We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Waterloo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterloo Bay Hotel
Ranked #50 of 63 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Don't worry about the negative reviews about this place. It's nice, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the walk down to the bay is lovely. The hotel looks a good place for a nice cold beer and the restaurant has chicken parmigiana is just $17 - bargain.
I suppose you just can't please some people

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Waterloo Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

The room was smelly and the air conditioner noisy. There was no hot water. The continental breakfast was very minimal. The carper dirty (wiped up spilled water and the towel came away black.
The bed was comfortable.
It was good to have the outside area

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have no hesitation in recommending this motel, and will go back next time I have to stay in the area. It has been fairly recently renovated, and I believe has new management, so the older reviews are probably no longer relevant.
The standard single queen room was spacious, clean and quiet, and everything worked well - the TV was well tuned, the bed was very comfortable, the aircon worked well and could be turned off (it was a little noisy). The attached restaurant was good - my table was on the veranda overlooking the garden.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over Christmas so it was a lot quieter then usual (which was perfect for us!). I think its a great motel and would definitely stay again. The ensuite rooms are a decent size and have been redecorated so are clean and modern. There is lots of storage space to keep your gear. The pillows, doona and linen are some of the best we have ever experienced in Australian accommodation - especially that of a motel! Yes net is a bit frustrating as you can only connect with the cord. Personally I wouldnt pick a shared bathroom style room as these are above the pub so I think it would be quite noisey. Undercover parking was also nice. The staff in the reception and the gaming areas were very lovely. Location is a nice 2 minute walk to the Manly/Wynum Esplanade and also the train station is a 10min walk. I was really worried that it was part of pub and it would be horrid but we didnt hear any noise from there at all. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place is great! Only $120 a night for a modern, clean, large room. Free internet (granted you do need a cable; they provide one but it's a bit short).

Premises are clean, it's attached to a bit of a leagues club that has a fantastic beer garden. Pub isn't too bad and there's a bottle shop on site!

Restaurant is awesome, great food, get in before 6pm and you get 20% off!

Dead close to Moreton Bay with a decent walking track.

All in all fantastic value if you're looking for a cheaper place than in the CBD. I was travelling as a single however I would have no hesitation whatsoever bringing my kids here.

Manager was a bit surly, but apparently the 'accommodation girl' was on holidays when I was there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captain-awesomeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloobay, Marketing Assistant at Waterloo Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We have completed several upgrades to the Hotel including bed linen/pillows, the Fig Restaurant and the Beer Garden, so we are glad you liked all the changes. You will also be happy to know we are in the process of installing WIFI across the premises. We hope to see you next time along with the kids, who can enjoy the xbox games room and ourdoor play area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at a motel unit at this hotel whilst attending a nearby function. The rooms are quite average and need some attention. On entering the room you need to pull the wardrobe door towards you to insert the key holder into the power unit to activate power for the rooms – very poorly designed particularly when entering at night.
The bed is a small double bed which was quite comfortable with low level pillows. We were told there were two additional pillows in the cupboard but only found one – reception is not manned after hours.
There is a flat screen TV with a reasonable size frig. Coffee/tea is provided together with two pieces of bred for toasting, and some cereal.
The room has double doors which open up onto a small balcony designed to sit out side or for smokers.
Bathroom is very small with the hand basin only being half size (no plug in basin). There is no wifi in the unit we stayed in nor was there a telephone in the room. Bedside tables were provided but without any bedside lamps so if one partner needed to get up in the dark they had to navigate in the dark or put the overhead lights on. The cover from the smoke detector was missing.
The property is located about 45 minute drive from Brisbane airport and it is a short walk to the waters edge. There are not many restaurants/shops near the property but quite a large shopping centre within 15 min driving distance.
The units are adjacent to a large suburban motel but we were not disturbed by the patrons leaving late at night- very quiet and peaceful.
A short drive down to the foreshore and turn right there is a lovely seafood cafe that does a great selection of breakfasts at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloobay, Marketing Assistant at Waterloo Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We hope you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and plan to return soon in the future. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with the quality of the room you stayed in. You will be happy to know we have recently upgraded all of our rooms with new linen and pillows, giving a fresh and classic look. We are also in the process of installing WIFI across the entire complex. And don't forget next time to try the Fig Restaurant and Bar, located on the Hotels premises, which has a brand new menu. We look forward to you returning to stay again at our Hotel. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for just the one night and it was ok. The room had everything we needed, fridge, TV, Aircon, Double bed and Shower/toilet. It is neat and tidy but a little run down. It's close to everything in Wynnum including just a stroll to the the Bay. Check in though was a little bit of a joke. As I walked in to the reception there was a man on the phone just around the corner. He came out after I made a bit of noise asked for my my name while still on his call, handed the key and then continued on with his conversation? No signing of credit card details or info on where the room was. The following morning at around 7am there were workers making quite a racket outside our room with leaf blowers, hedge trimmers ECT. Very annoying for that time of the morning. Overall I'd have to say if you can find another place to stay then do.

Positives were that the rooms were kept tidy and prices were very good.

Room Tip: Do not get a room with the share bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
1.3 mi away
The Manly Hotel
The Manly Hotel
#22 of 63 in Brisbane
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wynnum Anchor Motel
Wynnum Anchor Motel
#90 of 168 in Brisbane
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manly Marina Cove Motel
Manly Marina Cove Motel
#70 of 168 in Brisbane
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shangri La Gardens
Shangri La Gardens
#98 of 168 in Brisbane
47 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Queensport Hotel
#48 of 63 in Brisbane
10 reviews
13.1 mi away
Seminara Apartments
Seminara Apartments
#2 of 2 in Coochiemudlo Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Bay Hotel

Address: 75 Berrima St | Wynnum, Brisbane, Queensland 4178, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: $85 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers looking for modern accommodation surrounding Brisbane will love the Waterloo Bay Hotel in Wynnum. Conveniently located 500m off the shores of Moreton Bay, guests can spend their time enjoying the beautiful Wynnum esplanade, strolling and cycling the pathways. Visiting the many shops nearby or spend day trips touring the Brisbane CBD or nearby Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast beaches. All within very easy reach of the Hotel. Built in the late 19th century it has both an historic charm, and all the amenities and services you would expect from a contemporary Hotel. Our Hotel rooms are beautifully upgraded with a fresh and classic look at very competitive rates. The Fig Restaurant, based in the Hotel, boasts a modern Australian menu where you can enjoy a pleasant meal surrounded by a lush canopy of trees. The Fig Beer Garden or Sports Bar is another option where you can enjoy a drink, watch a game, or try your luck in the TAB or Gaming Lounge. A bottleshop is also located conveniently on the premises, with weekly specials. You never even have to leave the complex to be entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterloo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing