We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The acid jazz chicken was amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JazzCat Restaurant - CLOSED

JazzCat Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Modern Asian-Australian music boutique restaurant in Paddington, Brisbane. Live music is played every Friday & Saturday night by our musician owner Mr Hong Ma.Eat well, relax and be 'Jazzy' free. That's our motto.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The acid jazz chicken was amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

They have an unusual menu with some interesting dishes. Try the Acid Jazz Chicken. Fabulous! Service was attentive and fast.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank abetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant - has potential!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

First impression of this restaurant - cute, quirky surrounds - perhaps the chairs could do with a cushion (unless you have plenty of your own!) Service was attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. The food we ordered was interesting and tasty.....the guinness duck - excellent, but the vegetables that were described as steamed - well the carrot and capsicum - hadn't been near any steam - completely raw! The idea of live music is wonderful and too rare in Brisbane but unfortunately the room is too small and it gets lost in the conversations that end up with everyone yelling to be heard! Think we might return when the music is off!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best chicken rice paper rolls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Relaxing, casual restaurant. Service could be better though and more professional. Don't consider staff chatting loudly about their personal lives or eating and drinking in view of customers whilst eating, to be appropriate. When we asked for condiments we should have been given, it was met with questioning by a staff member and we were made to feel as customers, we were burdonsome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

First, the good things. The food arrived very quickly (although I was the only customer) and the waitress was friendly (although having asked for my opinion of the food, didn't have a clue how to respond to it). Second, the bad things. The food was lukewarm and the portion tiny. If you advertise a special of the house of duck and mashed potatoes, I would expect more than a minuscule duck leg and small helping of spuds for $28. The vegetables were cold. Maybe the Japanese food is better. Maybe they think every dish, even hearty ones, should come in Japanese sizes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cute, quirky and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a little find in a back street of Paddington. Quirky decor, this is an old house converted into 2 main rooms one containing a piano. The menu is really eclectic - mostly dim sum based, but also a good mix of other dishes such as risotto, pork belly, tiramisu etc. Good, solid, friendly service. Music is a bit too loud though - small room, wooden floorboards, lots of people in small room - makes forva hard time talking without shouting!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JazzCat Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing