We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home!!!”

Riverside Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Backpackers
Ranked #83 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

A friend and I came from Canada and only planned on staying here for 5 nights. The first day that we got here we instantly felt comfortable and at home! Mark and nick are amazing. Very friendly and full of information, if you need anything they will go out of their way to help you especially Mark! We stayed in a private room which was wonderful we had a queen bed which was super comfortable a huge tv with satellite and a DVD player. A dresser and night stand to store everything and even a veranda with a couch and a fridge. After spending the day with everyone and seeing what they had to offer we booked another 2 weeks.

Everyone at this hostel was so nice and layed back. It anyone was going out to do something fun they make sure everyone knew if you wanted to join. We had delicious bbq's..mark can sure cook some yummy food! At night everyone would hang outside have some drinks and socialize. Staying here was the first place where I felt at home since I left Canada! I would definitely come back!!!!! I am sad to leave these few weeks have flown by!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krlstln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here in June for 6 weeks while we were looking for our own place. The owner Nick picked us up from the airport for a fraction of the cost of a taxi at 10pm at night and took us to the hostel. When we got there we met mark who managers the place he checked us in and we wanted to pay on card for the room they don't take cards that's a heads up guys. There were no shops open nearby so he just said to sort it the next day and got us settled in our room for the night.
We stayed in a double room with our own foxtel, tv and DVD player! Completely unusual and a bonus for a hostel. We had free wifi, the kitchen was well equipped and no deposit for plates etc. there's loads of DVDs to borrow and two pcs that can be used of no cost. It was like a home away from home for us until we sorted ourselves out. We all used to go to steak night at a nearby hotel on a sunday night which was great and only 5 dollars. Its a ten min walk to ferry terminal or a two minute walk to bus stop to get into the city/south bank etc.
loved my stay here would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

What can i say, we were picked up from the Airport at a terrible 2am in the morning for a fraction of the price of a taxi and given a bed for the night since we were not due to check in till the next morning. Mark is the Manager and goes to any length to make your stay as smooth and as comfortable as possible. He really was a massive help. The place is just an extremely large house but has a large social area with computers and huge television and also kitchen facilities. It technically is a backpackers but certainly does not have the feel. Travelling as a couple we could not find anywhere that came close to this place for price!! Perfect for tarvellers on a budget. Close to the CBD and it is easy accessable by the seacat and has shops and resteraunts a short 10mins walk away.

Thanks to Mark for all your help and a brilliant stay. John and Stacy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 351maverick50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The staff were lovely, Mark even went out of his way and helped us look for work!
Free wifi (which is a bonus to find in Australia) free computer and Internet use on them!
Clean rooms!
Foxtel with all the channels!
5-10mins from the nearest supermarket/ pubs/restaurants in a pretty area!
Close to the river so you can get to the city via river transport!!
There is an oven which is rare to come across at backpackers!
Free laundry facilities!
Very cheap accomodation, overall very good value for money! We will be staying here again if we go back to Brisbane!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The guys who run this place are extremely helpful and friendly. Matt and Nick went above and beyond to help my friend and I get to the train station. They also offer airport pick-up, which is great because they are not located in the city. On the downside, our room (located downstairs in the "garage") was very dusty--my allergies were not happy with this. The guys offered us a new doona, but it still didn't help. The bathroom and refrigerator down there were also not very clean. These are two great guys with the potential for a really cool backpacker's, but they've got some work ahead of them to bring it up to par.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMonkey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Friendly , down to earth people ; great value for backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahhhhhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

I would never recommend this "hostel", it feels like you're staying in a house with some random stoned dudes. Our room was disgusting, bed sheets were filthy, blinds on the windows were moldy. And we are NOT high maintenance. The room next door was so messy, everything was just lying around, like a bomb hit it moments ago. Also not the best location - CBD was about 30 mins away (by bus, because the CityCat terminals were closed at that time).
The only plus is free internet and free DVDs. But deffinitely not worth the price. Please avoid!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hrcksmrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Number 12
Number 12
#4 of 61 in Brisbane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
3.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 127 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 127 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
1.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Backpackers

Property: Riverside Backpackers
Address: 327 Hawthorne Road, Brisbane, Queensland 4141, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE THE AUSSIE LIFESTYLEYOUR HOME AWAY FROM HOMEAt riverside backpackers we pride ourselves on the Aussie style way of living, With a comfortable environment of a house rather than a prison style hostel. We are close to Brisbane's hottest Clubs and Restaurants, and just a stones throw over the river to Brisbane CBD. We have FREE WIRELESS internet and Cable Television, FREE laundry and bbq facilities, Airport pickups are available upon request. We hope to see you soon. :)CHECK INS ARE AT 1pm, CHECK OUTS AT 11amMATT: 0438 821 028NICK: 0411 565 586 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing