We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is Not very convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Docks On Goodwin Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Docks On Goodwin Apartments
Ranked #25 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Downtown Columbus
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location is Not very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice -- clean, quiet, roomy. But it's at the other side of the river. That means, one, you always need to take ferry to cross the river in the morning, then ferry again in the evening. The ferry is Aus $4.50/each way. So, it definitely helps when you using the "Go Card" for a greatly-reduced price. The second thing is, this side of the river is very quiet, so, it's not easy to find someone for directions. Then the hotel staffs only work for certain time of the day, therefore we couldn't really find staffs for help each morning or evening. Front desk has safe box to use, but remember to take it out one day ahead if you have to leave early in the morning.

Room Tip: Get a "Go Card" for ferries and buses, you can get discount. Also, front desk has safe bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusUrbanLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    52
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
52
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Best place I've stayed for business in Brisbane. Our pristine quiet apt was located near excellent restaurants that we could walk to and major highways that we needed to use for the bigger picture. The facilities are a perk: fitness centre, sauna, and free car parking. We arrived after hours and found it a smooth operation to get our keys. We'll stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Foof18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We've stayed at the Docks on Goodwin, Kangaroo Point in Brisbane on three occasions. Each time we have met guests who have returned after previous visits.
The facilities are great! A gym with 5 aerobic machines and a Schwinn weights machine, a Jacuzzi, sauna and tennis court. It connects to the city centre by The Storey Bridge which takes 10 minutes to cross. Rooms on the river side have magnificent views and those on the other side look onto the city lights at night. Great service from Cheryl, Roger, Julie and Amy. Very helpful and friendly. The best hotel/pub in Brisbane is on the doorstep as are another four within 2-3 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The Docks on Goodwin - Brisbane Kangoroo point
Convenient , comfortable and modern accommodation in Brisbane

The app attempt complex is very nice. We were in apartment # 67 a two bedroom, two bathroom ground floor flat next to the restaurant which was the only drawback as we did get some of the late dinner noise but nothing too bad and not late. the flats are Ina very quiet road about 500 meter of Thornton street ferry so perfectly well positioned. we arrived late at night and had been given extremely good instructions to get our keys and the direction to find our parking spot were excellent. The service of the property is very good. We were only there for 2 nights and I'd not use the pool and tennis but they looked very inviting and the grounds were immaculate. There is a restaurant in the building and a few caffes and restaurant at walking distance. You are also close 5 mins by car, 15 / 20 mins by foot of Fortitude so plenty of spots for dinner and drinks. The flat we had was very comfortable, spacious had a great big courtyard for the kids to play, hang clothes to dry and also had a generous large table for alfresco dinner if you wanted. The rooms were bid and had really comfy beds. There was also an internal laundry and dishwasher. Cutters and all other basic necessities were plentiful. Really good place, well maintained, the flat was spotless and very inviting. Highly recommend for a long or sort stay in Brisbane.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

There were some very good things about this accommodation, and unfortunately some not so good.

We stayed in a one bedroom with study apartment. It is big enough for someone to sleep in, it comes with a sofa bed, but you have to pay $30 for linen.

My wife is sure that she booked a cot for our bub when she booked the sofa bed (that came in the room), I mentioned this on the way in, no trouble and the lady at reception literally ran straight up and provided us with a cot. What she didn’t say was that it was another $20 that she would just add to the credit card, on top of the $30 for linen for the 3 year old, as you pay as you check in I didn't notice until we received our check out letter (office not open Sundays). So an extra $50 for the two kids. I don’t mind the charge, I do mind not being told about it.

The room itself was nice, with very nice views. Nice TV, full size fridge, very sharp edges on the coffee table (as my 3 years olds head can verify). The layout was a bit awkward and the room only had one air con in the lounge, so by 8 o’clock in the morning the exterior window glass was hot to touch and the bedroom was about 30 degrees, ok for us as we are from a tropical climate, but I would hate to be southerners in that room. The air con, when on, doesn’t circulate into that bedroom. The bed was not uncomfortable but the pillows came in two styles, concrete or paper thin.

Also, the toilet is off the main bedroom. There is only one entry for the bathroom, you have to walk into the bedroom to enter it. Not bad if it’s just you and your partner there, but if you have company, then this can be awkward, especially with the little ones.

The biggest problem we had was parking. Each unit is allocated one numbered park. In the lift there is a sign, do not park in car parks other than your own, you will be towed. Well someone parked in our spot, they weren’t towed and were still there the next morning. Plus, it took half an hour of calling the after hours service to get a new allocated car spot, as we didn’t want to do what some rude person did to us.

Also, the TV went out for periods at a time, see above on the response times from management.

On the whole, this was an okay spot, we wouldn’t stay here again due to our misfortune, but I wouldn’t actively tell people to stay away. We've stayed in better in Kangaroo Point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wemarriedinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were a party of three staying four nights at The Docks on Goodwin. We arrived two hours ahead of the scheduled check in time and within a short amount of time the ladies in reception had organised for our room to be ready for us. Reception staff were very helpful.

We had a two bedroom apartment overlooking the river, so a very pleasant and peaceful outlook. The apartment was very clean and pleasantly appointed. Beds were very comfortable. We cooked in the apartment and found facilities very good although there was only a small frypan (challenging for a stirfry). There was a large pot for pasta. The apartments were very quiet; we heard no traffic noise and no noise from our neighbours. The lifts were very quick. Wifi is free.

On the first morning we discovered our toaster did not work and phoned reception to report this. They provided a replacement immediately!

Kangaroo Point is a beautiful location and the walks along the river and around the area are delightful.

We will definitely be back to stay at these apartments.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Can't recommend The Docks highly enough. We arrived around 7pm and the out-of-hours arrangement for key access worked perfectly. Great location away from the city bustle, but only a few minutes walk to Thornton Street for the City Ferry across to Riverside. Our 8th floor, one bedroom + study apartment (No. 133) couldn't be faulted and it had a wonderful view down onto the river. Breakfast on the balcony was the best start to any day. True, there's no nearby supermarket, although there is a reasonably well-stocked convenience store 200m away, with a hot meal selection. If you want a supermarket and don't have a car, just grab a taxi. Very helpful Reception and excellent pool area. What's more to say?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oaktreeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
#38 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#11 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Story Bridge
Quest on Story Bridge
#13 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridgewater Apartments
Bridgewater Apartments
#23 of 66 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Dockside Apartments
0.1 mi away
Bridgewater Terraces
Bridgewater Terraces
#46 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Docks On Goodwin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Docks On Goodwin Apartments

Property: The Docks On Goodwin Apartments
Address: 15 Goodwin St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Docks On Goodwin Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Docks on Goodwin is conveniently located in the heart of Kangaroo Point in Brisbane. Two towers of accommodation provide secure and comfortable inner city living at this popular resort like complex close to the river walks and ferry terminals. For short and long term stays, the contemporary studios, one and two bedroom self contained apartments offer the discerning traveller spacious, convenient and affordable living. Facilities include a fitness room, 25m heated lap pool, spa & sauna, tennis cour, BBQ entertainment area and wide screen theatre room, all in a location with easy access to the CBD, public transport and a variety of dining options. The Docks’ Kangaroo Point location connects to the CBD and Fortitude Valley via Brisbane’s landmark Story Bridge, which also provides an easy 20 minute transit to Brisbane Airport’s domestic and international terminals.Only 400m from ferry services, guests enjoy superb access to the city and the finest attractions on offer in Brisbane – CBD, Botanic Gardens, Brisbane Convention and Entertainment Centre, Queensland Performing Arts Centre, Gallery of Modern Art, Southbank leisure and dining facilities, and the “Gabba”.All apartments are fully self contained, with air-conditioning, balconies/courtyards, laundry, built-in robes; and equipped with telephone, broadband internet and cable television services. Studios come with a kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Docks On Goodwin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing