We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left feeling very hungry”
Review of Sardine Tin - CLOSED

Sardine Tin
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Linked to the Piaf restaurant on Southbank, Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Left feeling very hungry”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would not recommend this establishment for healthy eaters. The food was fresh and well prepared, gnocchi was delicious, but such a small portions for such a big price. Staff were attentive and friendly, and a good place to sit and people watch. For us, not the place to go when you a really hungry and need a good feed, but a pleasant place to sit with a glass of wine and a bowl or two of olives.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ducked into Sardine Tim for a quick meal before heading to QPAC to see Jersey Boys on a Wednesday night. Very glad we did - we had a fantastic meal!!

We ordered a few tapas plates:
- warmed Spanish olives (to go with our drinks)
- corn & sweet chilli croquettes
- spicy pork albondigas
- chicken & leek arancini
- tempura zucchini flowers with a smoky yoghurt dip

We loved all of them! Absolutely delicious. Total bill (including drinks) was about $70, which was about right for the standard of meal we had. Looking forward to going again and trying some more of their menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CGradeCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Food at Southbank”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The “Sardine Tin” is a cute cafe, bar in the vibrant Southbank precinct. A great place for meeting friends for a meal or just a drink. A group of us had lunch there recently and the staff are exceptionally friendly and the European style tapas were very delicious, filling and reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The place was absolutely empty and we still had to wait forever to get the waitress attention. The food was ok nothing special the terrine was way too cold, the gnocchi was good but portion really small. Finally $12.50 for 50 grams of cheese that make $500 a kilogram a bit over the top when you think that the chef only cut it and probably put on a scale.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BatonCanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My colleague and I had dinner here on a Saturday night. The host was very helpful in finding us a seat even though we did not have a reservation and it was quite busy. It was a cool night but the atmosphere was fun and cozy. The wine and food list was small but tasty. I would have liked a bit more food for the money, and I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for a filling meal. However, if you want to share a snack and a drink with friends and enjoy a pleasant Brisbane evening, Sardine Tin is great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadisonDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine Tin also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing