We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You need to stay here to experience what a wonderfull hotel it is. Right smack bang in the heart of everything. The prices are up there but you get what you pay for. The rooms were amazing and that was match the the staff and the food in the restaurant. WOW

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Spicers Balfour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 637 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The garden courtyard room we had was small and looked out onto a close tall brick wall. You could only see the sky looking upwards. It felt like a dungeon. Very overpriced, how could it advertise as 5 star when it didn't even have a fridge.? If this hotel is rated no 1 in Brisbane there must be some awful hotels there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Kingstontasmania,

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent visit to Spicers Balfour Hotel. As a boutique hotel within the bones of an old Queenslander, we do understand some rooms are smaller than others, so we highly recommend our guests take advantage of the main areas such as the study nook, front verandah or our rooftop bar. Should you be travelling to Brisbane again we would like to upgrade your next stay in our Terrace suite. It features its own private terrace with room for an outdoor lounge area, separate bath and shower and is the largest room within the hotel. Ideal for couples and romantic getaways.
In regards to fridges in rooms, we did intentionally leave these out due to noise levels of the motors. However we have noted that having access to a fridge is still important to our guests. I am pleased to advise that we are installing a central fridge accessible from just outside any room. Installation is scheduled for the 15th Nov.
Thank you again for your feedback, please don't hesitate to contact me personally before your next visit to Brisbane so we can arrange for you to experience the Terrace suite.

Regards
Matt

Matthew Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a special place! Stylish and full of character.

Our bedroom was lovely and suited our purposes as we were out for most of the day. What a great idea to have a milk frother machine in the bedroom so you can make a proper cup of coffee.

Breakfast was amazing. Vegetarians (even those that do not eat eggs) have a hot option to hand. The oven roasted mushrooms were really yummy.

The rooftop bar area was nicely decorated and has a great view.

A special thanks to:
1. The lovely ladies who did the breakfast service. Professional and yet so nice.
2. Alex for his wit, wisdom, knowledge and engaging personality. Keep up the reading and the good work.
3. The bird that used to wake us up early every morning! Thanks for giving us a break on our last day.

This hotel was perfect in every way which will make it harder to find another that matches up to its high standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cupofcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear cupofcharlie,

We were delighted to read your review, it was a great start to our morning, thank you. We take pride in ensuring our guests feel at home and often say its like hosting our closest friends and family each day. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding our breakfast and coffee.
We found out that the bird calling was a local bower bird trying to impress a special female friend. We also hope he was successful in winning her over. Amazing to see wildlife so close to the city!

Your kind words have been appreciated by the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards
Matt

Matthew Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a fabulous stay at this wonderful little boutique hotel! Nothing was too much trouble. Staff so helpful, and welcoming! Drinks on the rooftop terrace with canapés was a lovely start to the night! A great sleep was then followed by the most amazing breakfast! Coming from Sydney I was not that excited about visiting Brisbane! I have been very surprised with the great areas to visit, and the food gas been amazing ! We will be back for another visit!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHONDA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights, which coincided (by accident) with Brisbane's "Riverfire" celebration, which meant our package included a special dinner.

We both felt it was one of the most stylish hotels we have ever stayed in, and the service from Matt and the team was simply top notch. Drinks and canapes in the upstairs bar were a fantastic way to kick off an evening, and the cooked breakfast was superb.

I see that a previous reviewer commented on the wooden stairs. We didn't experience any problems in that regard but can report that the stairs were being carpeted on the day we left.

Just so impressed with the thought that has gone into the design and fit-out of the property, and also with the staff recruitment and training.

As NSW residents we have already got our sights set on Spicer's Hunter Valley property!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurfTycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arranged our stay to coincide with our wedding anniversary. Sarah and the Spicers team arranged everything from chocolates, flowers massages and dinner reservations, to ensure our stay was PERFECT.

The facilities are fantastic and the staff the friendliest I've met anywhere. If in Brisbane for business or a well earned getaway, you will not find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_H_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had stayed a month ago at Spicers Balfour I booked a courtyard room (the larger version) I thought it was decorated lovely and spotless. The let down came to the noise and lack of soundproofing you hear nothing but doors slamming shut and staff and guests trapsing up and down the wooden stairs and hall you hear every conversation and every footstep. It is very unfortunate as because of this as I wont be returning. I think something could be done to improve this by either carpeting the floors, and getting better door hinges. Unfortunatly the layout of the hotel is not very good as the central point is the reception/restaraunt and access to rooftop bar has you hearing everything so dont count on peacefullness. Also I would like to add the courtyard rooms are divided by a screen so unfortunatly I had noisy ameriacan guests next to my room who opened up there doors wide, they spoke so loud and tv noise was terrible plus they smoked. All in all lovely interior but soundproofing big let down.

Room Tip: if booking a courtyard room ask for the larger size room with a lounge otherwise you will most likel...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieLoneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Spicers Balfour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Aussielonetraveller,

Thank you for your feedback. Our entire team strive for 'great' so we appreciate every little piece of feedback that we can learn from and improve upon. We have recognised that our wooden stairs, whilst they look great and are a statement have created a decent amount of noise in the past. Some great news, we are carpeting the entire hotel throughout especially on all staircases, with installation scheduled for the 1st October. We believe this will reduce noise travelling to guests rooms.

Aussielonetraveller, if you are looking at travelling back to Brisbane, please feel free to contact me directly, so I can take care of your stay and ensure you receive your favourite room everytime.

Regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 168 in Brisbane
1,180 reviews
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 168 in Brisbane
2,774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 168 in Brisbane
2,402 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $165 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing