We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$127
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
ibis Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$153
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$147
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$93
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
543
103
31
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
103
31
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barboutique hotelhonesty barstory bridgethe main hotellovely boutiquehigh teasmall hotelbrunswick streetfarm parkjames streetnespresso machinequiet streetinner citybreakfast was deliciouslittle toucheswonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 700 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at Spicers Balfour for one night for business, and it was like my own little oasis in Brisbane. The property is small and intimate, the staff are incredibly lovely and caring. Food was excellent, great value and the rooms are stylish and immaculate. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

On arrival, our welcome was absolutely perfect - the best we have ever had at any hotel. We were met by the night manager who was cheerful, friendly and very helpful (even at 8pm!). He showed us around the property and promptly arranged for night canapes in the rooftop bar, which made us feel so much better after having had issues with our flights getting to Brisbane.

We stayed in Room 2, which although small, was fitted out with quality items - waterfall showerhead, lovely bathroom accessories, organic minibar food, espresso machine etc. At this stage, the only issue with the room was that the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't seem to turn off and went on all night.

The next morning, we were awoken by what felt like a stampede of people heading to the restaurant. We hadn't realised that it was open to the public at breakfast AND in the Entertainment Book. When we arrived for breakfast, there was no balcony or outdoor seating left and with the crowds, we ended up waiting almost an hour for our food to arrive.

We felt that this situation really could have been better managed by telling us in advance the best time to come in for breakfast to avoid the delays and that we would need to reserve a table on the balcony as no preference whatsoever is given to hotel guests as opposed to general members of the public who stop in. With all the information that the night manager had given us the night before - it seemed as if he missed that one piece of information that could have avoided a really disappointing morning.

We chose Spicers Balfour based on all the good reviews and were looking forward to a truly boutique and intimate experience. Unfortunately, the breakfast debacle was so annoying and we felt just like any other walk-in that it undid the good of the night before and we are unlikely to return at this price point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ETH856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Attended a surprise 50th birthday celebration in the restaurant and stayed overnight. The service was excellent, the roof top bar (where the surprise was revealed) was spectacular. The food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was heavenly. The staff were friendly and attentive. Definitely intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were warmly welcomed by their very friendly and efficient staff and taken on a quick tour of the premises. Rooms whilst small are very cleverly designed and extremely comfortable, especially the bed! Located in an inner city suburb it is within close walking distance to a variety of restaurants and shops.

A gift my the kidlets, just one night, but oh so relaxing. Package included a 2 course meal, so we ate in! The menu choice was excellent, and we had some difficulty in making a decision, but we chose well .. it was absolutely delicious. Could not fault the first two courses, so naturally we over indulged and had 3 :D.

Breakfast was to die for .. again we over indulged, but hey we were on a break!

Would recommend for a couple or a single looking for somewhere quiet, relaxing and intimate.

BTW there is a rooftop terrace with bar that overlooks the city, great views at night. We enjoyed out pre dinner drinks and canapes here (included in tariff).

Room Tip: Rooms are small but practical Parking is tight but ok No fridge in room, although there is one up the hall Nespresso machine in room . win !
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank keelawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed for one night recently and definitely intend to return. Even though Spicers are growing their business, their is nothing production 'chain' about their properties, apart from quiet, consistent, excellence.

The rooms are lovely, quality throughout including the bath/shower mats, best yet! Nice thick and fluffy. Bed was dreamy, no expense spared. LOVED the on tap cold water and boiling water. There is no fridge, however, I didn't miss it at all, and there is one immediately outside the room.

Dinner was spot on, the Sous Chef did a wonderful job of the scallops they were perfectly cooked, salad delightfully fresh, and dressed. Maria and Kirsten did a great job of entertaining me as I was dining on my own, both passionate about customer service. Alex was quick witted, engaging, and totally dedicated to making sure my stay was nothing less than perfect, nothing seemed too much trouble.

This boutique hotel has a feel for me of my home away from home. I felt thoroughly comfortable and relaxed, there was no snobbish haughtiness, yet had flair, style, and class.

Most definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msqMackay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear msqMackay

Your review made our day. Alex, Maria, Yassa and Kirsten really enjoyed your kind feedback.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and what we have on offer. I always say that the personable touch of our team that is unpretentious is what separates us from the rest. We really enjoy the property and love to share her with our guest, our guest always becomes part of the family that creates the homely feeling instilled in our properties foundation.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warmest Regards
Willie & Team Balfour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews