We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Novena Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novena Palms Motel
Ranked #26 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Chose this motel from reading other reviews on Trip Advisor and online photos. Drove from home and had an overnight stay before flying out the next day. Very close to the airport so no issues there. The room was clean and spacious however the bed was terrible like sleeping on a brick. I was lucky I had my own pillow. The mattress topper was very thin and provided no comfortable factor at all. Wish I had the bed that Leesa M had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Room was spotless, bed was super comfortable and all together provided a very peaceful sleep. Loved the cute little motel restaurant and definitely recommend the curry. Shuttle bus service makes getting to and from the airport one less thing to worry about whilst travelling. Extremely friendly and helpful staff ( thanks Julia ), with your help and kindness you are worth your weight in gold. Highly recommend for a convenient, comfortable and carefree stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed there as a stop-over after having read some good reviews. as a matter of fact, besides being somewhat close to the airport (the cab driver will take some 20 bucks) thats about it. dont get me wrong, room was spacious and clean... no complaints... but everything above 3 stars is not justified (in my opinion), and i dont expect much, its a stop-over... nothing mor nothing less...
but after 7 you wont find anything to eat as the place is very remote, internet is extra (a lot!!) so you're stuck with tv... which will kill some time but not worth the money

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Upon arrival we were impressed. The lady on reception was friendly and sorted us out quickly. The rooms were spacious and clean and modern with a nice outdoor area. Reception gave us extra bottles of milk when we asked. They even have a little cafe which we didnt go to as meals sounded a little expensive. Instead we ordered pizza from a menu the hotel provided fron a nearby restaurant. Big mistake it was foul. Check out was quick and easy and theres a free airport shuttle bus that only goes in the mornings. All in all a great place to stay when catching an early plane

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agran143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found this to be an above average airport Motel. The room was modern,comfortable and clean with a nice little patio area at the back. The reception and service was excellent. We had driven up from NSW and arrived an hour early for dinner, not realising that Queensland does not observe Daylight Saving. Christine was very flexible and we were still able to eat without much delay. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AggiBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Well worth a stay, reception was fantastic and the room was perfect, lots of new stuff and quite frankly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, better than my own and that's a good one...

I was impressed by the attention to detail that has gone into this accommodation, new LED lighting, new TV plates, bowls etc all in good order and immaculately presented.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner & I recently traveled to Papua New Guinea and had to overnight en route in Brisbane, both coming & going. In addition, we had about 15 people traveling with us, arriving at various times and on different days. Well ahead of our travel dates, I communicated with both Julia and Chris at the Palms, both of whom were very good about helping arrange all the logistics for us. Their attention to details and warm welcome made our arrival smooth.

While you'll need to get a taxi to take you to the hotel, the Palms offers morning shuttles to the airport. The facility is very close to transport into town, as well as near areas where it is nice to get out and walk. The Palms are about a 7 minute taxi ride from the BNE airport.

Because we were all traveling on a moderate budget, I sought out a nice, but not super-expensive hotel (and used TripAdvisor to help find the place!). Novena Palms fit the bill to a T. The rooms & beds were very clean & comfy and all the amenities we needed were in the room. As we were departing, wireless Internet was being installed for all the rooms.

If you are hungry, make sure Chris has cooked some of her delicious Indian cuisine and eat at the restaurant on the premises! The restaurant offers a nice menu selection.

We enjoyed our stay at the Novena Palms and would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amerikiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
1.3 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#37 of 168 in Brisbane
2,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Clayfield Motel
Airport Clayfield Motel
#69 of 168 in Brisbane
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Airway Motel Brisbane
Airway Motel Brisbane
#97 of 168 in Brisbane
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#8 of 62 in Brisbane
135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Brisbane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novena Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novena Palms Motel

Address: 757 Nudgee Rd | Northgate, Brisbane, Queensland 4013, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: $107 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novena Palms Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Brisbane Airport, Novena Palms Motel offers air conditioned rooms in a quiet location with Wi-Fi, restaurant & free drop-off airport shuttle bus. All rooms offer a private balcony or patio. Each air-conditioned room has a microwave, refrigerator & tea/coffee making facilities. All our rooms are decorated in neutral colours and include a flat-screen TV with a DVD player. Novena Palms is a 10-15 minute walk from Northgate Train Station, 7 minutes' from Brisbane Airport precinct and 6 minutes’ drive from Boondall Entertainment Centre. Brisbane City Centre is only a 20- minute by car/taxi. The restaurant is open for dinner and offers a varied menu including spaghetti, fish and chips, steak and Indian curries. A range of local & import beers and wines are also available. Wi-Fi Fee applies. (Dinner,Breakfast & Shuttle Bus will be unavailable on December 25 & 31). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novena Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing