We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Balfour Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Restaurant Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a table of 11 for my dads 70th Birthday and wanted to try somewhere different and came across the Spicers restaurant. The food was exceptional and the service terrific. It seems the staff went to that extra effort where ever they could, creating a great dining experience in the courtyard.
My dad who has little faith in restaurants, given a string of mediocre overpriced meals elsewhere, stated that his experience at Spicers had “restored his faith in restaurants.”
Everybody left with a smile on their face and we will all definitely be back and would recommend to others.
Special thanks to Andrea and Kirsten.
Cheers,
Terry

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Terry

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad we could be part of your dad’s special day. I always say to my team that service and attention to detail is what lacks in most restaurants and that we should strive to deliver the basics. Service and attention to detail is not to be asked, it’s a given! Kirsten and Andrea was very pleased that they restored your dad`s faith in restaurants and had the opportunity to look after you and your family.
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes
Willie & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    89
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
43
395
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I can see why you are 5 star SELF rated and not triple A acredited as if you were triple A you would have specific critera too meet.You meet few of the criteria.Small rooms no fridge in rooms no where to hang your clothes in bathrooms air conditioning turned off in the night iced water didnt work.We stayed in room 3 right by the stairs and restaurant very noiisy.The most upsetting thing was that we asked for dessert and coffee at 8.30am only to be told sorry we are fully booked and too busy.We had seen plenty of empty tables downstairs, We had to wonder if we meet there standards to old couldnt be bothered not dressed well enough this is how we were left to feelSo at 8.30 we were stuck in our rooms very hungry and upset listening to everyone else in the restaurant having a lovely evening.We would have gone into the city but didnt want our parking space taken.I did get an apology from the waitress that turned us away when i went out for some fresh air she said Sorry love didnt realise you were guests when your carm come back up for dessert and coffee.Not good enough by then felt like just wanted to pack my bags and go home.We did complain and were offered free breakfast or high tea on our next visit.I was also to get an email explaining why this happened but as yet havnt received .Would never stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Hazel

Thank you for providing your feedback to us and my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can assure you that we don’t judge any of our guests that join us for dinner by their age or the way they dress but my apologies if you felt this way. Hopefully you have received my email that will answer your questions regarding Andrea`s response that we were fully booked. Hazel, my team and I live for our guests and meeting your expectations. I always believe that if somebody or a business does not live up to your expectations that they should be given the opportunity to at least try and regain your faith. Please email me at gm.balfour@spicersgroup.com.au and given the opportunity I will do my very best to restore your faith in us.

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Staff & breakfast were great. Dinner - average-good. Very dark and small room with no fridge in room. No bath (courtyard room), no cable TV, no communal pool, gym, spa, etc. A shower curtain for the bathroom door. We stayed in room 9, which may be the disabled room as there was a seat in the shower. The dark furnishings and tiles show dirt easily, door to corridor not very soundproof. I would recommend the Emporium over here any day. It just didn't seem 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Jenny

I am very pleased you enjoyed my team and breakfast. Thank you for providing us with feedback of your stay. You are right Jenny, we do not offer a pool or a gym at the property and do not advertise that we do. I always say that Spicers Balfour Hotel offers a home away from home, warm service and a place where you become part of the Spicers family. A nine bedroom boutique hotel that offers a stay in a Queenslander that is part of Queensland’s history, a property that has won an award globally for its design where you can come and stay in an unpretentious environment. We offer a awarded breakfast, high tea and dinner with a beautiful view from our rooftop bar of the city and Brisbane`s iconic story bridge. Arms reach from the city and staying in Newfarm with great access to James street boutique shops and restaurants. We also have a massage room that our guests use to really rejuvenate and relax. Staying with us you are not just a number but Jenny.

Thank you again for providing your feedback Jenny, we take feedback seriously and do everything within reason to ensure we deliver your expectations.

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Such an amazing hotel, staff could not do enough. Breakfast was 1st class. Fabulous view from roof top bar. Just wish we could have stayed longer. Could not recommend more highly. Great location, easy access to the city on free city ferry, lovely way to see the city, but a short walk if you prefer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Nicola

Thank you for choosing us for you stay in Brisbane, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you on your next visit to Australia.
My team live and breathe service and work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and become part of the Spicers family.

Next time we will book you in for a week!

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wow is all I can say. My husband booked this hotel, and what a fantastic place. I had no expectations. The staff were the best I've encountered in a hotel so far. The hotel itself with rooftop bar, was gorgeous and the food, well that too was amazing. So glad we stayed in for dinner. The breakfast was amazing also. Room wasn't large but decorated nicely and the bed so comfy. Great mini bar too. Loved it so much signed up for the Spicers newsletter.

Room Tip: We had room 1. Was good. Did hear a little noise from restaurant as room is at bottom of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have just spent 3 nights at the Spicers Balfour Hotel in New Farm attending a conference. Thoroughly enjoyable time. So close to a wide variety of restaurants and to the beautiful New Farm Park and the Brisbane River. The staff are so friendly and helpful especially Alex and Jamie. Our room (no. 6) though not the largest, is at the back of the house and was quiet, peaceful and the bed is oh so comfortable. Breakfast is delicious with a wide selection to cater for all tastes. We also had dinner on 2 nights of our stay and they are absolutely top quality. In walking distance are many other dining options. I highly recommend this hotel and would happily stay here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toomanygems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We liked the new farm quarter very much and used the possibility to jog along the nice Brisbane riverfront! The area is full of lovely coffee shops and interesting bars. The hotel is just great and we enjoyed the luxury family stay! Unfortunatel only one night but enough to have a glas of wine on the rooftoop which is only for the hotel guests and the staff is fantastic able to read all wishes from the guest eyes! The room size was ok for us and spezifically we liked the nespresso coffeemaker which feels like home as a Swiss couple. Additionally they care about all details like chocolate on the pillows....just an awsom place

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing