We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aria Brisbane

Aria Brisbane
Reserve with
Aria Brisbane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 4,297 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ARIA Brisbane, located on the Eagle Street Pier, provides the quintessential Brisbane dining experience, with striking views from the restaurant of the Brisbane River. Owned by chef Matt Moran and restaurateur, Peter Sullivan, ARIA boasts a well-balanced seasonal menu, featuring local and Australian produce and an award winning wine list, served in an elegant dining room with stunning views. "If it's fine dining you seek, in a split-level expanse of understated elegance that affords sweeping city views, this sibling to Matt Moran's southern star ticks the boxes. Add a stellar cellar selection, with a thoughtful nod to Queensland wineries, plus accomplished service and you've hit the right notes, particularly for corporates and lovers of occasion. There's obvious skill, attention to detail and quality produce on show from opening chords to final flourish. Succulent pork belly has perfect golden crackling, while plump duck dumplings, abalone and mushrooms swim in a Peking duck consomme. Kingfish baked in cedar bark has its wrapping set alight en route to the table, adding a welcome smokiness. Creamy custard tart alongside figs, apple slices and candied walnuts has real retro charm. A sweet farewell gift box of miniature macarons rounds out a night to remember." Gourmet Traveller Australia
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A memorable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The whole experience at the Aria was fantastic from start to finish. The staff were very polite and attentive and the food was delicious. Yes, it may be pricier than some restaurants but they go the extra mile and its defininately worth paying a little extra. The beautiful view of the Brisbane River topped off the evening.
We will be returning.... thats for sure!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    220
    120
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Aria: poor beginning and end”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yes, the location is great; yes, the service is good; yes, the sommelier knows his wines but there are niggling problems that detract from the overall pleasure. We had booked a window table for 6 people five weeks in advance in order to enjoy the views over the Brisbane River at sunset but, when arriving at 7 pm, were shown to a table at the back of the restaurant. I had to complain forcefully to the manager to end up being seated in the middle of the restaurant where we at least had a limited view. We knew that Brisbane is now an expensive place for good restaurants and the food we had was good but I consider Aria to be over-priced. One could go to a Michelin 3 star restaurant in France for the same price. The final disappointment came with the coffee. We had ordered expressos which were served with expensive 'petits fours'! Somehow I don't think we will go back again any time soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The whole experience - Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came here for our daughters 18th birthday and it exceeded our expectations. The food was to die for. Even though it is pricey to eat here we considered it a treat and would certainly return. The desserts were amazing. They even decorated my daughter's dessert with birthday wishes. Can't wait to return. Love this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real 5 Star Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My first time at Aria and it was a last minute decision to dine here.
Arrived on time for reservation at 7:00pm and the restaurant was reasonably quiet.
There is a great night time view of the Brisbane River and Storey Bridge from most seats in the restaurant.
There is a good menu selection across the 3 courses of entree, main and dessert.
A nice touch was the appetizer, to start, that was unexpected.
The portions are designed so you will be able to manage a full 3 course and this was a bonus as it's usually only 2 courses I can manage.
There was a good selection of wine both by the glass and bottle.
What was especially pleasing was to see the Granite Belt wines being promoted so i enjoyed a bottle of Symphony Hill Pinot Gris with dinner.
Thoroughly enjoyed my meal and the service was great....very attentive wait staff!
Aria is definitely not a "budget" restaurant but you can expect to get what you pay for!
Great food, good wine, great service plus a 5 star view!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant restaurant but not brilliant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Aria is an 'ok' restaurant. The service is excellent and cannot be faulted. The food isn't spectacular and is quite uninspiring. IN saying that, it was enjoyable and fresh. The wine list is also very good with a wide range and even som eat resonable prices. I would say Aria is a bit of a mass-produced food kitchen with a focus on pumping out meals rather than delivering exciting meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aria Brisbane also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Aria Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing