like the thinly sliced hams) seem rather expensive.

The staff can be run off their feet when the place is busy but generally service is fine at other times.

The location is very open and airy, great for our warm climate. You can do people watching and look across to Southbank.

It's my favourite lunch place along the Little Stanley strip at the moment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kr_afol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    299
    91
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delish Tastes To Die For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Where to start on this place!! Ahhmazign Sangria, Tapa's to die for and main meals that make your mouth water, it's places like this that make up the heart and soul of South Bank. The bar staff were friendly (And good looking!) and were happy to make us their own concoctions of drinks. I reccomend the octopus and the white bait if you're brave! Service was perfect and for the taste sensations we experienced, the price was respectable. Will definatley be back to Ole!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaitL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for large gathering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I think took a group of 19 people to Ole for lunch mid-week. We had the $38 fixed menu. It was great. Something to watch out for is the cost of the drinks!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drinkcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious small portions, pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love Spanish food and were happy to find Ole. At first we were told that the dishes were for sharing. By this, the waiter means that the dish will be set in the middle of the table for people to share, but the portions are of a size that is enough for only one hungry person, really. That's when we realized how pricey this place was. And because the food is sooooo good, you always ask for more. To share. Then comes the bill. But I must say it was all worth it, though I'd also say this is not the kind of place you want to dine on every single weekend. Well, we were on vacation, so splurging was allowed. Service was good, though there were only 2 waiters for a large restaurant. I really don't know how they could be so efficient. The bill came in less than a minute.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2NO-mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahiatua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose this cafe because we wanted to try something different - and we did - we had octopus, quid, goat and beef cheeks and all were a.m.a.z.i.n.g. beautifully presented and mouth watering. We noticed that this was one of the busiest cafes on the strip and we could certainly see why when we dined there. Great fun place to visit with excellent food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ole also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Ole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing