We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay in the courtyard room, it was well decorated, modern, clean and equiped with a safe, Bosse sound system, tv, Nespresso machine, hot & cold water billi. Decent size bathroom with a rain shower and nice toiletries. A very comfortable large bed with a selection of pillows. Outside the view is a very tiny bamboo/pebble garden with a very tall grey wall backdrop, this complements the trendy boutique style and provides visual privacy.

The breakfast was superb! A selection of fruit, yoghurt, cerials, breads and a choice of mouth watering cooked delights, my favourite was the spring omelettes. The roof top bar is a must with great views of the city and Story bridge.

It is approximately a 20 min walk from the hotel to Queen street or a 10 min walk to the nearest ferry station. City Hopper provides a free ferry service and runs every 30 mins. We found it easy to get around on foot, although it is quite hilly. There are some great eating establishments around the New Farm area.

The staff were friendly and attentive. I would not hesitate in recommending this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitti0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 658 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in this modernised BnB last night - as the pics show this is a beautiful old Queenslander that has been decked out in the latest uber cool decor & rooms. Infact we are referring to this as a BnBnB = Bed & Breakfast & Bar
Don't stay in the big hotel option when you can stay at Balfours - I stay in a lot of 5* hotels for work & have to say i was thoroughly happy with my experience at Balfours - beautiful renovation, great personable service (thanks Corey), great location with on trend restaurants in walkable distance, cute rooftop bar & complimentary canapes at 6pm, great inclusive b/fast menu which offers options above the usual - i often avoid breakfast in hotels but this menu offers variety

With notice Balfours were happy to accommodate friends joining for drinkies at the rooftop bar & also family joining us for breakie - note: good access/chair lift for elderly patrons

We loved the personal touches: drinking Verve on the rooftop with views of the Story bridge (would be great for fireworks), the old school turn down service with Choc on pillow when we got home

Balfours has quality inclusions: beautiful comfy beds, pillow selection, Nespresso machine, quality room decor, innercity location however quiet residential street, good aircon throughout (important for Qld summer)

Thanks Balfours - we look forward to booking the High Tea on our next stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Francesfromsydney,

Thank you for your delightful feedback, you brightened our day!

Our chef takes pride in breakfast and ensures that it's a little outside the norm, but from heart. With a menu that changes seasonally, the team have fun creating new flavour combinations. Their spring Omelette with ashed goats cheese, sweet potato and caramelised is a hit with most diners.

When we welcome you next, our mint garden will be well established and ready to be picked. Fresh mint tea and high tea go hand in hand!

Warm regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights and couldn't fault the service. From the time we arrived until we checked out, the staff were always willing to assist with any request.
Canapes on the roof top were a great way to unwind and think about where to dine for dinner. The staff were also very helpful with dining suggestions.
A good selection of food on the breakfast menu.
Our room was very clean, tidy and relaxing. The inroom nespresso machine was handy to have.
Only downside is no in-room fridge, however we didn't find this to be a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosco_FNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Rosco_FNQ,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. The team were thrilled to hear your comments, it's just as important to understand what's in and around our local area as it is within the hotel. We love food and love recommending our favourite places to eat in the New Farm area.

Thank you for your comments also on the fridge in the room. We are pleased to advise that our honour bar fridge system will be up next time you choose to return (we did highlight this in another review for install in November, but we encountered a few set backs with receiving a fridge delivery & construction hence why you may have missed this in your last stay) This will allow guests to have access to a fridge to either store items, or even have access to fresh milk or the opportunity to select a favourite wine, beer or soft drink.

Thank you again for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon
Regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for our first two nights in Australia. We absolutely loved our stay and it was a wonderful introduction to a fabulous country. We arrived early in the morning after an overnight trans-Pacific flight, in time to enjoy the wonderful breakfast. Staff were very warm and welcoming and kept our luggage while we went out exploring whilst our room was prepared. The location is great, it is close to shops and restaurants in New Farm as well as access to City buses and the City Cat ferry wharves at New Farm Park or Sydney Street (buy a GO card, the individual fares are steep). The hotel was about a 20 minute walk from the Airtrain Fortitude Valley station, which was also handy. As a runner, I appreciated the hotel's location in a residential neighborhood, it was great fun to run through the neighborhood to New Farm Park and along the river walking trails. Staff were very helpful in recommending good restuarants and also provided detailed, easy to follow directions for getting to main local attractions by City bus.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You need to stay here to experience what a wonderfull hotel it is. Right smack bang in the heart of everything. The prices are up there but you get what you pay for. The rooms were amazing and that was match the the staff and the food in the restaurant. WOW

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The garden courtyard room we had was small and looked out onto a close tall brick wall. You could only see the sky looking upwards. It felt like a dungeon. Very overpriced, how could it advertise as 5 star when it didn't even have a fridge.? If this hotel is rated no 1 in Brisbane there must be some awful hotels there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Kingstontasmania,

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent visit to Spicers Balfour Hotel. As a boutique hotel within the bones of an old Queenslander, we do understand some rooms are smaller than others, so we highly recommend our guests take advantage of the main areas such as the study nook, front verandah or our rooftop bar. Should you be travelling to Brisbane again we would like to upgrade your next stay in our Terrace suite. It features its own private terrace with room for an outdoor lounge area, separate bath and shower and is the largest room within the hotel. Ideal for couples and romantic getaways.
In regards to fridges in rooms, we did intentionally leave these out due to noise levels of the motors. However we have noted that having access to a fridge is still important to our guests. I am pleased to advise that we are installing a central fridge accessible from just outside any room. Installation is scheduled for the 15th Nov.
Thank you again for your feedback, please don't hesitate to contact me personally before your next visit to Brisbane so we can arrange for you to experience the Terrace suite.

Regards
Matt

Matthew Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a special place! Stylish and full of character.

Our bedroom was lovely and suited our purposes as we were out for most of the day. What a great idea to have a milk frother machine in the bedroom so you can make a proper cup of coffee.

Breakfast was amazing. Vegetarians (even those that do not eat eggs) have a hot option to hand. The oven roasted mushrooms were really yummy.

The rooftop bar area was nicely decorated and has a great view.

A special thanks to:
1. The lovely ladies who did the breakfast service. Professional and yet so nice.
2. Alex for his wit, wisdom, knowledge and engaging personality. Keep up the reading and the good work.
3. The bird that used to wake us up early every morning! Thanks for giving us a break on our last day.

This hotel was perfect in every way which will make it harder to find another that matches up to its high standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cupofcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear cupofcharlie,

We were delighted to read your review, it was a great start to our morning, thank you. We take pride in ensuring our guests feel at home and often say its like hosting our closest friends and family each day. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding our breakfast and coffee.
We found out that the bird calling was a local bower bird trying to impress a special female friend. We also hope he was successful in winning her over. Amazing to see wildlife so close to the city!

Your kind words have been appreciated by the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards
Matt

Matthew Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 169 in Brisbane
1,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 169 in Brisbane
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#28 of 169 in Brisbane
2,900 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $147 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing