We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Peking Duck”

Yee Foong Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #949 of 4,297 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
brisbane
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Peking Duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited Yee Foong with friends on a Saturday night. Read great reviews about this place so thought we would check it out. Booked as we thought it would be packed. We were the only ones in the restuarant so had great service due to this! The lady and her husband are the owners and asked us if we would like the Duck. She was very helpful and the food was great. Very casual dining and the corkage is only $1.50 per person. The place is nothing to look at and there is no atmosphere as the place was empty but the food was very good and cheap. This restaurant apparently supplies all the local restuarants in Chinatown with duck and other food which is why it was empty and everywhere else was packed as they are mainly a supplier. Would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank accn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Visited with my family from overseas after recommendation to try the duck. Great food and certainly value for money!!!! Had a feast (sweet and sour pork was a fav) and enjoyed a lovely night out in the heart of Chinatown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cheekyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
786 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Small Chinese BBQ Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small Chinese Eatery opposite Chinatown mall on Wickham. Have been to lunch twice here. Both times the restaurant was empty and the place doesn't look as flash as others. This place makes up for points with service though. Best customer service I had to date! The food was still good valuefor money but close competitors sstill offer more. The food was nice but pretty basic. I'll definitely be back on adhoc basis for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honest service and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I first visited this small canteen style restaurant as part of an office lunch. We had a fantastic feed including peking duck, BBQ pork and salt and pepper tofu - yum! We were all blown away by the friendly service and the good value.
I couldn't wait to take my partner there for dinner and we weren't disappointed. Love the dumplings too!
Ignore the crazy negative comments. It's true that this place supplies A LOT of places with duck and pork so they know what they're doing. Up to you to decide if you prefer to pay more for the same thing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona_Hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST in the valley. Authentic, traditional and they supply to the bigger restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Still the best after many many years of going there. Amazing dumplings, Peking duck and roast pork. They supply to the larger restaurants across the road who mark up the price. Yee Foong is highly recommended!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannoh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yee Foong Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Yee Foong Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing