We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just the job” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel South Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel South Brisbane
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had a late meeting in Brisbane and the Sudima had been recommended to me. My wife and I stayed one night. The room was very smart, the receptionist very helpful. The taxi call up point was in the lobby and the taxi was there in minutes.
We were on the 10th floor so could not really hear the city traffic.
All at a reasonable $144 per night + $10 for overnight parking which was very economical.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    112
    55
    26
    12
See reviews for
37
90
29
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at these suites in a Studio Room for one night while in Brisbane for an appointment at the Mater Suites.
The room was clean with good facilities. However our the room was very noisy with very loud traffic all night .
I was disappointed that there was a need for $150 refundable surcharge taken on my card on arrival.
Also more disappointing was the $10 (plus credit card fee) we were charged for parking when we did not have a car.
We had booked through Booking.com and paid in advance but this was deducted on our departure. We overlooked this when we got our final account until we got our credit card account for the month.
Unfortunately this has made our stay not as pleasant as we would have hoped.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

A very clean room... And quite big too. Bathroom was a little tight, but I was traveling alone, so that was fine. great having a washer/dryer int he bathroom (nice to come home with clean washing:-). I was on the 11th floor, I agree with previous comments, ask for a high floor. The bus terminal is just down the road. Not far from south bank... My only 'complaint' (and it's not much) is that the room was set up for two guests. two of everything, two plate, two glasses, two mugs (Noah's ark ?:-), but I think they could provide more than two teaspoons and cups, it's a pain to wash them if you're a habitual tea drinker. I booked a king sized room, and got a king sized bed which was two singles pushed together...not comfortable if you want to sleep alone in the middle (many hotels do this though). A queen size bed would work better. One last consideration... The hotel is on the top of a hill, this would be a bit of a challenge for those pushing pushchairs or wheelchairs...would I stay again? Yes, definitely... Very clean, friendly and spacious...

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nateaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

A little gem! Ten minutes walk from the South Bank and all it has to offer. Well appointed rooms ,excellent facilities, with a small kitchen, dishwasher and the quietest washer /dryer I have ever heard...staff who cannot help you enough, what more could we want? And the view from the Sky Deck is awesome!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylTom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

When we first drove in, the thought was o no its small. But the staff was very helpful . We asked for city views and wasn't happy with the room, called to change to get better and we did. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Excellent service and very friendly. Would definitely go back to stay...easy walk to southbank too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We found this to be a clean, modern room with everything we needed. The pricing was very reasonable and security is good. The only issue was the heli-pad across from our room - I was dreaming that I was a helicopter pilot! It's hard to complain about sick people being flown into a hospital though, so overall we thought it was a good choice for a place to stay. Location was excellent, just a short walk to Stanley Street for a night out and Southbank for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I arrived and as a bit nervous when I saw the proximity to major roads but that was soon put aside as my visit proved to be one I will repeat every trip to Brisbane.

The rooms are double glazed on the bedrooms to keep things quiet and it was amazingly quiet for a city hotel. The pricing is excellent, staff fantastic and very helpful, modern new rooms and very good location in south Brisbane with IGA and food and drink options around the corner, walking distance to cbd and short cab fair to valley.

Air conditioning works very well, property felt very secure and has good amenities.

It is a great launching pad for self drive holidays as well.

I do not hesitate to recommend this property to any traveler.

Room Tip: Eastern outlook across the Gabba was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawdogs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#97 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.8 mi away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#37 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#40 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel South Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel South Brisbane

Property: The Sebel South Brisbane
Address: 46-50 Water St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Sudima Suites)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel South Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel South Brisbane , Sudima Suites provides 4.5 star (SR), fully self-contained luxury suites in South Brisbane - a disarming suburb characterized by its quaint old buildings, chic wine bars, and cosmopolitan cafes. Its convenient location makes it ideal for business travelers and holiday makers, enabling you to revel in the best of what Brisbane has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Sebel South Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing