We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel in New Farm, fantastic rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Balfour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in New Farm, fantastic rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed here for one night on a business trip.

The hotel looks brand new and is set in a Queenslander on an otherwise anonymous, quiet street in New Farm. Both the library and the upstairs bar were great and well stocked.

The staff were fantastic and showed me to my room personally. The room was great (if a bit small compared to similarly priced rooms), with immaculate furniture and bedding.

The promised Nespresso machine was present and is a great touch, as was the Bose sound system. Couldn't find the iPod dock though.

The bathroom and shower were great and the complimentary toiletries were premium. The cooked breakfast in the morning is a la carte and restaurant quality.

The only downside of the property seems to be the location, but it's closer to the city than it appears. Definitely worth considering if you're visiting the Valley.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryancropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    89
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
43
395
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Terrific, very comfortable, clean and with great staff who obviously care for the hotel in every sense. I won't repeat everything in the reviews above ... But I agree with them.

I would add though that the breakfasts are to die for! I thought the Four Seasons, Istanbul, Sunday brunch was the tops but It has been topped by the Balfour breakfast .... Admittedly simpler but brilliant!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooksbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We got a special discounted opening deal and we were delighted by what we found. While it's in an area we wouldn't normally stay in, we've been so disappointed by 5 star hotels in Brisbane we've been looking for something else.

It's in a quiet suburban street, but just around the corner there's a selection of good restaurants. It's a short cab ride to the city. This used to be an old queenslander but there's nothing period about the renovation. It's all glam sophistication and restrained elegance, muted colours, quality finishes, quiet luxury.

We got the front room with french doors opening onto a spacious furnished verandah, perfect for relaxing. The room itself was a little squeezy - particularly the barely adequate entrance/desk space but they made up for it in other ways. It had a proper coffee machine. Splendid bed with luxe linens and pillows.There's a decent bathroom with quality fittings. Toiletries worth taking home. A lit magnifying make up mirror. T2 tea bags. Bose sound system (which unfortunately didn't play my ipod for mysterious reasons). They even provided a proper steam iron - not one of those nasty hotel ones that threaten to burn/stain your clothes. It's clear these people know that details count.

There's a small upstairs bar with a view of the bridge and they laid on the nibbles with drinks. The service was unfailingly helpful, cheerful and polite. The breakfast was spectacularly good, and sitting out on the sun drenched verandah with a good coffee and some excellent bircher and fruit made me wonder if we'd ever put up with those other Brisbane hotels again.

But yes, some drawbacks. Worst of all was the inadequate gym. just one bike and a few weights... hmm. And the shower leaked water on the floor, but they did provide copious towels and floor mats... We'll be back, but wonder if we can afford it once the special deals are over.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vietnambound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We have long been fans of the owners of this hotel having previously enjoyed heaven on earth at Spicers Scenic Rim, so we were keen to enjoy a night in the city at this brand new boutique hotel.

The location is a little unusual (for Brisbane) but New Farm is a very fashionable inner suburb and Balfour street is right near the busy restaurant strip along Brunswick street and also easy walking distance to the CBD via the fabulous Riverwalk.

The hotel was once a grand Queenslander - architecture unique to Queensland and to my knowledge this is the first to be made into a Hotel. The conversion has been meticulous with great attention to detail and the overall result is quite stunning. From the street it looks more like a beautiful inner city mansion than a hotel but once inside it feels like a luxury lodge with every possible need attended to. The decor is very moody with lost of timber and warm tones and the architects have done a greta job making the use of every space.

Our room was a standard, without a courtyard, yet for an overnight stay it was more than adequate. Despite being small there is some very clever joinery that provides a work space as well as iron/ironing board and storage. The bed is heavenly - large and sumptuous with huge fluffy pillows and top quality linen.

Service is extremely attentive with the GM checking on us throughout our stay.Checkin and out was easy and there is onsite parking at the rear.

On the things we loved the most was the rooftop bar. Small but intimate it provided a great spot to catch up with friends over ( complimentary) canapes and it has surprisingly good views of the city and Story Bridge. We also love that there is a station just meters away for the new council bike hire scheme which we would highly recommend.

Could not a fault thing, even in the opening week and will not hesitate to recommened to or interestate/os friends in the future. A welcome addition to the Brisbane scene.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 40ishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.8 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.8 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#22 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#26 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Balfour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Balfour Hotel

Property: Spicers Balfour Hotel
Address: 37 Balfour St, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Balfour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, Spicers Balfour Hotel resembles many of the large and beautiful classic Queenslander homes found in its neighbourhood, the fashionable inner-city Brisbane suburb of New Farm. The hotel offers nine rooms each with individual elegance and charm providing an indulgent haven with all the comforts and attention to detail expected from a leading five star hotel. Small boardroom for meetings of up to 18 delegates, onsite restaurant serving sumptuous breakfast's and high tea's daily, lunch (Monday-Friday),and dinner (Monday-Saturday), library, large and open QLD Verandah, complimentary parking facilities and rooftop bar with views of the stunning city skyline and Story Bridge. Whether it's a corporate trip to Brisbane, a romantic city escape from the kids, or just a cosy, convenient place to come back to after a show, Spicers Balfour Hotel is the ultimate city escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Spicers Balfour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing