We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skeptical but quickly won us over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Valley Mills, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Skeptical but quickly won us over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Area around New Farm was a bit different for us and weren't crazy about old apt complex next door that seemed a bit seedy. Not their fault now is it? Our room was so small that I jokingly told my husband that my horses stall in the barn was bigger. But before long I was captured by the funky, new age Austin like vibe of the area. Great restaurants, shopping, parks. Now the hotel, although the room was tiny it was well appointed, urban feel and the staff was absolutely the best! Breakfast was a wonderful treat and can't wait for dinner tonight. Yes, I would come back and stay here in a heartbeat. Not only that we mainly ran into locals that choose to come here for a stay. Alex was most helpful and a great source of information.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yellowrosetexas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    90
    25
    15
    3
See reviews for
44
399
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This little 9 bedroom hotel was a real surprise package for us. Really great location in New Farm and within easy walking distance to may facilities. Good access to Brisbane river shore for a morning walk as well. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The Balfour's restaurant provided yummy food for breakfast and dinner. Rooms were well appointed and their size was okay. Car parking was at the rear of the hotel - very convenient. They are planning to expand with another nearby hotel and if they keep this formula going it will also be a winner - well done Spicers Balfour!!!

Room Tip: Would expect all 9 rooms to be similarly well set up and conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chambo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Have stayed here a few times now and are welcomed back like friends, the staff can not do enough to make you feel at home, if you are looking for big rooms that are impersonal then don't book spicers, it is a boutique hotel that makes every guest feel like the only guest, the breakfasts are amazing and dinner is right up there with the very best restaurants in the city, the staff are an absolute credit to the management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dooseyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great service started from check in and our room was luxuriously appointed and spotlessly clean. The rooftop bar made a great way to enjoy the oncoming evening and the canapés were tasty and plentiful. The chef excelled with the tastiest pork belly that melted in your mouth. The salmon main course was magnificent and the desserts were unique and delicious. We were celebrating our work Christmas party and everyone had good feedback on the service and facilities. The breakfast after a good sleep in was very well received. Checkout is an unhurried 11am. The stairs from the reception to the rooftop may be an issue for some. There is an elevator platform to manage the stairs from the entrance to reception, if you want to use it. Nothing was a problem for their guests and they made ever one feel extra special. Staff took the time to explain facilities and the honour bar meant that you never had to wait for a drink if the staff just happened to be absent for a minute. Highly recommended and added to our "stay again" list.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Just like a luxury home away from home. We had a very nice and cosy stay. You're made to feel at home and very welcome by the staff. Free parking is offered. The food is fantastic and the roof top bar with Canapés is fantastic watching the sunset.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Spicershotels, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dearest Heath W

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely hosting you on your stay. Always nice to have such a lovely couple stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed the complimentary parking and Canapés as part of your stay. Peter (Head Chef) enjoyed reading your comment about the fantastic food and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Warmest Regards
Willie Smuts & Team Balfour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I loved our time at Balfour and found it to be everything we expected and more. We have stayed at all the Spicers retreats, they are all different yet always impressive. Quality fit outs, excellent service, friendly staff and delicious 5 star food. Our room was cosy, restful and romantic. The bed felt like we were sleeping on a cloud.
We didn't leave the hotel as it was all too good, as always a great experience.
Well done for providing something unique in Brisbane.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

There is a group of major hotels that has the laudable philosophy “You come as a guest, return as a friend and come back as family”. Spicers Balfour manages somehow to short circuit that with ease.
My wife and I spent just one night there and left knowing that we had immediately acquired a new and entrancing extended family of smiling experts in hospitality. It starts with the ball of enthusiastic efficiency that is Willie Smuts, the affable South African GM and extends to every smiling, can do, member of staff whom we encountered.

Everywhere there is evidence of attention to the smallest detail and the quest for excellence. From the charming rooftop bar with views over Brisbane, where we had canapés and cocktails before going to our table nestled in the trees where we enjoyed a splendid dinner and truly excellent service.

Our room on the main floor had a veranda, also amongst the trees, with comfortable easy chairs and a dining table. We were delighted to see a spout dispensing filtered, very hot or cold water at a touch and a Nespresso machine for our use. We mentioned that there were no Ristretto capsules, but when we returned to our room there they were, along with the extensive breakfast menu, a turned down, very comfortable king bed, chocolates on the splendid pillows and our veranda table laid with good linen ready for us in the morning.

When we rang to have our brekker things cleared it was Willie himself who came to do it. No wonder we cannot wait to go back to see our new family and for a longer stay and to sample some of the other fascinating establishments in this delightful group.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing