We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely stay again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on the Quay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra on the Quay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed at Skyline Apartments in a one-bedroom apartment on the 25th floor while visiting Brisbane for a friend's 40th birthday.
Was able to check-in early with no problems. The reception staff were extremely helpful and nice.
The apartment was perfect, and was well set up - definitely the place to consider for a long stay.
Location was perfect - just a short walk into the CBD, as well as to Fortitude Valley.

There was only one minor problem: the early morning light.
The windows in the bedroom (and the living room) faced to the east, and as Queensland doesn't participate in Daylight-Saving time, sunrise was very, very early, and there was a *lot* of light that came around the curtains (particularly as the windows are wall-to-wall), so it really wasn't conducive to a lazy sleep-in....

Other than that, it was a perfect stay, and I will definitely be returning to Skyline when I'm next in Brisbane.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    209
    69
    28
    20
See reviews for
225
91
13
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Totally impressed with Skyline and should we require accommodation in Brisbane again (we live in the cbd) we would absolutely stay there again!
We had to leave our apartment due to the floods in Brisbane so we decided to spend 3 nights at Skyline. We rang a variety of hotels around Brisbane and explained our situation - all other hotels didn't care and some even tried to charge us more than the rates on their website (ie: Charlotte Towers) however Skyline provided us with a better room rate and extra inclusions than their website offered. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was AMAZING! Extremely comfortable beds, spacious lounge room, quality furniture, nice sized balcony, a bath and floor to ceiling windows. The only downfall was it was right on the tennis court so people playing tennis looked directly into your lounge room.

The staff were absolutely fantastic. They were friendly, down to earth and extremely helpful. We couldn't get free to air TV and a staff member was sent up immediately to fix the problem which they did.

As we booked late, we had to swap to a 1 bedroom for the 3rd night - which we knew before booking, and the 1 bedroom was fantastic. Amazing river and city views and once again, a spacious living room with quality furnishings. The pool and the tennis court were top notch. The only thing I disliked about the facilities was the freezing cold spa! A spa should always be heated.

Seriously, I will be advising all my business and personal contacts visiting Brisbane to stay with Mint Skyline Brisbane!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelt5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed here with my b/f for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, it was really good, was nice and modern, it did look like the pics they advertise, clean, the guy on reception when we checked in and out was really friendly and helpful, it was in a good spot, kitchen had all the stuff we needed for our Christmas roast lunch, it was almost on the river and also very near to a Woolworths supermarket which was great, floor to ceiling windows which was nice, decent size balcony, all in all, it was great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myexp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

Unit was lovely, my complaint concerns the end of my trip. My 10 year old son left his ipod in the unit on the bed. I rang the hotel, they advised me no one had entered the room since we had left but werent prepared to look for it. Wanted to wait for the cleaners to look. Needless to say, after ringing the hotel continuously for 2 days and not getting any help at all, my husband rang and was told it couldnt be found!!! I realise it is my mistake for leaving there but rang straight away. Why is it acceptable that hotel or cleaning staff take what they find in a unit??? They are condoning stealing and apparently this is usual practice. Well my son is gutted as he bought with his own money and im disgusted. Nothing I can do except express my disgust to all and sundry so here I go.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We spent 3 nights in these aparments recently. We booked a 1 bedroomed river view unit which was compact & clean with a small balcony. The river view however was only a river glimpse as there were 2 buildings in front of this aparment block. These apartments are within easy walking distance of CBD & riverside restaurants. Please be aware there is another apartment block being built right beside this one & the construction noise starts very early. I certainly wouldn't have booked had I realised this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabellamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed here for two nights recently. We had to cancel our third night before arrival but could not receive a refund as we booked through Agoda. The hotel was good enough to upgrade us to a 1 bedroom apartment to offset our lost deposit. The hotel is good, the location is about a 10 minute walk from the mall which was ok. The apartment had everything you would need for a longer stay, and the furniture is modern. Our biggest problem was the bed and the shower. This was the worst bed we had ever experienced in any hotel, ever. It sunk in the middle so much we actually slept on the floor the second night. It was missing a number of slats that were broken and stacked into a neat pile under the bed. It looked like the cheapest bed available in A-Mart or Ikea. the shower sprayed water everywhere except on the person trying to shower, and the floor was covered in water every time. We would not stay there again simply because of the horrendous bed.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaiescape11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Our stay was in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 9th floor. Reception staff were very efficient and friendly. First impressions of the apartment were good, we were drawn straight away to the windows and the great views of the Brisbane River and the Storey Bridge. The apartment was a good size as were the bedrooms and bathrooms, with good views from lounge and bedroom . My main (minor) complaint was that there were only sheer curtains on lounge windows which meant that at nightime people from neighbouring high rise blocks on either side could see straight in! my other minor (but related) complaint was that from my bathroom I could see people in other units through the reflection in the mirror. I thought if I could see them, they could probably see me!! Of course this is resolved by closing the bathroom door every time you walk in. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Decor was modern and appropriate as was the furnishings - leather lounge wasn't as comfortable as it looked. However, the photos on the web site are pretty indicative.

The first day we went shopping, in the past we have stayed close to the Queen St Mall and dropped shopping off throughout the day. The Skyline is too far away to do that. It's a good 10 minute walk which doesn't sound much, but it is when you've got a lot of shopping! There is however, a very pleasant walkway around the river if you want to take that route into town.

There is a small grocery store outside of the apartments which is very useful for picking up snacks etc. The kitchen was very well equipped, but we did struggle a little when we couldn't find any instruction books for the appliances.

Our last night was a bit noisy, we couldn't tell exactly where the noise was coming from, but thought it was direclty above. Fortunately the noise stopped before midnight. There was a lot of noise from construction sites from 7.30 each morning, it didn't worry us, but might affect some people.

I would not hesitate to stay there again and would recommend the Skyline highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FussyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.1 mi away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
#28 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#76 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Quay

Property: Mantra on the Quay
Address: 30 Macrossan St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Mint Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Quay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Brisbane accommodation that lets you relax in style look no further than Mantra on the Quay. With brilliant views across the river and city skyline, Mantra on the Quay offers a choice of great Brisbane apartments. These Studio, One, Two and Three Bedroom apartments are fully self-contained and feature ultra-modern appliances, contemporary and stylish decor, and large balconies with outdoor settings. Room features include a LCD TV with cable, DVD, internet access, full laundry facilities, individually controlled heating and cooling, as well as balconies in all Apartments excluding Studios. Highchairs, cots and rollaways can be provided for a small charge. Staying in the heart of Brisbane at Mantra on the Quay means being amongst it all.The dining precinct of Eagle Street Pier, great shopping at the Queen Street Mall and the best entertainment, function and sporting venues close by. Whether you require internet access, plan to engage in a game of tennis, laze in the spa, or enjoy a barbeque with friends, Mantra on the Quay offers all the facilities you need for a memorable stay. When staying in the heart of Brisbane city there is always something to do. Visit the Botanical Gardens and Roma Street Parklands for some outdoor time, or if you're after an indoor activity, the Treasury Casino situated within two grand heritage buildings is within close reach. If shopping is more your, style wander down to the Queen Street Mall for a huge selection of specialty retail stores, fashion boutiques and entertainment galore. Fortitude Valley offers a range of designer fashion meets chic and all the latest trends are on show. At the Riverside Centre and Eagle Street Pier you will find an exciting mix of restaurants, bars and cafes perfect for a feed after a long day exploring. Just 13km from the airport and a short walk from ferries, trains and buses. Maintenance notice As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra on the Quay will be undertaking refurbishment work of the lobby, pool and pool area. Work on the lobby will commence on 26 September until 7 October 2016. Work on the pool and pool area will commence on 4 October until 1 November 2016, during this time the pool and pool area will be closed. Some trade noise will be associated with the work but will be limited to business hours. The Mantra on the Quay management team wish to apologise in advance for any inconvenience this may cause. Important Information Please note that Mantra on the Quay is located within Skyline Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra on the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing