We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Farm Love”
Review of The Moray Cafe

The Moray Cafe
Ranked #771 of 4,734 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Great cafe nestled under the iconic Fig Tree with a focus on delicious food, coffees and old fashioned customer service making every visit a warm and friendly experience. Saturday ,Sunday, Monday, 6:30am-3.30Pm Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 6:30am-9pm, Price range: $15-30 per main
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love this place. Coffee BEAUTIFUL. Only descovered 6months before I moved from New Farm/Brisbane and wish I had found sooner. Service was great every time we went and food is amazing. Tight Tuesday we only had to wait 10min for table and steak was lovely. Recommend Bircher, berry smoothie, falafel wrap, steak. All round super, if only it was in Melbs ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorayCafe, Owner at The Moray Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the café. As the new owners since 24th September 2013, our aim is make every visit to our café a warm and friendly experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I dined here last night with my partner and a friend who lives in the area. Once we sat down it look a good 10-15 minutes for anyone to come take a drinks order, and that was only after we made eye contact with the tall waitress who was too busy sipping on her own drink chatting with other staff. By that time we had decided on our food and ordered it all at once. (On a side note, the table could have done with a wipe down as it was covered in a thin layer of road dust/dirt)
While waiting for drinks I popped inside to check the wine list (as I had just stuck with water) and the waitresses were joking about how they didn't even know if the red was a Shiraz or not, as that was what they had been telling people all night. It was in the end.
When the food came out the waitress served it to us and quickly turned and walked away, no asking if we needed anything else or even a pause. If she had asked or even paused she would have heard me say "excuse me?" But she didn't and so I went in search of my own fork.
No one came to check if we were enjoying our meals and my partner had to go inside to order an extra after he had finished his meal. This is just basic service, I've worked years in hospitality and it all about going the extra mile. On that note, the food was lovely and well priced.
After our meal we sat there for 15 or so minutes and in the end decided that we would do dessert down the road, as we didn't want to bother the waitresses (the tall blonde in particular) from their conversations with the chefs. We paid, the shorter one was polite and asked the right questions but it was too late. And we wandered down the road where the service was impeccable. It might not be the same type of restaurant, but customer service should go above and beyond, wherever you work. It takes all of 15 seconds to do a round if asking the customers how everything is and if they need anything. My friend said it was usually packed on a Friday, but it wasn't at all last night; maybe the owner needs to evaluate a few things?
Will hesitate before returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank adeline90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorayCafe, Owner at The Moray Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hello adeline90,
We appreciate your feedback on the Moray Café Trip Advisor page. Our reviews are very important to us. Can we invite you back? We’re the new owners who purchased The Moray in October 2013 and we’d like to invite you back to experience our new menu and refurbished café.
Kindest Regards
The Moray Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We dined at the Moray Cafe last night on their tastefully-named "Tight-A*se Tuesday" cheap night. The food was filling and satisfactory, without being anything special, and cheap enough at $15 a main. The wine list was minuscule and very expensive, but that could have been overcome by using their $5.50/bottle corkage for BYO, if we'd known!
This establishment is on a busy corner on a roundabout, so there was a steady stream of traffic most of the time we were there. Those unfortunate enough to dine in the outside area had to contend with icy Winter winds and a single gas heater that ran out of gas, which resulted in lots of chattering teeth and sharing of warm clothes, since the owner saw fit NOT to rig up any protection for them. As New Farm locals who have had lunch here several times before, we booked ahead to ensure getting an inside table on a very nippy night and took no joy in the discomfort of these unfortunate outside diners. We know they DO have plastic screens, but none of the wait-staff seemed to know why they weren't in use. Perhaps the name "Tight-A*se Tuesday" is a clue to that particular omission?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ianzcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorayCafe, Owner at The Moray Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hello Ianzcarr,
We appreciate your feedback on the Moray Café Trip Advisor page. Our reviews are very important to us. Can we invite you back? We’re the new owners who purchased The Moray in October 2013 and we’d like to invite you back to experience our new menu and refurbished café. Kind regards, The Moray Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sat outside on a sunny morning and had a fab breakfast with family good service and great food would recommend

1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorayCafe, Owner at The Moray Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Moray Café. Our aim is make every visit to our café a warm and enjoyable experience and is also great to hear that you like our new renovations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Food, wine and service have been great both times. Visiting Brisbane? - catch a ferry/city cat to Sydney Street terminal (closest) or catch bus #196 departing from Adelaide Street. Tuesday nights are fantastic but a reservation is a must - it is Tight A%s Tuesday - meals are $15; Friday nights too are Steak-Out Friday - 300g rump only $15.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AndrewC02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moray Cafe also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Moray Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing