We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, unusual, delicious”

Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #16 of 4,407 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Different, unusual, delicious”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The food was excellent, service good. The shared plates were all amazingly tasty - was that just our brilliant choices? Probably not. Wine prices somewhat exey. Music too loud - but that is probably just my age showing. But why, oh why, does a good place like this have such a terribly misspelt menu? Could they please, please, get a proof-reader before they reprint it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    83
    31
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here for the first time on Friday night as a party of six before heading down to Suncorp Stadium. Really great buzzy atmosphere, beautifully decorated room. Service was very friendly and helpful. There is a fairly small menu with the emphasis on tasting plates. We were unsure what to order and asked for a selection of chef's choices. We started of with some pork rolls and I was a little concerned that everyone would have enough to eat. No need for concern, dishes came at a beautifully measured pace.great variety of food, something for all palates. Nice wine list too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqui81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food; noisy.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a share platter place. Order plenty. Every dish we had was exquisite. The food really was very good, but it's very noisy. We went slightly late (by Brisbane standards, ie around 8.30 pm). Once the restaurant emptied out a bit, the noise levels died down and it was much better. A shame about the noise, detracts from really good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming and Intimate”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I received a voucher for Libertine as a gift and having heard so much about it I was excited to try it. It lived up to expectations, beautiful decor, amazing food, wonderful service and reasonably priced. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksonAndMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegant but expensive”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our party consisted of 4 ladies and we ordered 1 duck crepe to start and they were devine. For our main course we ordered 3 share plates thinking that would be enough but because it was only meat on the share plate we were all still quite hungry. The cheese platter was good but the wine list was overpriced and for the money we spent I do think we could've done better.
The decor inside is elegant but it's very noisy and outside is gorgeous if you're under the arbour but we had to ask to be seated there because the dodgy seat " in the street" we started with was awful..but they weren't impressed with our request to move.
I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing