We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Reasonable Inner Surburban Hotel - only $15 taxi to City”
Review of Jephson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jephson Hotel
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Reasonable Inner Surburban Hotel - only $15 taxi to City”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Why pay the much higher prices in the City when the Jephson is so reasonably priced and has all the inclusions for $150 for a Saturday night.

We booked on the net and inclusions were:-
Late noon checkout
Upgrade
Free parking
Breaky for two
On arrival we given a couple of drink vouchers, which we used at the bar and spent our good luck on some great bar snacks - the Baby Hot Dogs were the best. Whilst the room faced the crossroads, it was extremely quiet. Having played up all night - it was great to have such silence and good curtains to block out the morning sun and enjoy a sleep in. The room (appartment) was quite large and the bed was comfie. Extra pillows in the cupboard were appreciated.

We had family join us for a late breakfast in the restaurant which was enjoyable and suited our desire not to hurry. Others were not so happy with the extended A La carte wait - but free second cups of coffee for our group went down well with the bill payer i.e.me.
Beacuse we had a "set breaky" included with the room rate, it was even more pleasing to get a credit off the account for the A La Carte we ordered. SCORE!

Overall, this reasonable new facility ticks the boxes especially at the price charged. What little things they got wrong ( room key timed out at 10.00am insted of noon, reserved a table for 2 instead of 4 causing an extended wait for an availabe table) were well and truely off set with sweetners like the coffee and drink vouchers. As they get the right staff in place, they will improve - the new guy behind the bar/restaurant is a great start.

Thanks for a nice weekend Jephson.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
It’s very pleasing to see your stay ticked all the boxes for all the right reasons. We’ve worked hard to continue to fine tuning our operation, however we will continually drive to do better. It’s great to read your review and I appreciate your positives from the restaurant side of things. It’s great to see we’re making some great progress. You are certainly not the first customers to talk about the peaceful rooms. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Tom Blair-West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    80
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
52
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockyer Valley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed over a period of 7 weeks Nov thru Dec 2012 as it was close to Wesley Hospital. We found the breakfast (included with accommodation deal) great. Service was quick and the waitresses friendly. We found the food good quality (and steaks were excellent) with only one exception the Key Lime Pie (that had no lime cheesecake - just couldn't eat it as it was a dry mound). We ordered room service several times and meals arrived good temperature and quickly. They are slightly expensive. We went down one evening for drink at bar but was totally ignored by bar attendant so we didn't bother again.

Mini bar was replenished daily but we found the staff entered our room without knocking on several occasions. Room was quite clean although staff cleaning crockery etc in bathroom sink seems a bit yuck. Bathroom needs a bit better attention as EVERY room we stayed in had grey tide mark around the first tile layer and water marks build up on tiles. We had no problem with water in shower and it was good pressure.

Air conditioning was brilliant and quiet. Noise from the street wasn't a problem due to double glazing - however noise and light from under door to hallway was a problem at times.

Bed and pillows comfortable. Parking is great and always plenty of room.

Central lifts (two) need a revamp - carpet dirty and walls marked. But they worked quickly enough.

We had constant problems with bad service from front desk. Getting internet connection (which was included in package) to work was a nightmare and frankly we gave up some days. (We were trying to keep up with business while away from office). In room movie channels constantly had glitches as we were told trouble with the server. No one followed through when you made complaint to front desk to find out if it had been rectified to our satisfaction.

Value for money this close to the city was fantastic. Room was very spacious and well presented with desk to work at and arm chairs and lounge in most cases.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMAS4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Firstly we thank you for your feedback and despite a couple of service shortfalls we are pleased you found the accomodation rooms met your expectations. Our Bed and Breakfast packages are great value and the cooked breakfast a great way to start the day. We have a new restaurant team and new and inovative menues on board which we welcome you to come back and try.
We now have made some changes to the front office staff and have addressed many rooms related matters including broadband and the movie system both of which are operating correctly. We are confident we have addressed the issues from your feedback and really do appreciate you spending the time and interest to help us improve our hotel.

Kind Regards

Tom Blair-West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Upon arrival we checked into our room only to find out it wasnt what we had originally envisaged. No problem, we got upgraded to an apartment (we needed laundry facilities, which were offered on the room description on the internet for the room we originally booked) at no extra charge, terrific! The staff were great. The apartment was on the corner of a really busy intersection, but when the patio door was shut, it was instant peace! Another plus, and great sleeps! Pillows were really hard but we solved that. Rooms were serviced each day by really friendly housekeeping staff and shopping was only a minute away at the mall. There was plenty of room, tele in lounge and bedroom (great for cricket/super rugby season), good size fridge and a dining table. They also have the nicest complimentary shower gel I've ever used. All in all, I'll be back if I'm looking to stay in Brisbane again. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorty24121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Jephson Hotel,being a smaller property we do take the time to get things right no matter what it takes,so we are pleased your accomodation needs were met. One of the best features of our rooms is the simple fact that when the balcony door is closed the room is whisper quiet, a big thankyou to the developers for this feature.
Being a boutique hotel we do go to the effort of using guest room supplies which are not standard to other hotels,therefore ensuring our guests get an upmarket product to use and enjoy during their stay.
Thanks very much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Tom Blair-West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

What would you think of a modern hotel with cold showers and people who could care less working there? It was my misfortune to stay there for 3 nights. Breakfast in the resturant took 50 minutes to get to us, flies in the wine and a cold shower. When asked at the frant desk about the showers I was told "yeh even I stay here and it is a problem in some rooms"

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. Occasionally in restaurants there are service delays due to unexpected volume in business and we do apologise for this inconvenience, as we do with the wine issue. The restaurant team have been spoken to regarding these matters and the appropriate actions have been put in place to ensure this type of matter is avoided in future.
We are having our Maintenance team check all our showers in the hotel, again to ensure they are operating correctly. For further clarification we have instructions for the operation of the rooms shower on the shower wall.
Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for business -2 nights because of its proximity to the University. It was raining when we arrived at ~10am. The hotel has several car parking spots just steps from the lobby. You pull in your car under the cover of the garage and right there through the glass doors is the lobby. This was a great way to start our stay. Despite the pouring rain outside, the very small lobby was bright, trendy with a simple modern design. I did not expect to get my room so early, but the staff were very accomodating and so after they briefly checked with the cleaning staff, I had my room well before the usual check in time. This was a big plus.

Overall, I found the staff to be very friendly & helpful but a little inexpereienced and sometimes confused and contradictory in their information. They provided useful local advice for places to eat dinner and directions to the Citycat (to Brisbane). But when we went for our included breakfast, things got confused with some staff saying our breakfast was included and other saying it was not. This is not a good way to start the day before coffee. Our waitress took care of the mix up but it was a little annoying. Also annoying was having our breakfast choices so limited. I feel that if breakfast is included in a hotel stay that it shouldn't be restricted to very few choices or the cheapest breakfast on the menu. It makes the hotel come off as cheap. It is annoying to walk in for breakfast thinking you have already paid for breakfast only to find the breakfast you want is an extra $$$. The hotel would be better off to eliminate this breakfast option or be more generous and offer many more choices. Having said that, the cheap breakfast was artistically presented and tasty. It was a sort of upscale English eggy breakfast with flair, but not very filling. I left still hungry.

This place was much cheaper (better value) than staying in Brisbane and for our need to be near the university it had a good location. The access to the citycat was farther than I would have liked. The Citycat is a 20 minute walk along a very busy street. This cuts down on time for exploring in Brisbane. On the other hand, some of the local restaurants were great and probably more reasonable than in the city. Shopping is also a very close 2 minute walk away. There is a large mall nearby and the McDs has free wi-fi.

The room itself was average, nothing special, rather sparse and the bed was OK. Clean and modern fixtures.

If I went again, I would stay in Brisbane.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate you stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback. From your arrival we are pleased that the check in process was smooth and pleasant. As you are aware our proximity to the university is ideal for those conducting business there.
We have taken on board your concerns with the breakfast options in the restaurant by reviewing our complementary breakfast offered and including toast and cereal options.

All in all we are pleased that your stay was comfortable.
Again thankyou very much for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

The decor is pleasant but what I call Modern Bland. Nothing remarkable but clean and fresh. Sound proofing is good, parking is free and there is a decent hair-dryer in the room. (yay!) Aircon is quiet (Yay!)

Bed comfortable, pillows are so-so. Sound-proofing is very good which is needed as Sherwood Road is quite busy.

Location is very good with a short walk to a train station (Toowong), a fairly large shopping centre with David Jones as the anchor tenant, shops and cafes.

Breakfast was nice but kinda weird. No cereal or fruit. The server tried to charge me $5 extra for bottled juice which was reversed by reception. Just bacon and eggs and coffee on offer - that was it.

No pool or fitness facility.

Would I stay again? Probably if the price was the same as it is good value in a city where hotels are expensive. If their rates increase, maybe not.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Jephson Hotel and also taking the time to share your experience with us. Our BB packages as you know are excellent value and the breakfasts are very innovative and tasty, however the b’fast we include in our b&b rates is a hot b’fast and cereal and fruit are both available at an extra charge. Our well travelled Executive chef is constantly sourcing the freshest local produce to excite the taste buds, and create an awesome culinary experience.
Since your departure having taken on board what our guests are saying, we have negotiated with a 24 Health and Fitness centre across the road from us which will allow casual patronage at a very reasonable cost. We do have a relationship with another Toowong property that allows our guests to utilise their pool. This information is contained with the guest room compendium.
Again thank you for your review and our friendly team welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We recently stayed at here for two nights when our daughter got married. A number of family and friends also stayed here as the hotel was quite close to the wedding venue. All spoke positively of their experience. The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms were well equipped (iron, ironing board and a decent hairdryer - fistpump!) and a decent size which was needed for all the wedding paraphanalia.....dresses, suits, pressies etc. A large balcony with table & chairs was an added attraction.
Parking was another plus - most of us had rental cars. Checking in and out was effortless.
There were only two points of contention. Firstly, the pillows. These have to go. Very uncomfortable and most of us commented on this.
Secondly, the number of staff on hand at the weekend seemed to be at a minimum. We thought this odd as this is their busiest time.
Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyQw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomB007, General Manager at Jephson Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Jephson, we are all pleased you had a great stay.
Following up on guest feedback we have introduced a Pillow Option where you have the option of a firm or soft pillow for your bedding. We appreciate the feedback from our valued customers so we can identify any improvements we can make to ensure the guest experience is awesome.
Thanks once again for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#88 of 157 in Brisbane
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#77 of 157 in Brisbane
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
#138 of 157 in Brisbane
37 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#35 of 157 in Brisbane
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toowong Villas
Toowong Villas
#73 of 157 in Brisbane
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jephson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jephson Hotel

Property: Jephson Hotel
Address: 63 Jephson St | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jephson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish boutique hotel situated in Brisbane’s inner west, the Jephson Hotel brings to Toowong a versatile accommodation option for business, travel and leisure. Located in convenient proximity to the city centre, Jephson Hotel offers a range of contemporary, sophisticated accommodation options, from fully furnished standard rooms with en suites to a luxury three bedroom penthouse. Complemented by modest and attentive service, Jephson Hotel also features facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible, including a rooftop terrace, function and conference rooms, and free in-house movies. If looking to wine and dine, Jephson Hotel also caters to your needs with J's Restaurant and Bar. Secure car parking is offered to Hotel and Restaurant guests complimentary. The Jephson Hotel offers many transport option. Train, Bus, Taxi and Citycat are all within meters of the hotel, opening up quick and easy access to the CBD, South Bank, Suncorp Stadium, University of Queensland and the Wesley Hospitalre With all this, why stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jephson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing