We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”
Review of Bavarian Bier Cafe

Bavarian Bier Cafe
Reserve with
Bavarian Bier Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 4,313 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Perfectly positioned on the Brisbane waterfront, Bavarian Bier Cafe Eagle Street Pier is our very first interstate venture. By uniting the fabulous setting with a striking interior that caters to groups of all sizes, Eagle Street Pier is destined to become a local hotspot for corporate lunches, after-work drinks, celebratory events and weekend fun. You'll find all of your favourite Bavarian-style dishes on the menu, as well as an extensive range of Pure Biers, schnapps and wine. Be sure to take advantage of the All Day Menu, which runs until 10pm each night and our special brunch on the weekends from 11am
Buderim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I loved my meal here tonight. Every aspect of it was delicious. Veal snitzel, mash, mushroom cream, sauerkraut, slaw, aioli. Unfortunately I had no room left for the apple strudel ill have that next time! The wait staff were really friendly and efficient too

Helpful?
Thank cocoaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    304
    133
    47
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Most Miserable Bar Staff on the Planet ”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Met with some friends for pre Christmas Drinks. Staff are either overworked or just completely unsuited and poorly selected to the role. Despite a very busy bar, they move at a very slow pace, not a smile from any of them. I actually felt quite depressed just watching them! 20 minutes to get served. The irony is that if an additional 2 or 3 staff were rostered to work, they'd sell enough booze to pay for their salaries 20 times over. Unfortunately one of those places that just relies on its location and its' female bar staff wearing low cut tops to make money rather than even a small attempt at decent service. We won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bier Cafe”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Company drinks and nibbles at lunch time. Awesome platters of varying authentic foods and a vast array of biers. Having lived in Germany for a number of years it was a trip down memory lane and no variation in bier taste it obviously travels well. Huge selection of biers and spirits, great food, atmosphere and service, second to none. Just wish I had the ability once had when younger, boy it sure takes a lot longer to clear the head the next day than it used to...lol.

Thank you for a tremendous package from start to wobbly end. Recommend to anyone and certainly revisiting very soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank digicarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic work function”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just used the Bavarian Bier Café at Eagle St for our works Christmas function. It was very good value for money, and everyone had a great time. 50 of us were in the '70s area', a roped off section of the venue, with our own staff (who were very attentive and friendly). Had the 4 hour beverage package which was $60pp, with plenty for all. Food was canapé selection, and the Wagyu beef, pork belly and chicken schnitzel were all delicious.
When organising, once you have confirmed numbers with the venue there is no way to change, so be warned that if your colleagues change their minds then they would still need to pay. One other thing I noticed is that a couple of 'gate crashers' were easily able to walk in and help themselves (not the venues fault).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GayleJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Left a bad taste - will not be back in a hurry”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Met up at the Bavarian Beer Café with some business associates for a few beers before going on to an evening event.

Beers were OK, mostly variations on lager, which is to be expected. But what left a really bad taste is the treatment we received. There were 8 of us occupying one table, we had just been served our second (or for some third) round of beers - not a cheap round it has to be said - when we were summarily informed that the table we were on had a booking and that we would have to vacate the table. We asked if we could be moved to another table but none were available and we were told we would have to go to the bar area. They did this on several other nearby tables. We got the distinct impression that once they have your money the concept of customer service just goes straight out of the window.

We reluctantly complied with this request and were left standing in a cramped an crowded area by the bar. We left about half an hour later having not bought any more drinks, frankly we were not interested in giving them any more business! Ironically all the tables they had cleared were all still empty when we left. If there had been a note on the table saying 'required at 5pm' or words to that effect then fair enough, but there was not. To take our money and then effectively kick us out was well out of order.

So, won't be going back in a hurry and won't be arranging any more meet ups at this venue until it can fix its breathtakingly arrogant attitude towards its customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing