We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“qood quality accom close to brisbane city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sebel South Brisbane
Ranked #114 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Second time here- good quality and very large rooms, newish hotel that is:
I) 5 min walk to Thai, French, Goan, pizza, steakhouse and pub food.
II) 5 min walk to a train and a bus station, 20 min walk to southbank or ferry (opposite hospital if you have a heart attack!)
No restaurant but rooms setup to cook your own food. Only hassle (minor) is if you like to sleep in dark room, the room doors have a large gap at the bottom that lets light in- use a towel over it.

Room Tip: Rooms on east have a balcony but get very harsh early morning light, those on the south a bit quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 339 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

Room comfortable and location for Convention Centre was good. Only problem was the echoing noise of doors banging through the night. They need some slow closers on the doors. Apart from that would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin4806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We booked the "Sudima" suites because we like apartment/hotel accommodation. Best Western were offering a "hot deal" of $149 per night over the Easter weekend and as we hadn't been to Brisbane in 12 twelve years and now living on the east coast and only a two hour drive away we thought we should go.
We arrived at 1pm and the lady on reception was very kind and allowed us to check in early. We were on the seventh floor and had some glimpses of the city skyline. The apartments are very new, with a small kitchenette, living area and seperate bedroom with a small en-suite. There was also a table and 2 chairs on the large wrap around balcony.
The hotel is very near the Mater Hospital and Queensland Childrens Hospital and the first night we were there we were woken by a helicopter landing on the roof of the hospital.
It is a short walk from the hotel to all the amenities on South Bank, plus the City Cat ferries and the Hop on Hop off city sights bus which stops on Vulture St near the Maritime Museum and costs £35 for a day and also includes travel on the city Cat ferry.

I would certainly stay at this hotel on our next trip to Brisbane

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank possum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Sudima Suites was a lovely new hotel, and unfortunately we only had one night in Brisbane. We didn't get a chance to use the amenities. The rooms were large, comfortable and full of light. There was a washer/dryer - very handy as we had just come from renting a camper van for a few days. The rooftop terrace provided a lovely view over Brisbane. The staff were very friendly and helpful giving directions. The absolutely only complaint I have that made this a 4 instead of a 5 rating was when we checked in, the staff on front desk didn't know what to do with the Best Western Travel Card we were using to pay for the room. He said they were new and "weren't set up for it yet". The next morning there was a different front desk clerk working and just in case, I asked her if she knew how to process our travel card. She did! She knew exactly what to do and processed it very quickly - thank you Melissa!!! She was very helpful and knowledgeable and we told her she should get paid extra to train the rest of the staff on the procedure! We would stay there again if we ever get back to Brisbane.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room on an upper floor - the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandDMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We recently (March 2012) stayed at the Brisbane Sudima Suites. The hotel looks brand new and the room was great. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. It also has a washer/dryer and kitchenette. We arrived at about 7:00 am, so the rooms were not ready, but they gave us towels and a place to clean up while they quickly got the room ready for us. The staff were all very friendly. Albert was very helpful and made us feel welcome. He also knew a lot about good restaurants in the area. It is a short walk to the parks at South Bank.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobWinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Recent stay here was hampered by a very delayed flight. I managed to get a call in to reception before they closed and was given instructions on how to access the after hours checkin.

On arriving at 11:30pm checkin was very smooth. Room was incredibly spacious and I was delighted to find a ceiling fan in the room as well as the standard aircon.

Kitchen/bathroom facilities were fantastic also.

Checkout was super easy. The only down side to the trip was I had a bit of trouble getting to the location, but that is more of a reflection on the two incompetent taxi drivers I had than the hotel it'self.

Location is within easy access of South Bank Train station and all the attractions Southbank has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PurdeyNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I don't normally take the time to write a review but I wanted to commend this hotel. The staff was very friendly---from the housekeeping to the front desk---and our rooms were spotless. When you travel, you look for something that sets apart one from the others and allows you to say, "I would stay there again". Well, Mary went above and beyond from keeping our bags and letting me use the front desk phone to giving us directions. Definitely recommend for families; only a 10 minute walk to the train station and 2 minute walk to the buses. Great rates, beds and overall quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimbo29222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
0 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#109 of 169 in Brisbane
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 169 in Brisbane
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
927 reviews
1.7 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#36 of 169 in Brisbane
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#113 of 169 in Brisbane
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel South Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel South Brisbane

Address: 46-50 Water St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia (Formerly Sudima Suites)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $72 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel South Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel South Brisbane , Sudima Suites provides 4.5 star (SR), fully self-contained luxury suites in South Brisbane - a disarming suburb characterized by its quaint old buildings, chic wine bars, and cosmopolitan cafes. Its convenient location makes it ideal for business travelers and holiday makers, enabling you to revel in the best of what Brisbane has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sebel South Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing