We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-promised, under delivered.”
Review of Franklin Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Franklin Villa
Ranked #11 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Over-promised, under delivered.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This villa has character for sure, but needs some modernising. The website promised a gym, which ended up being some home weights on a rack at the end of a concrete driveway, covered in cobwebs, behind the owners' car. The "private" bathroom ended up having glass windows (not frosted) looking onto the public verandah, only covered with some flimsy curtains. Kind of like having a shower in a fish bowl. The first night I stayed, there was a guy from a band passed out sleeping on a couch on the verandah, you guessed it, right next to the "private" bathroom. More like a backpackers hostel really. OK if you're 23 but not suitable for the prices this accommodation charges. The room interior was comfortable but the decor is a bit tired. In summary, this accomodation has character, but the owners should make the bathroom more private and stop advertising a gym.

Room Tip: Do not choose the blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teajaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
22
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Frankin villa in June 2013 with 4 other friends whist following the British and Irish lions tour of Australia. The accommodation is very unique. The whole house is like a Aladdin cave with lots of unusual artefacts spread throughout the whole house. It's an old colonial style house lovingly restored by the owners over many years of collecting.

The bed rooms are large and very clean and maid service comes I every day to make the bed and you get clean towels every other day. Our friends had en suite bathrooms but ours was a short. Walk down the corridor on the veranda but it was for our use only and not shared with any one else. This seemed strange at first but we soon got used to it and the bathroom was spacious an very clean.

The owners of the villa were very welcoming and friendly and even took us to the local supermarket one day to get our supplies for breakfast. It's cook your own breakfast but that was fun too. The kitchen was massive.

The gardens are interesting with a swimming pool. We didn't use it as its was the Oz winter and a although the days were quite warm the nights were cold. No different to our usual summers.

There is also a laundry room for you use we're washing powders are provided but it costs 3 dollars for one wash. This was very useful to us as we were away for a month so we took advantage of this service to swill out some cloths to keep us going.

I would defiantly recommend Franklin Villa if you want accommodation that is different.

Thank you to Bernie and especially Lainey for making our stay an unforgettable experience

We loved Brisbane and I would love to go back one day. You never know that may happen sooner than I think with luck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mair14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of proximity to friends' house and to avoid the soulless modern hotels on Southbank. The house is lovely but the room was tired and a bit tatty. The decor generally is just a bit too quirky. Air conditioning failed and had to be restored which was bad for a Brisbane summer. Spent the night worrying it would fail again. Good view from the shower though the stairs to reach it are precarious and I felt uneasy climbing out with wet feet. Owners helpful but absent. Felt slightly uneasy in what appeared to be a deserted hotel on a Sunday night. Next time, back to Southbank.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P, Owner at Franklin Villa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Amy,
Thank you for your detailed feedback. Our sincere apologies that you were uncomfortable for your stay. It was a cold snap. We do put extra blankets in the cupboards for cold nights like these however the cleaner had not done this.There is an option in the rooms for reverse cylce heating. It is unfortunate that you didn't call us to help with extra blankets and directions for the pool gate.We take all of your comments on board.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Great location for walk to qpac and dining variety in west end
The rooms have real old style character and a beer on the verandah overlooking the city is most relaxing
I think this place is a real find for someone wanting to do a night at qpac or a day at the GABba which is also very close
I loved it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxzmnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick P, Owner at Franklin Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for reviwing our property.Hoping to see you for your next visit to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place was an amazing find. For the first time during our 3-week holiday in Australia, an accommodation was actually SUPERIOR to the Internet photos! If you like 100-year-old fully restored Victorian structures, wrap-around verandas with views, Hawaiian-style vegetation, gurgling fountains tucked away everywhere, tropical birds chirping in surround-sound, a huge kitchen for your personal use, claw-footed soaking tubs, this would be the place for you. If you want a modern hotel with impersonal service, go elsewhere! Lol

Teri Reisser, California, USA

Room Tip: There are only 4 guest rooms here; we had the Blue Room, and the beds were incredibly comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Franklin Villa is very well located and the communal guest facilities (kitchen, lounge, billiard room, verandahs, outdoor areas, lap pool) are excellent. The decor is amazing, an eclectic mix of furnishings art and memorabilia harking back to the colonial era with touches of the British Empire and Royalty and fascinating history of colonial era Brisbane and the early development and ownership of the villa. The lighting throughout is very subdued. Our room was the master suite and had its own bathroom with spa and views of the city. Although this is an asset, the bathroom is in fact not particularly functional and potentially dangerous with guests having to climb in and out of the spa on very narrow, tiled (slippery) steps to shower. The rest of the bathroom facilities are also rather limited and basic. The bed was very comfortable. We spent a week at Franklin Villa and enjoyed the experience despite the bathroom limitations because of the other strengths of this establishment.

Room Tip: The white room and blue room at Franklin Villa have bathrooms that are separate from the bedroom (ie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for business in the city, was a very well priced, very reasonable establishment.
Well appointed, easy access, good for families, good for the lone traveller.
Great views of the city, 5 min stroll from the cafes and reasonable priced restaurants down the road.
5 min cab ride to the city.
Very happy with my choice, very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118create
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#111 of 157 in Brisbane
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arena Apartments
Arena Apartments
#3 of 127 in Brisbane
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
West End Central Apartments
West End Central Apartments
#27 of 127 in Brisbane
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Villa

Property: Franklin Villa
Address: 35 Brighton Road | Highgate Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Franklin Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin Villa is a renovated Victorian residence 5 minutes walk from the heart of West End and 5 minutes drive to Brisbane City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Franklin Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing