We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice food.”

Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #22 of 4,892 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been there about 4 times in the past year and have enjoyed it each time, There is a wide range of food and their "I am Hungry Menu" is a winner. Although Im not a desert eater my dining companions all enjoyed theirs, so perhaps save some room.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 382 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited Libertine last night and had a great night. The food was great and the service was fantastic. The staff were very attentative and we were never without a drink. We had the $55 seven course banquet special which was excellent. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We ate here in Mid December 2013 on a Friday lunch. We made a booking and when we arrived the table was ready. The food was fantastic and so reasonably priced!! Lot of people are saying that this restaurant is expensive! We paid $33 per head for 4 courses plus a glass of wine. Most restaurants you go to these days charge you $14 for a glass of wine so I thought this was great value. The service was brilliant. The staff could not have been more helpful. I would return to the restaurant any day. Well done - I just think that some people are hard to please!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Siera80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

As frequent travellers to both Vietnam and France (as you will see in my restaurant reviews), this combination of European and Asian fusion is a hit with us!

We went for the "I am hungry Menu" consisting of no less than 7 courses (min. 2 guests).
The bottle of Guffens French Rose was a fantastic accompaniment.

The starters were light and full of flavour, as the courses came through the signature dish must surely be the Pork Belly...

Having eaten Pork Belly's around the world, this would rate amongst the best ever tasted!

This sliced PB with a fantastic sauce & base of sweet potato really makes you want to go back to have the experience again (and again) and YES the crackling was to die for!

Since we are only here for a few more days, we will at least go back once just for this experience.

Service and explanation of dishes also first class and that together with a very classy decor makes this one of the restaurants that should have a BIG STAR!

What a way to end 2013! & come back again January 2, 2014

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The smallest mussels I have ever seen in my life. A true Frenchman would have choked on his garlic at the sight of these. I've seen bigger frozen peas.

Spring Rolls no better than the pre-packed stuff from the supermarket next door - hmmm, one wonders what packaging one would find in this place's wheelie bin - but at 20 times the cost.

A truly appalling experience, especially as one diner had a more than dodgy prawn - and was closely cross-examined as to what was wrong with it - before eventually being re-served with a 2 instead of the original 3 portion serving.

This place is so typical of so many Brisbane eateries. Two years ago it was good, if pricey. they get a reputation and WHAM; up go the prices, down go the size of the portions and the quality - AND THEY JUST CANNOT DELIVER COURSES AT THE SAME TIME! Gordon Ramsey does have a point. It's not rocket science to ensure that 4 people all receive their meals together. perhaps the fact only 2 other tables were occupied should have been the warning (12.10pm Saturday December 2013) but this place sucks. It's quite true what out of state commentators say. Brisbane should stage a competition for 'rip off restaurant of the year'. ALL the main names qualify.

BTW the dodgy prawn is doing what dodgy prawns do. I hope the owner and staff have the same meal themselves - every day for the next month. for the rest of us - AVOID.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank RWestney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing