We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”
Review of Jephson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jephson Hotel
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great Staff”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and tidy. Great location walk to all shops and transport. Beautifull Bar, very relaxing. Great food choice at the restaurant. Overall very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for your review. We do pride ourselves on our customer service. A key component of this is to have a friendly, professional team. We will always go the extra mile to provide exceptional hospitality to all who stay and dine at the Jephson. Yes, the restaurant food is amazing and the menu is excellent value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Jephson Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
52
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had a one night stay here and as it is a relatively new hotel, I would expect the overall level of cleaniness of teh hotel to be higher. Marks on walls, broken window latches and stained bathroom floor are more reflective of a once over service than ongoing deep cleaning. There is just a worn feeling associated with this hotel, which could be overcome by a closer attention to detail by housekeeping. Would I stay again? Maybe not for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are constantly taking on board comments like your own to further improve our hotel. Your housekeeping concerns have been taken up by our Head Housekeeper for further action and a detailed review of all our rooms is underway. We did utilise an tile in our bathroom that ensures the floor is not slippery when wet, however this means the tile is porous and does absorb water. Even when cleaned by housekeeping the tiled floor doesn’t have the shiny new look we would like. We do regularly have the tiles pressure washed to bring them back to new, and we’re working towards delivering a solution to this issue. We really do hope that you return to stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for your comments.

Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Room was a bit dusty and no tv remote, shaving light not working in bathroom.

The bed was quite hard as well.

It is situated on a corner of a cross roads that are fairly busy in the mornings and is close to a student bar down the road so some noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffyjonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. Your maintenance and housekeeping comments have been addressed with the relevant Department Heads for immediate follow up. Unfortunately maintenance issues pop up every so often, ie light globes, remotes for tvs etc, and we have a pro active approach and act upon these matters when they occur. We are at an intersection of 2 busy roads, and the designers of the hotel did an amazing job at soundproofing the rooms to ensure that our rooms are whisper quiet. As such the feedback on how quiet our rooms are, is one of our biggest selling points. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us.

Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I am a local and stayed at the Jephson once for a getaway overnight but have had meals there on many occasions. The accommodation is sharp. New, neat and tidy. I found staff friendly and helpful. There is a great bar and restaurant. It's a good menu with interesting meals and reasonable prices. The chef is obviously quite creative and takes pride in what is served up. Toowong is a great area with plenty of options for a beer and a feed in close proximity to CBD. I will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Brisbane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time out to review your experience with us. Js restaurant and bar is becoming a preferred dining experience for many of the Toowong residents and guests alike. Our Executive Chef is always reviewing dining trends and keeping the menus fresh and vibrant. There is a lot of dining options in Toowong and we like to think that with our Modern Australian offering we stand out when it comes to value and service.
We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Decamped to the Jephson after the Hilton failed to impress. My work was in Toowong. I planned to stay in the city and commute each day. As it turned out I was impressed by the Jephson. The hotel delivers an honest 4 star experience.
The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Not as easy on the eye as the five star product but the Jephson has all you need for a comfortable stay.
My room had a large verandah overlooking Mount Coot-Tha. Great spot for cold beer at the end of the day.
Didn't try the restaurant but can recommend the News (?) Cafe on the way to Toowong station for breakfast. One bowl of the home made muesli will keep you going well into the afternoon.
We need more hotels like this. That is hotels that live up to the star rating. There are too many 5 star hotels in Australia that fail dismally to provide a 5 star product.
Will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AccidentalTourist000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for reviewing our hotel. All the rooms have large balcony’s, which is a bonus for our guests and allows them to enjoy some fresh air. Sorry you were unable to try our restaurant, we have a great selection to offer and our famous J’s $5 breakfast is great value for money. Interesting to read your comments regarding the star ratings. We have in April 2012 retained our 4½ star rating with AAA Tourism under their recently revised guidelines. With so many hotels self rating nowadays it’s difficult for guests to obtain a real understanding of what each hotel is really rated. We’re very proud to achieve a real 4½ star rating and while we’re a new hotel and always working to get our service delivery just right we know that the hotel is a quality product. We look forward to your return in the future and are pleased that you had a great stay with us.
Regards
Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I love Wotif. It gives me a chance to sample a wide variety of good accomodation on a great budget. The Jephson came up on the secret hotel deals and at $129 for a 4.5* hotel was a good deal. The hotel is located not far from the Toowong station although not the easiest place to find. It's also a few train stops from the city, so inconveniently located for tourists or people overnighting for business. The service was pleasant, though nothing to rave about. Rooms are comfortable and all of them have balconies which would be great to enjoy in summer. Highlights of the room are the free in house movies, nice choice of complimentary toiletries and a better than average bar / snack selection. Downsides include limited parking, some kinks in the movie system and housekeeping staff that remove your extra room card from the electrical panel if you leave it there when you go out. All in all, it was a nice enough place to stay, but nothing to write home about and probably not worth the cost if you're paying full price. I doubt I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinova B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to stay and review our property. There are a to few points you make that read as being inconsistent. Firstly, you’ve acknowledged the rate being a good deal, and $129 is our very lowest rate. However you’ve only rated the hotel 3 out of 5 for value. You also comment that we’re located close to the Toowong station (a few stops from the city), but in contrast written inconveniently located for tourist and corporate travellers. Our feedback from our guests is that they love how close we are to the CBD, and transport via city cat, train, taxi and bus is very quick and easy. As for limited parking – we are a 50 room hotel and we have 50 car spaces -agreed limited, but enough parking for all of our guests. In regards to the housekeeping staff removing room cards in the electrical panel, this is a directive from myself. I believe that powering the air-conditioning, TV and lights while guests are not in the room is a waste of precious energy. We do try to minimise wastage within the hotel and I will continue to carry out best practice to meet this end. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and we forward to welcoming you back to the Jephson Hotel again in the near future.

Regards,


Tom Blair-West
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The pillows and bed let this place down. Everything was basic modern and functional, but the bed and pillows were not comfortable and did not allow a good night's sleep.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M20A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We have implemented a pillow menu which is located beside the bed in each guest room, as we do understand guests have differing opinions in relation to pillow preference. We’re sorry you missed this during your stay .

We also appreciate that guests do have different preferences in regards to the firmness of the bed. We are looking to implement a mattress topper to all hotel beds in the near future. We do appreciate your feedback and rest assured we are always trying to improve our property to ensure a great guest experience.

Regards

TBW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#87 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#73 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
#139 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#38 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toowong Villas
Toowong Villas
#74 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jephson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jephson Hotel

Property: Jephson Hotel
Address: 63 Jephson St | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jephson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish boutique hotel situated in Brisbane’s inner west, the Jephson Hotel brings to Toowong a versatile accommodation option for business, travel and leisure. Located in convenient proximity to the city centre, Jephson Hotel offers a range of contemporary, sophisticated accommodation options, from fully furnished standard rooms with en suites to a luxury three bedroom penthouse. Complemented by modest and attentive service, Jephson Hotel also features facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible, including a rooftop terrace, function and conference rooms, and free in-house movies. If looking to wine and dine, Jephson Hotel also caters to your needs with J's Restaurant and Bar. Secure car parking is offered to Hotel and Restaurant guests complimentary. The Jephson Hotel offers many transport option. Train, Bus, Taxi and Citycat are all within meters of the hotel, opening up quick and easy access to the CBD, South Bank, Suncorp Stadium, University of Queensland and the Wesley Hospitalre With all this, why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jephson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing