We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place, good price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkview Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parkview Apartments
Ranked #34 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
N.S.W.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent place, good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I wanted to be near Southbank but didn't want to pay $200+ a night, so found these self-catered apartments. First of all, a very handy spot: 5 minutes from Southbank, and under 5 mins to the shops and cafes/restaurants of South Brisbane.

The place itself? Looks basic, because it is. Daytime reception (with after-hours phone number), a pool (though I didn't try it), and basic daily housekeeping (fresh towels etc.).
The room I had faced inwards, so didn't have any issues with noise (conversation from the corridors could be heard- but that's fairly normal I find). The room was looking pretty tired: old-ish carpet, chairs and bedcover, and a few maintenance issues. Could do with a bit of work.
The kitchenette was a let down: the basic principles of a kitchenette were there (i.e. you could make breakfast, and keep things cold in the fridge) but REALLY badly designed. The portable electric hot plates (2) could only fit directly under the microwave shelf: surely breaks a few health and safety regulations, and there was no exhaust fan. The tiny drawer for the cutlery was just bizarre. Considering the rest of the room was so large, it's remarkable they didn't make the effort to expand the kitchen area.

But, all-in-all a decent place to stay if you're after simple accommodation in a handy spot. 4 star? Don't know about that, but I'd probably go back there again. Just don't try to cook a meal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Popular_Comet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
14
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

Stayed in a studio apartment which had a bare minimum of kitchen equipment, king size firm bed (which was made up with what seemed like a single bed sized sheet as a top sheet - this was changed when asked the following day). Apartment was clean. If you are going to stay here I would suggest requesting a room facing the pool as our room was facing quite a busy and noisy road, complete with rubbish truck in the early morning, which made having the door (doubling as the window) open. Pool area is very pleasant, with BBQ facilities - utensils provided on request - but unfortunately, not advice on where the light switch for the outside area was! Staff polite and obliging. Light breakfast provisions provided if requested at additional cost. 10 minute walk to Southbank, South Brisbane railway station, 5 to restaurants etc in West End; 15 min walk to West End market.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

I booked to stay in this apartment hotel for a week in March 2010, but moved out after just 4 nights.

There was nothing wrong with the room.

Throughout my stay, I noticed hardly anyone from receptionist to cleaners ever smiled. In fact, the receptionist was quite antagonistic in his dealing with my enquiry about car parking in the basement.

I put on the "Do Not Disturb" sign for 2 consecutive days after I checked in. On the 3rd day, I was stopped by a woman from the reception on my way out. She questioned me in a discourteous manner why I put the sign on, and said she was suspicious when guests did that. She demanded that I let her inspect my room the next day.

The enxt day, I gave notice to the hotel to shorten my stay. I moved out the following day. I voted with my feet.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank engam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrubsole, Owner at Parkview Apartments, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Exremely surprised with this review, but recognised the guest immediately.
A courteous and genuine explanation was given to allow us access to his unit and at no time was an inspection made. The gentleman informed both of us that a business matter had interfered with his plans that cut his stay short, he assured us that all was well with the accommodation and service. The rest of his accommodation was refunded and he was not charged for any unused service. As far as the rest of the staff was concerned he would not have had any contact with them as he did not allow any access to his unit whilst here.
In regards to the carparking it is clearly stated that in all of our correspondence that carparking is for the guest only. We do not provide visitor carparking. He enquired after space for visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arena Apartments
Arena Apartments
#2 of 133 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capitol Apartments
The Capitol Apartments
#20 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#31 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vine Serviced Apartments
Vine Serviced Apartments
#11 of 133 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morgan Suites
Morgan Suites
#7 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Apartments

Property: Parkview Apartments
Address: 41-49 Russell St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Parkview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing