We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service, great views but too expensive for quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aria Brisbane

Aria Brisbane
Reserve with
Aria Brisbane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 4,262 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ARIA Brisbane, located on the Eagle Street Pier, provides the quintessential Brisbane dining experience, with striking views from the restaurant of the Brisbane River. Owned by chef Matt Moran and restaurateur, Peter Sullivan, ARIA boasts a well-balanced seasonal menu, featuring local and Australian produce and an award winning wine list, served in an elegant dining room with stunning views. "If it's fine dining you seek, in a split-level expanse of understated elegance that affords sweeping city views, this sibling to Matt Moran's southern star ticks the boxes. Add a stellar cellar selection, with a thoughtful nod to Queensland wineries, plus accomplished service and you've hit the right notes, particularly for corporates and lovers of occasion. There's obvious skill, attention to detail and quality produce on show from opening chords to final flourish. Succulent pork belly has perfect golden crackling, while plump duck dumplings, abalone and mushrooms swim in a Peking duck consomme. Kingfish baked in cedar bark has its wrapping set alight en route to the table, adding a welcome smokiness. Creamy custard tart alongside figs, apple slices and candied walnuts has real retro charm. A sweet farewell gift box of miniature macarons rounds out a night to remember." Gourmet Traveller Australia
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
676 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, great views but too expensive for quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Exceptional service and an attractive restaurant which is fabulously located with views of the Brisbane River in the CBD.

I have a Matt Moran cookbook and love some of the recipes (others not so much) so was delighted to have the opportunity to go to Aria with about a dozen others.

The menu was well balanced and offered a range of choices without being overwhelming.

The food was tasty but over rated. You can do better for considerably less money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    218
    120
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good and expensive ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Front of house and bar service was outstanding. Lovely, balanced menu and super fresh ingredients. Food was very good, if extremely expensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank peppersnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Overrated, Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I've been to Aria several times with different groups over the last few years, and I have to say, it's getting a bit passe. The dining scene in Brisbane is more mature than when Aria opened, but they just haven't moved with the times. Prices are over the top for the quality of food - a drink in the bar before dinner, 3 courses with limited wine for my partner and I cost us around $330. I would rather have taken that money and spent it at any number of fine dining establishments in Brisbane to be honest. Don't waste your time or your money, go to Restaurant II, Urbane, Alchemy or Il Centro...the list of better alternatives goes on. Oh and the plug for Matt Moran's cookbooks on the menu is downright tacky.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never Disappointing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I dined here two years ago for my sisters birthday and we both still rave about the evening - service, food, atmosphere, we both agree it was our best meal together.

My husband however was new to Aria when we dined here recently and was determined not to like it - he assumed it would be over-rated but was a convert within 5 minutes of arriving !!

The food here is really wonderful. Perfect portions, outstanding ingredients, beautifully prepared. We felt completely spoilt and loved every mouthful. The wine list is great too - we got to enjoy a favourite wine that is rarely found on Australian menus.

Best of all is the service.

I have gluten and dairy intolerances but hate making a fuss so tend to "wing it" by choosing menu items least likely to cause me a problem. At Aria all I did was decline a bread roll and was discreetly and kindly asked if it was a gluten related reason. My husband explained, and voila, a gluten free roll was freshly baked. The staff were extremely knowledgeable about ingredients and worked with the chef to create me a stunning meal - all without making me feel like a bother or inconvenience (let's face it, some restaurants huff and sigh if you ask for the sauce on the side).

Oh, it features a lovely river view too :)

We really can't wait for another excuse to visit Brisbane so we can dine at Aria.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the best foodie experiences in OZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Just love the service and menu. Love the degustation menus as it saves me the hassle of matching food wine etc. this is a must visit for a special occasion.

Helpful?
1 Thank curlieRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aria Brisbane also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Aria Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing