We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations Exceeded”
Review of Jephson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jephson Hotel
Ranked #73 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville, Australia
1 review
“Expectations Exceeded”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I experienced an unfortunate experience that while it occurred in the Hotel, was not directly caused by the Hotel or it's staff. The staff rectified the issue professionally and promptly and to a level that exceeded my expectations. This refreshing approach to customer service is to be heartily commended. This approach, along with the good quality and clean facilities, handy location and excellent breakfast service makes the Jephson a hotel that I'd recommend to others.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate it. Our team is 100% customer focussed and will do whatever it takes to exceed our guests expectations. We believe we have a great product and the right team members in place to ensure a memorable guest experience. We very much look forward to your return, once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Tom Blair-West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    80
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
52
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights recently & was really impressed by this hotel. We stayed in a standard room. It was clean (very important to me!), with a good sized bathroom/shower. In fact the whole room was spacious. It had a couch & plenty of space to store your stuff including a safe that would fit a laptop. It was nice to have a balcony, but don't expect great views (balconies of nearby units). The staff were helpful & friendly & the restaurant/bar is of a high standard. We had breakfasts included (choice of bacon/eggs, toast or cereal) & they were great. You could "upgrade" your breakfast to something from the breakfast al a carte menu which was a nice option to have if you wanted something more substantial. Parking is on site & free which is also a bonus. The train/ferry/buses are so close though, that a car is unecessary. The city is only 10 mins away by train. Lots of shops & restaurants on the doorstep, so very convenient location wise. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Jephson Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to review us. We always encourage the team make that extra effort for our guests, and present the best possible experience we can. As you will see on this web site we take all guests comments seriously and really do appreciate feedback, so again thanks for the review.

TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great hotel, very close ( couple of minutes walk ) to Toowong rail and bus service. The room was a nice size and very clean and comfortable.
The hotel is great value as parking and breakfast were included in the rate. We were able to visit the convention Centre and the Showground without any problems or the need for car or taxies. We fully recommend this hotel and will certainly book again on our next Brisbane trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NswFrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us, we do appreciate your feedback. As you mentioned the Jephson Hotel is well positioned for ease of travel to the Brisbane Convention Centre, the RNA show grounds and the Brisbane CBD. Next time your here try the CityCat ferry service, the terminal is a short walk away and it’s a great way to enjoy the sights of Brisbane. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and tidy. Great location walk to all shops and transport. Beautifull Bar, very relaxing. Great food choice at the restaurant. Overall very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for your review. We do pride ourselves on our customer service. A key component of this is to have a friendly, professional team. We will always go the extra mile to provide exceptional hospitality to all who stay and dine at the Jephson. Yes, the restaurant food is amazing and the menu is excellent value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Jephson Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had a one night stay here and as it is a relatively new hotel, I would expect the overall level of cleaniness of teh hotel to be higher. Marks on walls, broken window latches and stained bathroom floor are more reflective of a once over service than ongoing deep cleaning. There is just a worn feeling associated with this hotel, which could be overcome by a closer attention to detail by housekeeping. Would I stay again? Maybe not for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are constantly taking on board comments like your own to further improve our hotel. Your housekeeping concerns have been taken up by our Head Housekeeper for further action and a detailed review of all our rooms is underway. We did utilise an tile in our bathroom that ensures the floor is not slippery when wet, however this means the tile is porous and does absorb water. Even when cleaned by housekeeping the tiled floor doesn’t have the shiny new look we would like. We do regularly have the tiles pressure washed to bring them back to new, and we’re working towards delivering a solution to this issue. We really do hope that you return to stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for your comments.

Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Room was a bit dusty and no tv remote, shaving light not working in bathroom.

The bed was quite hard as well.

It is situated on a corner of a cross roads that are fairly busy in the mornings and is close to a student bar down the road so some noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffyjonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. Your maintenance and housekeeping comments have been addressed with the relevant Department Heads for immediate follow up. Unfortunately maintenance issues pop up every so often, ie light globes, remotes for tvs etc, and we have a pro active approach and act upon these matters when they occur. We are at an intersection of 2 busy roads, and the designers of the hotel did an amazing job at soundproofing the rooms to ensure that our rooms are whisper quiet. As such the feedback on how quiet our rooms are, is one of our biggest selling points. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us.

Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I am a local and stayed at the Jephson once for a getaway overnight but have had meals there on many occasions. The accommodation is sharp. New, neat and tidy. I found staff friendly and helpful. There is a great bar and restaurant. It's a good menu with interesting meals and reasonable prices. The chef is obviously quite creative and takes pride in what is served up. Toowong is a great area with plenty of options for a beer and a feed in close proximity to CBD. I will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Brisbane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time out to review your experience with us. Js restaurant and bar is becoming a preferred dining experience for many of the Toowong residents and guests alike. Our Executive Chef is always reviewing dining trends and keeping the menus fresh and vibrant. There is a lot of dining options in Toowong and we like to think that with our Modern Australian offering we stand out when it comes to value and service.
We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#88 of 157 in Brisbane
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#76 of 157 in Brisbane
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
#139 of 157 in Brisbane
37 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#36 of 157 in Brisbane
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toowong Villas
Toowong Villas
#75 of 157 in Brisbane
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jephson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jephson Hotel

Property: Jephson Hotel
Address: 63 Jephson St | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jephson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish boutique hotel situated in Brisbane’s inner west, the Jephson Hotel brings to Toowong a versatile accommodation option for business, travel and leisure. Located in convenient proximity to the city centre, Jephson Hotel offers a range of contemporary, sophisticated accommodation options, from fully furnished standard rooms with en suites to a luxury three bedroom penthouse. Complemented by modest and attentive service, Jephson Hotel also features facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible, including a rooftop terrace, function and conference rooms, and free in-house movies. If looking to wine and dine, Jephson Hotel also caters to your needs with J's Restaurant and Bar. Secure car parking is offered to Hotel and Restaurant guests complimentary. The Jephson Hotel offers many transport option. Train, Bus, Taxi and Citycat are all within meters of the hotel, opening up quick and easy access to the CBD, South Bank, Suncorp Stadium, University of Queensland and the Wesley Hospitalre With all this, why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jephson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing