We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$157
$152
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$124
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal On The Park(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$116
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Albert Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$124
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$79
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$102
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
547
106
31
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
106
31
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barboutique hotelhonesty barstory bridgethe main hotellovely boutiquehigh teasmall hotelbrunswick streetfarm parkjames streetnespresso machinequiet streetinner citybreakfast was deliciouslittle toucheswonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 707 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Staff & breakfast were great. Dinner - average-good. Very dark and small room with no fridge in room. No bath (courtyard room), no cable TV, no communal pool, gym, spa, etc. A shower curtain for the bathroom door. We stayed in room 9, which may be the disabled room as there was a seat in the shower. The dark furnishings and tiles show dirt easily, door to corridor not very soundproof. I would recommend the Emporium over here any day. It just didn't seem 5 star.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Jenny

I am very pleased you enjoyed my team and breakfast. Thank you for providing us with feedback of your stay. You are right Jenny, we do not offer a pool or a gym at the property and do not advertise that we do. I always say that Spicers Balfour Hotel offers a home away from home, warm service and a place where you become part of the Spicers family. A nine bedroom boutique hotel that offers a stay in a Queenslander that is part of Queensland’s history, a property that has won an award globally for its design where you can come and stay in an unpretentious environment. We offer a awarded breakfast, high tea and dinner with a beautiful view from our rooftop bar of the city and Brisbane`s iconic story bridge. Arms reach from the city and staying in Newfarm with great access to James street boutique shops and restaurants. We also have a massage room that our guests use to really rejuvenate and relax. Staying with us you are not just a number but Jenny.

Thank you again for providing your feedback Jenny, we take feedback seriously and do everything within reason to ensure we deliver your expectations.

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Such an amazing hotel, staff could not do enough. Breakfast was 1st class. Fabulous view from roof top bar. Just wish we could have stayed longer. Could not recommend more highly. Great location, easy access to the city on free city ferry, lovely way to see the city, but a short walk if you prefer.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Nicola

Thank you for choosing us for you stay in Brisbane, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you on your next visit to Australia.
My team live and breathe service and work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and become part of the Spicers family.

Next time we will book you in for a week!

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wow is all I can say. My husband booked this hotel, and what a fantastic place. I had no expectations. The staff were the best I've encountered in a hotel so far. The hotel itself with rooftop bar, was gorgeous and the food, well that too was amazing. So glad we stayed in for dinner. The breakfast was amazing also. Room wasn't large but decorated nicely and the bed so comfy. Great mini bar too. Loved it so much signed up for the Spicers newsletter.

Room Tip: We had room 1. Was good. Did hear a little noise from restaurant as room is at bottom of stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have just spent 3 nights at the Spicers Balfour Hotel in New Farm attending a conference. Thoroughly enjoyable time. So close to a wide variety of restaurants and to the beautiful New Farm Park and the Brisbane River. The staff are so friendly and helpful especially Alex and Jamie. Our room (no. 6) though not the largest, is at the back of the house and was quiet, peaceful and the bed is oh so comfortable. Breakfast is delicious with a wide selection to cater for all tastes. We also had dinner on 2 nights of our stay and they are absolutely top quality. In walking distance are many other dining options. I highly recommend this hotel and would happily stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toomanygems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We liked the new farm quarter very much and used the possibility to jog along the nice Brisbane riverfront! The area is full of lovely coffee shops and interesting bars. The hotel is just great and we enjoyed the luxury family stay! Unfortunatel only one night but enough to have a glas of wine on the rooftoop which is only for the hotel guests and the staff is fantastic able to read all wishes from the guest eyes! The room size was ok for us and spezifically we liked the nespresso coffeemaker which feels like home as a Swiss couple. Additionally they care about all details like chocolate on the pillows....just an awsom place

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Schrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews