We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a short stay”
Review of Riverview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverview Motel
Ranked #6 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a short stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

First impressions were that it looked a little run down but they kindly let me check in early (I'd just arrived from London), which improved my impressions instantly. The room was fine, tea and coffee provided and the two main things I judge a room by the shower and the bed could not be faulted. A short walk to racecouse road which has a great variety of resturants etc. Also close to ferry connections, but I didn't test this out. I left early the next morning via the airport shuttle which reception booked for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bml76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
24
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
407 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is handy between Brisbane city and the international airport, but why else would you stay there? There are many other hotels in the area, costing the same or more, and this one is clean and comfortable. They coped very well with our very late check-in and late check-out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Waverley, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this motel on 2 separate occasions in November . .It is what it claims to be -a 3 star motel, reasonably priced . Rooms good, clean with refrigerator ,. It is close to Racecourse Road where there are myriads of places to eat -plus supermarkets, Also close to the Hamilton Hotel and Bretts Wharf where one can catch the River Cat to the city. Reasonable proximity to the airport. Downside for some -the motel doesn't do breakfasts ! Anyone looking for basic 3 star accommodation in Hamilton could do a lot worse than use the Riverview Motel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jangeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room was very basic and looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 70s. Not at all soundproof, could even hear the person next door clearing their throat! Didnt feel safe all night, curtains didnt even close properly. Went to check out in the morning, rang the buzzer twice and no one came. When someone did show up 20 mins later, we were treated extremely rudely. I think the lady needs an update on how to treat paying customers. Would not stay here again, purely because of her attitude. There is a reason this hotel is cheaper than others in the area. And Riverview? That's a joke. It's at the end of the oaf the hotel is on, that's it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The motel is very basic and simple but in a perfect location if you are transiting to or from the Brisbane airport. I am a heavy sleeper and I found the location noisy in the night from the traffic along Kingsford Smith Drive, so I would not recommend it for light sleepers. Our room was a bit dated but everything was clean and fresh and what you would expect for a motel in this price range. Easy access to restaurants and Fortitude Valley.

Room Tip: There are two stories and you need to take the stairs to the top level. If you have a lot of luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This motel is one off the cheaper motels near the water. It is situated in a great location. Easy walk to pub, eateries and ferry. The ferry can drop you off near Brisbane CBD. Although this motel is basic, it is clean and our bed was comfortable. We have stayed here twice now - once when going to the Eagle Farm races and once when going to the Powerhouse to watch live comedians. A taxi from this motel to the Brisbane international airport is approx $26.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We (my wife and I)stayed just for one night as it was close to the airport and a lot cheaper (A$115) than most of the other hotel / motels in the area. Pretty small although functional. Lacked a microwave or something to just be able to do some toast or something similar although we were able to borrow one from the office.
The street is a bit noisy but it is a busy area being on main road to airport etc. Walked to city altho public transport plentiful - took us an hour or so either way.
Reception staff were very helpful.
Restaurants, pub, convenience store close by although the pub recommended for dinner (Hamilton Hotel) was very average at best for the meal we had, perhaps not even that good. Maybe we should have opted for the Italian place instead.
Overall okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.9 mi away
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#38 of 157 in Brisbane
2,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingsford Brisbane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#107 of 157 in Brisbane
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsford Smith Motel
Kingsford Smith Motel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Airport 85 Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Motel

Property: Riverview Motel
Address: 20 Riverview Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is without a doubt what makes us stand out. Being away from busy Kingsford Smith Drive in quiet Riverview Terrace Hamilton. We are family owned and run and proudly offer comfortable and homey rooms ensuring your stay is a pleasurable one. Living onsite gives us direct relationships with all of our guests which means we can provide a personalised service and offer real value to our guests. Just a 2-minute walk from the Brisbane River and easy access to the city and places of interest by fast River Cat or express Translink Bus. We are a handy 10-minutes to the Airport by Conxion Shuttle Bus or Taxi. The RNA Showgrounds, Royal Brisbane Children’s Hospital and Brisbane Powerhouse are also within 10-minutes’ drive. Walking distance from the Brisbane Cruise Ship Terminal, Portside Wharf Restaurants and Dendy Cinema and Famous Eat Street Markets. We are adjacent to Racecourse Road a well-known dining destination with its many restaurants. All rooms feature 24-hour check-in with prior arrangement, Free Wi-Fi and parking, ensuite bathrooms, heating and air-conditioning, flat-screen TV, food preparation areas with microwave, refrigerator, toaster, crockery & cutlery, kettle and tea making facilities. Cooked and continental breakfasts can be provided along with evening meals upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing