We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a night out with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George's Paragon Seafood Restaurant Brisbane

George's Paragon Seafood Restaurant Brisbane
Ranked #15 of 4,263 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Greek, Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location for a night out with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This restaurant had been recommended by friends and the complete dining experience was very satisfactory. On arrival we were greeted and seated immediately complete with menus and wine list. However the wine waiter was just a bit quick (less than 5 minutes) in coming to the table for our drinks order as we had barely had time to seat ourselves and cast our eyes over the food menu before ordering the wine for the evening. The wine list was extensive but not expensive.The seafood chowder and oysters were considered excellent as was the calamari. I had the baby barramundi which was a little overcooked but the accompanying vegetables were fresh and crisp.
Our overall impression of food and service was very favourable and it offered great value dining in a scenic riverside setting. We shall return in the near future to try more of their seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    676
    209
    79
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great value, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This restaurant has been around a long time, and their experience shows. We had the early bird dinner (be seated between 530-630pm) and the food was amazing and heavily discounted. I had scallops for entree and oysters for main - both fantastic and great value on the early bird menu. I wish I had been more hungry to try out their banquet menu options, which looked great - Greek and seafood options. ... The service was friendly and efficient, despite the restaurant being very busy. This was in stark contrast to dinner the night before at the Bavarian Bier Cafe (opposite George's) where we waited 50mins for our meals, but were entertained by the in-fighting amongst the young, in-experienced wait staff. .... Head to George's, stylish, great food, great value, great location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpro73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Confirms the view vs food rule”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice location, service OK, food was ordinary and not good value.

Tarama was no better than you would get at the supermarket. Served with flatbread with salt and rosemary(?) which did nothing to help the flavours.

I might have misread the menu but when I ordered Fettucine with prawns and pesto, I did not imagine I was ordering half a plate of cream. Now I loathe cream sauce at the best of times but even without this it was pretty uninteresting for $30...Heart attack material.

My colleague didnt think much of his barramundi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Rubbish greasy food,
Don't know anything about wine
Overpriced for what it is, probably well placed to take advantage of tourists.....
Stay away...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerome1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Rents at Riverside are obviously expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good seafood overcooked, tasteless and expensive. When I pay $55 for a single serve main meal I expect a CREATION.

The signature dish was seafood broiled in oil, cream and garlic - uninspiring. In defense of the restaurant, the place was apcked even though their was a Rugby Test on the TV.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Paragon Seafood Restaurant Brisbane also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to George's Paragon Seafood Restaurant Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing