We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh What a Perfect Day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirimar Cruises

Mirimar Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.81*
and up
Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Koala and River Cruise is a memorable journey on the Brisbane River to the renowned Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. This popular cruise has been taking locals and visitors to the park for over 60 years and is a "must do" experience during your stay in Brisbane.  You’ll board your boat in Brisbane’s Southbank district and leave the city behind on a relaxing cruise to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary.  Enjoy an informative commentary from your captain as you glide along Brisbane’s waterfront, passing from the bustle of the city’s skyscrapers to leafy suburbs with waterside mansions.  Explore the world’s largest koala sanctuary, with more than 130 Koalas on site.  Cuddle a koala, take photos with the adorable marsupials (own expense), and perhaps catch a talk by the koala’s keepers.  Discover the Platypus House where you may get a chance to see the shy platypus  Check out owls, kites and sea eagles soar above you at the popular Birds of Prey show.  Relax on our ultra-modern cruise boat and indulge in homemade meals and snacks or enjoy a glass of our Australian wine or beer from our on-board cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Wirral
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Oh What a Perfect Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This boat trip is a unique experience. On a hot Brisbane day this is the perfect way to travel to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. The informative cruise shows you a different aspect of Brisbane which you wouldn't normally see. The Koala Sanctuary is exceptional in showing how Koalas live. The talks are so entertaining with a chance to meet a Koala close up and have a photo taken for free although there is also a professional photographer. Apart from the koalas there is a chance to see other australian animals and see a sheep dog in action together with sheep shearing. We found the amount of time on a hot day just right and were happy to return on the Mirimar but you have the option of staying longer and returning by bus. On the return trip you are offered the chance to steer the boat part of the way home. At $A65 it might seem a lot to Brits with the poor exchange rate, but believe us IT IS WORTH IT! This is our abiding memory of beautiful Brisbane.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMyersWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    40
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Mirimar is a boat that takes you out to the Lone Pine Zoo which has 100+ koalas. It leaves at 10:00 AM and takes 75 minutes to get there. We had a beautiful day and the boat ride was just the most enjoyable way to go. On the way out they have a narration for tourists (like me) about the city. The boat leaves at 1:45 and is back in they city by 3:00. The crew was pleasant and very friendly.

The only thing that would have made it better is if we had another hour or so at Lone Pine. Can't recommend highly enough. Very convenient.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LA_Travelers_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Cruise was great and great food. My daughter got to drive the boat and it was very kid friendly. I would recommend this trip to anyone coming to Brisbane.

Helpful?
Thank JCkidstravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a great way to spend a day in Brisbane. The cruise is lovely up the river, the staff are welcoming and although the commentary is prerecorded it is still funny. The food on board is lovely and not overpriced, they have free sunscreen to protect you if you have forgotten your own. The Koala Sancutary is great but I have reviewed that separately. The 2 hours you get there is more than enough and I would recommend this cruise to anyone wanting to go cuddle a koala!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good way to see the local wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Ended up going on the cruise on a weekday because our group was looking for something to do on a day off in Brisbane. The reason I chose this cruise was that instead of just a river tour of the city, it added the koala sanctuary. The river was ok. They dis well with what there is to work with in the city. The portion of the city the boat travels through is not very architecturally rich. The food offered for purchase was actually pretty good. Sandwiches and rolls. Also had good selection of beverages.
The koala sanctuary was great! I felt like rhe time spent was the perfect amount of time. They also let you hold a koala and get a picture taken for an additional fee. The photos were really good. Very professional.
There was even a big field where you could feed kangaroo. Saw the birds of prey show and the sheep dog show as well. Both were well done.
The return trip was very relaxing. Wasn't as much commentary which was good to just enjoy the trip. Many in our group took advantage of this time to grab some food on the boat.
It is possible to just drive to the koala sanctary but if you have the extra 2 1/2 hours to add the river portion to the experience, Mirimar 2 is a great way to go.
I definatly recommend this.

Helpful?
Thank trav520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirimar Cruises also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Mirimar Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing