We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing lunch experience”
Review of 63 Racecourse Rd

63 Racecourse Rd
Ranked #161 of 4,409 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very disappointing lunch experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I ordered tempura battered fish and chips - the batter was thick, heavy and overcooked. - not a bit like the light tempura batter advertised. The shoestring fries were soggy and greasy. It might have been early afternoon, rather than just at lunchtime, but that's no excuse for serving what seemed like a reheated meal. Would not go there again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank copim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    57
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“63 - a pass mark, but only just.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I paid $21 for a mug of coffee and breakfast - the meal simply called 'Gary's', which included too much salmon, not enough egg and two slices of underdone toast that looked to be from a supermarket loaf. The coffee was good, but the meal just didn't work. Service was adequate but I wouldn't describe it as friendly - the waitresses just kind of muttered the basics to get through the staff-customer interactions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Know what you're looking for”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This café offers excellent coffee and friendly staff - although sometimes inefficient. It's the best option for a quick stop, and takeaway coffee. If you are looking for gourmet breakfast, don't bother, as the food is not the forte of this place. Overpriced, with big portions, but lacking quality. Go for the simple stuff, don't be tempted by the creative names or a component that sounds good - you are going to be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ezequiel_Dorneles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diversity and coffee”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Whether it's just a coffee, hangover breakfast or cute lunch together I haven't been able to fault this place. Since discovering it late last year I have frequented this location regularly for all of the above.
There is a wide selection of food options, the breakfast menu is expansive at least, and the selection of daily specials is impressive. They offer a free glass of house wine with every main meal for lunch and dinner (impressive).
The staff are courteous and friendly, and all seem to represent a different part of the world.

The only problem I found was today getting a flat white instead of a cappuccino (first world problems).

Helpful?
1 Thank Squatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Coffee's ok, shame about the food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Look, 63 is not a bad place. Its coffee is actually not bad, you can sit outside and watch the world go by, and the service is fairly prompt and friendly. But I've had mixed experiences with the food. I've been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner over time (it's in my local area) and overall the food has been ok down to bad. For breakfast recently I ordered sausages - sadly one bite made me gag (it looked looked like a hot dog without the red skin, and boiled!) and I had to send it back. I've had bacon and eggs which are hard to mess up, and which were fine, but I've also had scrambled eggs which were fairly tasteless. The menu is extensive (which in itself makes me a bit nervous - how much is precooked out back?) and you can always get a seat even on busy days because the place is so big. To be honest I'll probably be back because it's convenient and, as I said, the coffee is ok, but there are heaps of better places to eat in Racecourse Road and I won't be ordering food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane_traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 63 Racecourse Rd also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to 63 Racecourse Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing