We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want Quite? You get it here!”
Review of The Collingwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collingwood
Ranked #23 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Want Quite? You get it here!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here recently and found the property to be very luxurious, comfortable and most of all quite! The quite was so welome. Service was very friendly and welcoming and professional, however for the money, I'd like to see a cooked breakfast, given the inclusion of "gourmet breakfast" in the tariff. Will certainly visit again. Thank you or a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm usually in Brisbane once a fortnight. My usual hotel in Toowong was unavailable, so tried this on basis of TA reviews. They're right! Easy street parking, almost new and 'built for purpose' with high grade fittings in the smallish room. What jumped out at me were the sheets used. Superb quality. The welcome was genuinely warm, and the breakfast good.
Quibbles? The WiFi was down when I arrived. It came on, but is fairly slow. My room (black and white decor one) has no desk. I'm told the other 3 are so equipped. So I've booked again and look forward to my visit. Booking again is my best measure of satisfaction!

Room Tip: The black & white bedroom has no desk. All others do ( I'm told).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowombat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents who visited here and could not speak more highly of it. They had never stayed in a B & B before and for their first experience they felt very spoilt and feel it will be very hard to live up to the high standards set by the Collingwood. From their first point of contact they were treated courteously and efficiently on the phone. On arrival the room was lovely and there was even a place for Dad's 4WD, a space that is hard to find in inner city Brisbane. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and delicious and when they left they felt very special! I won't spoil that surprise for you. Even when they were the only couple staying they were still made to feel special. I really now want to stay there too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_W_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Returning from Rockhampton back to Perth, we took the opportunity to stay overnight in Brisbane in August 2012 and booked The Collingwood after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.

Our day started with receiveing a sms text message confirming our reservation and our approx arrival time. What a lovely touch (all contact details were provided which ensured we had them at our fingertips for our stay) and something we have now implemented in our own business.

We were warmly greeted and assisted with our luggage to our room. The room (Collingwood colours of course -go the pies!!) was spotless and trendy. Bathroom was well appointed, chic and also spotlessly clean.The linen was lovely and the coffee pod machine was a welcome touch.

Breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, cereals juice etc-fresh and plentiful. Coffee was made as ordered.

Tim helped us organise our day of exploring Brisbane which included spending several hours browsing the antique shops in Paddington.He provided bus timetables, routes, local information - everything we needed to make sure we saw as much as possible in one day.

Taxi transport to the airport was organised on our behalf and arrived as requested.

Well done Tim and Rachel - you are true professionals. There is nothing we could fault - and we would love to return another day.

Room Tip: We had a black and white room which included a lovely balcony overlooking the front of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandhouse6302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wow! What a delight. The Collingwood is situated around the corner from Latrobe Terrace which is bursting with lovely little shops and cafes. Tim and Rachel are the most accommodating hosts you could come across. They have a great knowledge of the local area and can advise some fantastic restaurants all within walking distance. The suites are so peaceful and beautifully decorated. Walking through the front door is like walking into an oasis of peace and tranqulity - a beautiful lounge with great music in the background is a lovely place to sit and chat or just chill. I couldn't imagine a nicer place to be!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bag-for-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

There is nothing I can fault in this delightful B and B. The rooms are imaculate. I slept beautifully. Lovely restaurants within a short walking distance. The hosts are charming. Why on earth would anyone wnat to stay anyhwere else?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What an absolutely delightful boutique hotel experience. Instinctively I knew that this was going to be a special stay. Rachel and Tim are attentive hosts, but also allow you the freedom to have your own space. The property is based in Paddington which reminds me of Paddington in Sydney - it's close to the city, has great restaurants and fabulous homeware shops. The rooms are stylish with a bathroom that has better lighting than any hotel chain I've stayed at. There is parking available if required, but we found plenty on street level withouty any parking restrictions.
Tim is great at sharing tips for dining in the area and knows all the local attractions. And that special touch was leaving me breakfast in my room when they heard I had an ungodly 5am flight home. We will return...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Caxton which had a lovely little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheofthebroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.8 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gambaro Hotel
Gambaro Hotel
#15 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#9 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grove Manor
Grove Manor
#7 of 61 in Brisbane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood

Property: The Collingwood
Address: 32 Collingwood St | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingwood encompasses the elegance of a residential Bed and Breakfast with the facilities of a boutique hotel. Located only around 2km from Brisbane’s CBD in the heart of Paddington, one of Brisbane’s historic suburbs, adorned with renovated Queenslander style homes set on steep hills. This urban retreat offers a myriad of experiences for the most discerning of travellers. Guests are able to enjoy the classic architecture, contemporary design and well appointed comforts, whilst being only a short stroll from specialty stores, award winning restaurants and cafes, art galleries and the antique markets. The Collingwood… an elegant and friendly boutique accommodation experience within an artistic village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing